PDA

View Full Version : First attempt to design a box.



Mitch86
07-14-2006, 03:58 AM
Here's what I got. 3.0 cu with MDF factored in. Havent factored port displacement becuase I dont even know if this design will work. Sorry for the ghetto pics, but the idea is there...

http://img86.imageshack.us/img86/6055/boxplans2uk.th.jpg (http://img86.imageshack.us/my.php?image=boxplans2uk.jpg)

http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/7534/boxplans20so.th.jpg (http://img98.imageshack.us/my.php?image=boxplans20so.jpg)

I have a few questions...

1) Will this box even work with the placement of the port and such?
2) If this does indeed work...where is the best place to put to port relevent to the sub?(i.e directly underneath, in the middle, far left..?)
3) is it possible to build this same design, but slot ported instead of a PVC port?

The reason for being so wide is to take up the entire width of the back of my trunk, plus act as an amp rack.

This will be the home for my new 06 12" l7. I put it in my old box which is 2.15 cf tuned to 32hz and I'm not feelin all the hype I see around here. Which is why I plan to go big and tune high.

Mitch86
07-14-2006, 04:21 AM
WTF. imageshack hacked my pictures to ****....lol Oh well the specs are 14"tall 35" wide 18"depth the front peice would be 8"high...

mobilesndfx
07-15-2006, 07:35 PM
With just 1 sub and an 18" depth, I would go bandpass.

Mitch86
07-15-2006, 10:04 PM
the deminsions dont have to be exactly that..but that's what I came up with just off the top of my head...This would be my first build and I dont know that I would be capable of making a bandpass. But if you have some example plans, I'd be willing to give it a try if that'd be the best way to go... Thanks for the reply.