PDA

View Full Version : Too much power for Germaniums?

SuperBlack350z
07-02-2006, 05:42 PM
My girlfriend's got an Eclipse PA5422 (85x4 @4 ohm) that she's looking at using to run her new Germaniums. If this were bridged, would that be too much for the Germaniums to handle? I'm figuring leaving them not bridged wouldn't be enough. These are going in Tuesday, just making sure this will be an ok setup.

Beat_Dominator
07-02-2006, 05:43 PM
So what like 160+ bridged? They would handle that I think.

6spdcoupe
07-02-2006, 06:02 PM
Definately not too much, but rasther than bridging why not Biamp em?

SuperBlack350z
07-02-2006, 06:05 PM
And here's where I'm a noob . . . how does that work and what's the advantage?

Starky
07-02-2006, 06:05 PM
6spd (^^^) tells me my 400 per side will be fine with my Germ 465.65's (2 speaker per side set)

mtdewelf
07-02-2006, 06:10 PM
And here's where I'm a noob . . . how does that work and what's the advantage?
disadvantages are that you are going to spend some serious time making sure that each comp set sees the exact same signal

chadillac3
07-02-2006, 08:31 PM
disadvantages are that you are going to spend some serious time making sure that each comp set sees the exact same signal

The original poster is only going to use one component set...which means only level matching the tweets to the mids when bi-amping.

SuperBlack350z
07-02-2006, 10:42 PM
So . . . if I'm biamping with a four channel, I have FL, FR, RL, RR . . . obviously + and - on each. So . . . In a biamped setup, am I correct in saying that each tweeter and each woofer are its own channel? If so, on say the right side, would I run the tweeter off FR and the woofer off RR and so on a so forth for the left side? That's the only way I can see this working . . . thanks for the help!

headless
07-03-2006, 10:53 AM