PDA

View Full Version : Which competition class is easier?



supraman1379
07-06-2006, 10:00 PM
I dont know which is easier. Is it MECA or IASCA? Or is there any difference.

The reason I ask is because I am getting ready to pre register for next years SBN.
Sorry for the dumb question. I would have already know but I didnt get to compete this past SBN.

Chevyaudio
07-06-2006, 10:11 PM
what kind of numbers are you hitting? Its really like comparing apples to oranges, Each org. has different rules and classes.

supraman1379
07-06-2006, 10:22 PM
I can do a 146 even right now. But I am going to have an audio shop get a meter to see if I can do better. But right now the best I have done is a 146.0 Which I dont think is that bad considering its in an ext cab Ranger.

djman37
07-06-2006, 10:38 PM
I'm in USACi which is amp power based, except for street beat which is sub size based.

check the rules:
http://www.soundoff.org/usaci.htm
www.mecacaraudio.com
www.iasca.com
www.dbdrag.com

and I'm sure there's others.

supraman1379
07-06-2006, 11:05 PM
By looking at the MECA car audio link, I think I would either be in Ametuer street 2or street 3

Flipx99
07-06-2006, 11:06 PM
I'm in USACi which is amp power based, except for street beat which is sub size based.

check the rules:
http://www.soundoff.org/usaci.htm
www.mecacaraudio.com
www.iasca.com
www.dbdrag.com

and I'm sure there's others.


I like USACi but they seemed to have deleted basic stock

supraman1379
07-06-2006, 11:13 PM
I was readin up on Ametuer STreet and it says the vehicle has to be off and the driver must sit in the passenger side. And if it exceeds more than 145 db you can not be in the vehicle.

Now since the truck has to be off, would it be wise to install my capacitor I have here to help sustain the voltage? And charge my battery before I go?

djman37
07-06-2006, 11:29 PM
I like USACi but they seemed to have deleted basic stock

Basic stock, i know, that was gonna be my class.:(
I'm doing okay in Stock, still 1 alt.

btnhfan
07-07-2006, 12:16 AM
Isnt it just a litttle early to pre-register?


lol

tommyk90
07-07-2006, 12:18 AM
Isnt it just a litttle early to pre-register?


lol

I was thinking the same thing. :uhoh:

supraman1379
07-07-2006, 12:18 AM
I dont think so. But if it is too early, Im learning something anyways. LOL. But I am however booking the hotel room.

smd4life
07-07-2006, 12:18 AM
all of them(for me)

tommyk90
07-07-2006, 12:25 AM
I was readin up on Ametuer STreet and it says the vehicle has to be off and the driver must sit in the passenger side. And if it exceeds more than 145 db you can not be in the vehicle.

Now since the truck has to be off, would it be wise to install my capacitor I have here to help sustain the voltage? And charge my battery before I go?

Amateur street also places the sensor at the driver's headrest, not in the kick or on the dash.

supraman1379
07-07-2006, 12:29 AM
Im kind of stuck on which class or division I will be in. AS 2 or Street 3

tommyk90
07-07-2006, 12:36 AM
Im kind of stuck on which class or division I will be in. AS 2 or Street 3

It depends on how much fusing you have.

You have to have a fuse holder 18" from the subwoofer amp.

Since you have 2 15's, i'll base the classes off of that

AS2 goes from 751-1200. With your 2 15's, you can use ~80 amps of fusing
AS3 goes from 1201-2000. With your 2 15's you can use ~160 amps of fusing.

supraman1379
07-07-2006, 12:38 AM
It depends on how much fusing you have.

You have to have a fuse holder 18" from the subwoofer amp.

Since you have 2 15's, i'll base the classes off of that

AS2 goes from 751-1200. With your 2 15's, you can use ~80 amps of fusing
AS3 goes from 1201-2000. With your 2 15's you can use ~160 amps of fusing.
If I understood that right, I only have one fuse, bout a foot from the battery. 150A

tommyk90
07-07-2006, 12:41 AM
If I understood that right, I only have one fuse, bout a foot from the battery. 150A

The only fuse that matters is the one 18" from the SUBWOOFER AMP.

The underhood fuse does not matter. You HAVE TO have one 18" before the sub amp.

supraman1379
07-07-2006, 12:43 AM
The only fuse that matters is the one 18" from the SUBWOOFER AMP.

The underhood fuse does not matter. You HAVE TO have one 18" before the sub amp.
Ok I understand now. So I would prolly be best off with an 80A?

15nissen
07-07-2006, 04:06 AM
Ok I understand now. So I would prolly be best off with an 80A?


its depends if ur amp is efficient. im sure it will run off a 80amp all day. go to a meca show, the judges will be more then happy to get you into the best class possible

supraman1379
07-07-2006, 02:41 PM
its depends if ur amp is efficient. im sure it will run off a 80amp all day. go to a meca show, the judges will be more then happy to get you into the best class possible

I was thinking bout it earlier. Should the fuse that has to be 18" from the amp be the se as the sum of all three fuses in the side of the amp? Or does that matter because I havea fise up front?

Blunt
07-07-2006, 02:43 PM
I was thinking bout it earlier. Should the fuse that has to be 18" from the amp be the se as the sum of all three fuses in the side of the amp? Or does that matter because I havea fise up front?


yo uwant to run as small a fuse as your amp will burp at. so if oyu cna burp with an 80 and get good power then do it.

prochobo
07-09-2006, 02:48 PM
You should do AS1. I've got 1600w and I'm in AS1 also. You can run a 35 amp fuse which I'm sure will last for your run. Even if it pops, as long as you get in a note at full blast, your score will still be valid (I think). It's driveby that gets tricky. . .

The score is taken at the headrest, car off, music playing (must be a real CD). After all that, your score may drastically change. Welcome to my world :P