View Full Version : should i put polyfill?

07-04-2006, 08:46 AM
ive just build my first box (sealed) to practice a bit before i do a ported box very soon!
is it useful to put polyfill in the box? its 2.3cu.ft NET

07-04-2006, 08:52 AM
Try it empty first, if it sounds boomy add the fill.

Fill is a SQ tweek that damps resonance and will have a dB cost (typically 2-3db at resonance)

07-04-2006, 09:04 AM
i would,it "tricks"the woofer into seeing its in a bigger box.i read a mag. a while back where they tested the results,got up to a .4 cu.ft.gain with polyfill.

07-04-2006, 03:37 PM
i find that if the box is made just right, no polyfill is needed.

07-05-2006, 12:29 PM
if you use it, usually 1lb per cu'.

07-05-2006, 12:42 PM
do people use polyfill for ported? is it possible it could catch fire?

07-05-2006, 12:59 PM
polyester will melt before it combusts, either way i don't think you have to worry about that unless something else is seriously wrong.

07-05-2006, 07:55 PM
....unless something else is seriously wrong.


but yes, you can use it in a ported box but is uncommon since you can tune the box lower (or higher) by the port length....instead of using polyfil to get a sealed box tuned lower.

07-06-2006, 11:00 AM
I read an article that said ALWAYS use polyfil in a sealed application........ALWAYS.

07-06-2006, 10:01 PM
ive just putted 1lb of polyfill and WOW, theres alot of difference, its smoother, deeper and louder! im gonna put another lb and a half!