PDA

View Full Version : port questions



LUV2BHATED
07-08-2006, 09:21 PM
Might be a dumb question but better to ask and know then to not ask and build. now im building a box for 2 12in l7's now with the port, would it be a big difference if its a square port in the middle or 2 pvc pipes to be the port? wut would u suggest??????

LUV2BHATED
07-08-2006, 10:18 PM
?????

djman37
07-08-2006, 10:19 PM
doesn't really matter, they both work. you might start with a slot port.

LUV2BHATED
07-08-2006, 10:24 PM
thanks dj, slotted port it is

LUV2BHATED
07-09-2006, 12:24 AM
can a port be on the opposite side of the box? speakers on one side the port on the other??

LUV2BHATED
07-09-2006, 12:49 AM
??????????????

troy_audi0
07-09-2006, 12:52 AM
yes it can..

djman37
07-09-2006, 09:02 AM
can a port be on the opposite side of the box? speakers on one side the port on the other??

it CAN, but that ought to introduce nasty cancellation.
Best option=subs and port on the same plane.
Next best=subs and port 90 degrees of axis.
Least=180 out of phase with your subs.

4uha8ers
07-09-2006, 12:31 PM
it CAN, but that ought to introduce nasty cancellation.
Best option=subs and port on the same plane.
Next best=subs and port 90 degrees of axis.
Least=180 out of phase with your subs.
so what if the sub is firing up and a 6" aeroport firing to the rear would this work good

djman37
07-09-2006, 01:14 PM
that's cool, next best option.
CRX style as it is known.

4uha8ers
07-09-2006, 02:40 PM
that's cool, next best option.
CRX style as it is known.
would one 6" aeroport do the job for a 06 L7 15 tuned @34hz on 1600 watts

vetkilr
07-09-2006, 02:43 PM
yep

djman37
07-09-2006, 06:10 PM
would one 6" aeroport do the job for a 06 L7 15 tuned @34hz on 1600 watts
yep. I have 2 in a box for 2 DD9515's or MT15's with A LOT of power.