PDA

View Full Version : Can I not use a High Pass temperarily



Dunerider5
06-30-2006, 12:31 AM
Rainbow slc's. I need a high pass cross over but im broke for right now. Can I install them and not use a high pass at all?

PESteele
06-30-2006, 12:32 AM
just dont turn up the bass

Gary S
06-30-2006, 02:11 AM
If they are in small sealed enclosures, you don't boost the bass, and don't feed them more than the RMS power they are rated for, they should be fine running full range.

If they are in the doors/free air, don't feed them any more than half the rated RMS power. If you ever hear any mechanical noise from the speaker, back down on the volume or turn the amp gain down.

alphakenny1
06-30-2006, 04:10 AM
huh? just use your HU or amp to highpass the components. the passive xovers in that set should come with two xovers. each xover will high pass the tweeter and low pass the mid. you still need to highpass the mids somewhere. either your HU or your amp. no need to buy another high pass xover.

Ruffy
06-30-2006, 11:05 AM
I thought you went full range to crossover, and the crossover did the high/mid pass. No real need for another one in the chain

heyman421
06-30-2006, 11:26 AM
he's talking about x'ing out the subbass

headless
06-30-2006, 02:15 PM
Sure you can; just don't crank the volume or you'll find some nasty distortion awaits

Dunerider5
07-01-2006, 06:15 PM
Well they are going to be in the doors with about 150 watts. Im using the stock HU and my amp only has a 150hz high pass, or I can turn it off. I guess ill just have volume and bass down.

Prowler573
07-01-2006, 06:25 PM
why not just turn the 150hz high pass on?
Because he would be lacking a huge frequency range between 150Hz and 80Hz or so around where his substage should be LP crossed would be my guess....

Prowler573
07-01-2006, 06:27 PM
Here's a better question to try and get this sorted out ~

What amp are you powering those Rainbows with, Dunerider?

Dunerider5
07-01-2006, 07:38 PM
A Kenwood KAC-7201 (http://www.kenwoodaudio.com/Singapore/prodDetails.asp?Cat=Car%20Entertainment&SubCat=Power%20Amplifiers&Model=KAC-7201). Im either going to get a crossover or get the new KAC-7251, but I was hoping to install the speakers this weekend.

AcidicDreams
07-01-2006, 07:42 PM
A Kenwood KAC-7201 (http://www.kenwoodaudio.com/Singapore/prodDetails.asp?Cat=Car%20Entertainment&SubCat=Power%20Amplifiers&Model=KAC-7201). Im either going to get a crossover or get the new KAC-7251, but I was hoping to install the speakers this weekend.

wow... that's kinda gay... I never knew amps would have a fixed high pass... anywho just use it for now.... then get a new amp

squeak9798
07-01-2006, 08:14 PM
I thought you went full range to crossover, and the crossover did the high/mid pass. No real need for another one in the chain

The xovers generally only highpass the tweeter and lowpass the mid...you typically still need to use a highpass xover somewhere in the system (at the HU, at the amp, etc) in order to highpass the mid.

squeak9798
07-01-2006, 08:15 PM
Anyways....yes, you can run them. Just don't crank the volume up too loud and listen for distortion/sounds of distress from the speaker.

Or, to be on the safe side, just use the 150hz highpass temporarily....just to be sure you're protected.

Bolognablake
07-01-2006, 08:20 PM
wow... that's kinda gay... I never knew amps would have a fixed high pass... anywho just use it for now.... then get a new amp


Yeah, that *****.

Boo on that amp.

Dunerider5
07-03-2006, 02:35 PM
Yeah, that *****.

Boo on that amp.

Exactly how I felt when I saw it was "selectable".

Thanks for the suggestions.