PDA

View Full Version : Is this box BIG enough for my subs?



jklfd
07-11-2006, 12:16 PM
I have 2 12" w3v3's in a sealed box with these dimensions 31.3(W) x 36.0(H) x 76.5(D) cm

The installer told me the box is way too small for these subs, is he right?

would there be a major difference if i went out to get a ported box instead of a sealed on?

Thanks for the help in advance.

AlpineUser
07-11-2006, 02:42 PM
if its in cm its to small...way too small

squeak12
07-11-2006, 02:48 PM
Using 3/4" material that box is 2.16 cu. ft. That doesnt sound small at all, but I dont know JL's specs for boxes.

Edit: Looked it up on JL's site, and your box is about .4 cu. ft. too small. Thats not way to small, but it might not be made of 3/4" material either (~2cm thick).

80INCHES
07-11-2006, 03:52 PM
for 2 w3 12's u need a 4 cube box tuned to 35hz with a 50^in port.....that will be seriously loud and sound good
if u want to be louder...go 4th order bandpass..but thats another story

80

jklfd
07-11-2006, 05:21 PM
Using 3/4" material that box is 2.16 cu. ft. That doesnt sound small at all, but I dont know JL's specs for boxes.

Edit: Looked it up on JL's site, and your box is about .4 cu. ft. too small. Thats not way to small, but it might not be made of 3/4" material either (~2cm thick).

its made with 5/8" MDF. I tried getting a 3/4" MDF but i couldnt find one.