PDA

View Full Version : Powering Componets?



viperrgh2
06-25-2006, 10:56 PM
I read that its bad to power componet speakers with the hu power, How bas is it? Would it be horrible if i power 130wat comp speakers wit 40watts from the hu each.. eventually id get an amp when I had more $ but wondering if i can do this temp.

azbass
06-25-2006, 10:59 PM
its not bad, its just way underpowering them,. get an amp.

MrSector9
06-25-2006, 11:00 PM
you can do it for now fine.... more then likely they will be an upgrade in sound from what you have now.

then when you amp them... even more upgrade in sound :)

squeak9798
06-25-2006, 11:01 PM
There's nothing physically wrong with it....i.e. nothing is going to catch on fire or be damaged.

You simply won't be getting anywhere near full performance from the component set using HU power though.

FoxPro5
06-25-2006, 11:56 PM
^^^ what they said. I've never seen a deck put out 40 watts RMS...you must be referencing it's peak power. You can expect 20 watts tops.

viperrgh2
06-26-2006, 07:08 AM
well if I have no rear speakers would the deck put all the power to the fronts? 20x4 into 40x2??

Prowler573
06-26-2006, 07:18 AM
well if I have no rear speakers would the deck put all the power to the fronts? 20x4 into 40x2??
I won't say that there simply aren't any head units with bridgeable amps but I will say I haven't ever seen any personally. So no, leaving the rear channels disconnected will not reroute that unused power to other outputs.

viperrgh2
06-26-2006, 06:37 PM
I won't say that there simply aren't any head units with bridgeable amps but I will say I haven't ever seen any personally. So no, leaving the rear channels diconnected will not reroute that unused power to other outputs.
:( haha .. more $ to spend now, yay

theothermike
06-26-2006, 06:55 PM
ebay is ur friend u can find a cheap amp very easily with around 70 x 2. 70 bucks top look in these bst forums too little lower down

Prowler573
06-26-2006, 07:02 PM
*cue the shameless plug*

I've got a 75w X 2 amp for $80/shipped and I'll even throw in a nice set of interconnects for free if you're interested ;)

See the link for the Kenwood amp in my signature if you're interested.

theothermike
06-26-2006, 07:06 PM
(Prowler's Deal FTW!!!!!) Kenwood amp is decent better than some, for the price cant beat it.

He is a good guy id do it. U no it wasnt abused and set up wrong since ur buying from him.

He's ur man

Mike

Prowler573
06-26-2006, 07:13 PM
(Prowler's Deal FTW!!!!!) Kenwood amp is decent better than some, for the price cant beat it.

He is a good guy id do it. U no it wasnt abused and set up wrong since ur buying from him.

He's ur man

Mike
Umm..wow, thanks dude. I appreciate it. No, this amp hasn't been abused. It came to me in the cosmetic shape shown in the pictures in my FS thread (the pics of the first amp, second product in that thread - the head unit and larger amp have both sold) and since coming to me it has been hooked up in my bedroom running an uber-generic fullrange hatchback box. I don't really wanna get rid of it but I need both the space and the $$ to fun a different project.

theothermike
06-26-2006, 07:36 PM
u car audio ***** u ;)

If only i was in my lifetime career making a yearly salery id be set but noooo, im still living under mom and dads roof making like 60$ a month :-)

O well, the time will come

Mike