PDA

View Full Version : box progress *PICS!!!*



wesl56
07-09-2006, 01:47 AM
got most of it done today... just gotta do one more of the ports and then seal it all up/cut woofer holes.. its gonna be sturdy as hell, ports are 1 7/8 x 12... 1.8 cubes per sub at 31hz :naughty:


xpanding foam filling my trunk lid:

http://www.mypicturespace.com/uploads/c22b1fae8c.jpg (http://www.mypicturespace.com)

pieces all cut up:

http://www.mypicturespace.com/uploads/74c7863c75.jpg (http://www.mypicturespace.com)

how big its gonna be in the trunk...

http://www.mypicturespace.com/uploads/1500de1c51.jpg (http://www.mypicturespace.com)

cool pic with light shining thru the slot:

http://www.mypicturespace.com/uploads/cc6bb6c6c5.jpg (http://www.mypicturespace.com)

working on the port:

http://www.mypicturespace.com/uploads/5cdca26a76.jpg (http://www.mypicturespace.com)

kpozr2
07-09-2006, 01:49 AM
i bet you have some port noise...whats goin in there?type arrr?

wesl56
07-09-2006, 01:51 AM
i bet you have some port noise...whats goin in there?


u talking about the 2nd pic? cause thats now screwed together yet... i just set all the pieces up after i cut them.. i sanded all the port pieces down round

kpozr2
07-09-2006, 01:53 AM
no im talking about your narrow ports. not even 2" wide. just a thought that most boxes for type R's ive seen have some MASSIVE ports. if thats whats going in there i assume from your avatar

wesl56
07-09-2006, 01:56 AM
no im talking about your narrow ports. not even 2" wide. just a thought that most boxes for type R's ive seen have some MASSIVE ports. if thats whats going in there i assume from your avatar

ah really? well they've got over 25 in^2 of port area i thought that was big enough... not too late to make them wider if i need to? and yea 12" r's

kpozr2
07-09-2006, 01:58 AM
im not sure but the 1.5" ports from my origional design for my 2 06 L7 10" caught some attention from some members on here and advised me of dreaded port noise. im just saying what they told me. maybe someone else has some input???

wesl56
07-09-2006, 12:28 PM
anyone else??

mazdakid
07-09-2006, 12:39 PM
over 25" of port per sub?

PowerNaudio
07-09-2006, 12:40 PM
i just built an enclosure for two 10" type r power by 750wrms each.

absolutely no port noise from 25hz to 120Hz at full blast.

enclosure= 2.5cu ft after displacement.

single port
length = 45.00"
with = 4.00"
hight = 14.00"

wesl56
07-09-2006, 02:14 PM
well just about... the ports are like 1.875 x 12 ... about 22.5 in^2

guess we'll see lol

vetkilr
07-09-2006, 02:36 PM
22.5 =noise

wesl56
07-09-2006, 03:27 PM
ok well wtf... the owner's manual says "optimum ported volume: 1.3 net ft^3 with a 15 in^2 port (1.25x12) and 22.75 inches of port"... around 34 hz

how come alpine reccomends only 15 in^2 of port if its in 1.3 cubes at 34hz... mine is only slightly larger and tuned 3hz lower...?? and thier "reccomended port" is only 1.25" wide


and what's the highest port velocity in winisd you can have before there will be noise? for the box im building winisd says 3.2 ft/s...

vetkilr
07-09-2006, 03:30 PM
thier reccomended stuff sounds great with 1 watt for testin.

wesl56
07-09-2006, 03:40 PM
**** thats kinda what i was going off of... thought thats why it was in the manual...

well the only way i can make a bigger port is if i turn the divider into a brace and just make this a single chamber box... then i would have room for one 6"x12" port... then ill have 72 in^2 will that do the trick?? i will lose a good bit of volume tho

vetkilr
07-09-2006, 03:56 PM
**** thats kinda what i was going off of... thought thats why it was in the manual...

well the only way i can make a bigger port is if i turn the divider into a brace and just make this a single chamber box... then i would have room for one 6"x12" port... then ill have 72 in^2 will that do the trick?? i will lose a good bit of volume tho
I would make it a single to pick up the extra .75 port area.

14*.75=10.5sqin its better.

wesl56
07-09-2006, 07:46 PM
ok well check it out.. after tinkering around trying to salvage this piece, i ended up with 2.2 ft^3 net and 72 in^2 of port tuned to 33hz... lol i dunno what do ya think this is gonna sound like? :crap:

mazdakid
07-09-2006, 08:04 PM
**** thats a whole lotta port

buildmeabox
07-09-2006, 09:25 PM
Just keep the original design and let us know how it sounds. If it doesn't meet your expectations then make another one to the spec's everyone has recommended and compare the difference. The box will be in the trunk, what port noise can you possible hear? You will be lucky to keep your hearing after a week of playing those monsters.

vetkilr
07-09-2006, 10:33 PM
ok well check it out.. after tinkering around trying to salvage this piece, i ended up with 2.2 ft^3 net and 72 in^2 of port tuned to 33hz... lol i dunno what do ya think this is gonna sound like? :crap:
How in the hell???

The box is a 4cube box aint it?

Honestly 1 12 type R in a 3cuft with 40sq tuned to 33 with 1200watts was the loudest single sub car Ive ever heard so that should tell you something.

That should be your goal.

j3bus2k3
07-09-2006, 10:37 PM
How in the hell???

The box is a 4cube box aint it?

Honestly 1 12 type R in a 3cuft with 40sq tuned to 33 with 1200watts was the loudest single sub car Ive ever heard so that should tell you something.

That should be your goal.

LOL, chris's? He had an advantage being a hatchback..

To the OP: You should really have >25in^2 of port area and your volume needs to be more than just "slightly larger" than 1.3ft^3 net to get the full potential out of the R's...good luck.

wesl56
07-09-2006, 10:45 PM
ha well it was a 4 cube box, but now its got about 2 cubes of port LOL

ah i dunno i bet it would sound good with just one sub in it.. its not really good for anything tho... well ill play with it and see who knos everyone seems to say something different lol

jeepintn
07-09-2006, 10:50 PM
**** man, i feel your pain, ports are a pain in the arse when u first start, im going through it with you, haha

vetkilr
07-09-2006, 11:08 PM
Hell just move the side wall in on one side and only use one sub.Make it around 3.0 cuft.Make the port 40sq and the 33-35tunin and be set.
All you have to do is cut the top and bottom board or leave them and make a amp rack into it or something either way it will be louder this way.

mazdakid
07-09-2006, 11:17 PM
3 total or after sub and port displacement

vetkilr
07-09-2006, 11:19 PM
afta

wesl56
07-09-2006, 11:23 PM
hm well i dont think i could make the volume any bigger... what would happen if i just put one in it? one type r with ~2.5 cubes and 72 in^2 port and i guess the tuning would be lowered a tad since the volume goes up.... is there any disadvantages to having too much port area? is there such thing as too much?

mazdakid
07-09-2006, 11:30 PM
make the volume bigger and the port smaller

denim
07-10-2006, 11:15 AM
keep the pix comeing but smaller please

vetkilr
07-10-2006, 08:42 PM
hm well i dont think i could make the volume any bigger... what would happen if i just put one in it? one type r with ~2.5 cubes and 72 in^2 port and i guess the tuning would be lowered a tad since the volume goes up.... is there any disadvantages to having too much port area? is there such thing as too much?
Yes for a 12 for most people 40 sq is the most you want.
Hard users want 50 squares.

wesl56
07-10-2006, 10:57 PM
this box = FTL lol ill just save it for a special occasion...

im in the process of something new... ill post up tom. prolly