PDA

View Full Version : Box for 4 L7s complete....



xpl0it
06-25-2006, 08:06 PM
Alright, I think I'm already going to downgrade, this thing is just massive. It's a very well built box, it is my first box I've ever built. I braced it well, put an angle in the corner where the port is and everything, but it's just too ****ing big. Pics in a min.

Pics on pages 1 and 4

xpl0it
06-25-2006, 08:11 PM
http://www.comp-hq.com/box2.jpg
http://www.comp-hq.com/box1.jpg
http://www.comp-hq.com/box3.jpg
http://www.comp-hq.com/box4.jpg
http://www.comp-hq.com/***.jpg

Sorry for bad cell phone pics.

xpl0it
06-25-2006, 08:12 PM
The last pic isn't assembled, but there is a lot bracing in the final product.

Rc 415
06-25-2006, 08:13 PM
The box does look great! You cant give up yet though, you at least have to hear it, I mean you have everything!

squeak12
06-25-2006, 08:13 PM
Should have mounted the baffle onto the wood instead of inside the wood.

pickup1
06-25-2006, 08:15 PM
dang!!!that thing is hugo!!

DBfan187
06-25-2006, 08:17 PM
the word massive doesn't describe that monstrosity!

snb778
06-25-2006, 08:30 PM
there's some extra weight...nice box though.

LeofromtheH
06-25-2006, 08:46 PM
window line is out tha window!

mazdakid
06-25-2006, 08:52 PM
id face it back

9512ds
06-25-2006, 08:53 PM
scotts a ***** anyways it wont ever be used or heard :cool:

xpl0it
06-25-2006, 09:04 PM
Should have mounted the baffle onto the wood instead of inside the wood.


I couldn't, with my calculations and everything, i had to do it this way so the port had even leveling. Thanks for the complement though.:rolleyes:

xpl0it
06-25-2006, 09:16 PM
What would be the best way to caulk this. I have GE Silicone I, which I heard was really good for this application.

SBLAZER
06-25-2006, 09:22 PM
PL or liquid nail works awesome. thats wha i used.

nice box, i would have done a few things different, but it looks good. wha vehicle do u have? heard it yet?

xpl0it
06-25-2006, 09:24 PM
1997 Ford Explorer Sport, I haven't installed anything in it, I still need to caulk and carpet. Is the caulk I have alright? What would you have done differently? Also, aiming it back would make it 3 inches taller, it's 28 inches deep.

Fast1one
06-25-2006, 09:41 PM
Nice work! Any chalk really will suffice...before you carpet test it out first lol....

If tis only a three inch difference, definately point it back...

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 12:41 AM
Nice work! Any chalk really will suffice...before you carpet test it out first lol....

If tis only a three inch difference, definately point it back...


I plan on putting my back seats up again. I'm mounting my hc2400 next to the box over the wheel well thing and may attatch my amp to my box, haven't completely decided yet.

PV Audio
06-26-2006, 12:44 AM
Should have mounted the baffle onto the wood instead of inside the wood.
It's fine the way it is. ;)

smd4life
06-26-2006, 12:46 AM
nice work man keep it up

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 12:52 AM
Alright I caulked it and everything a few hours ago and it's all dried up. I used my finger on every single corner in the box and edge where the wood meets, no leaks, is that how you are supposed to caulk? There is about 3/4" inch of caulk that spread out away from the corner in a lot of parts, looks a little tacky. I won't see it anyways, but that won't deter performance will it? I put the subs in and they fit VERY snug, no movement whatsoever. As for the wire going into the box, what's the best way to go about this. I thought about drilling a small hole in the back and running the wire through there and caulk the hole up. Then running 2 small distro blocks (I'll have 4 wires coming out of box, 4 dual 4 subs wired to 2 ohms) and channel each + and each - into one wire going to the amp. Or I could just run all 4 wires to the amp, but I'd rather just have 2 wires goin to the amp.

Also...
I've read some on carpetting and can't find a solid solution for adhesive, is 3M spray ok, or is it a no go? Thanks.

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 12:56 AM
Also, when I pieced the pieces together, not too much glue came out of the sides, but I had a nice sized bead goin along the edges, used brad nails with a high pressure gun, and screws (no clamps) to hold the box. The box is really solid, you can lift it by the top baffle piece, but should I have used more glue? My neighbor carpenter said that it was perfectly fine. I used titebond 2 (froze last winter) so my neighbor gave me some elmer's carpenter's glue.

Rc 415
06-26-2006, 12:56 AM
3M spray glue is great, I use it on all my boxes.

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 12:57 AM
Alright, I'm gonna need a shiot load of carpet.:crazy:

zachzchw
06-26-2006, 01:01 AM
You should do a before/after on your gas mileage. :D

That box does look great though........especially for your first time.
Good job.

squeak12
06-26-2006, 01:07 AM
Yea, the box looks good. My comment was a preference of mine. Your fine with the glue not coming out, more wouldnt have hurt, but it will stay together fine. Just make sure your carpet is wider than your box. It will make it look better when its carpeted.

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 01:08 AM
Yea, the box looks good. My comment was a preference of mine. Your fine with the glue not coming out, more wouldnt have hurt, but it will stay together fine. Just make sure your carpet is wider than your box. It will make it look better when its carpeted.


I have no carpetting experience.:crap: I hope it blends to my car better, it sorta, well, stands out right now if you know what I mean.

bamaboy
06-26-2006, 01:19 AM
looks good man, tis alot bigger than mine:(
my 8cuber isnt that bad with rear view, dosent really get in the way at all, but gas mileage>me

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 01:32 AM
I dont' think it will really affect my gas mileage too too much. I already drive a V6 4.0L explorer that hogs gas like crazy, V6 on a small SUV like mine is a waste. My box is like 13.9 cubes before displacement, how about yours?

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 01:36 AM
scotts a ***** anyways it wont ever be used or heard :cool:


Andy, don't make me slap you ho.

TooLowTooGo
06-26-2006, 01:36 AM
why is it so big?

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 01:38 AM
Your box looks bigger than mine, lol. My trunk space is just small.

bamaboy
06-26-2006, 01:57 AM
i can tell when driving with out the box and then both 60+lb subs and the box

dont have in go go powa, nor stoping powa, but it suffices, isnt that bad really
i wouldnt go up any higher with my box
http://img385.imageshack.us/img385/4139/p52800043zt.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 01:59 AM
yeah your setup may be heavier than mine. My battery is 70lbs, box is near 80 +/- some, subs are 25lbs a piece, amp is 30lbs+/- some.

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 02:03 AM
I wonder who's setup will be louder.:up2somet:

squeak12
06-26-2006, 02:04 AM
Carpeting isnt too hard, should look too bad especially since you wont be able to see the sides which IMO are the hardest parts to do.

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 09:26 AM
Alright, thanks guys

prochobo
06-26-2006, 10:55 AM
yeah your setup may be heavier than mine. My battery is 70lbs, box is near 80 +/- some, subs are 25lbs a piece, amp is 30lbs+/- some.

Are you sure your box is only 80 lbs?! My box right now is 80 lbs and that' for 2 12"s. I'd say 120lbs at the least.

vetkilr
06-26-2006, 06:01 PM
For being a *** alot of the time you make a killer looking box bro.

Hope it sounds as good as it looks and I love L7s

xpl0it
06-26-2006, 08:58 PM
lol, thanks man. I'm gonna drill a hole i nthe back for the speaker wire and test it out over the next couple days.

bamaboy
06-27-2006, 12:22 AM
i bet yours weighs baout the same, your batt is heavier, but i have 2 more amps than you, i wish the MT's didnt weigh so much, they are to hard to work with

Decipha
06-27-2006, 12:52 AM
dammm.. yall got me wanting another 15

TooLowTooGo
06-27-2006, 12:58 AM
i wish the MT's didnt weigh so much, they are to hard to work with

try working with 2 12's that weigh in at 140lbs alone.

squeak12
06-27-2006, 01:02 AM
i bet yours weighs baout the same, your batt is heavier, but i have 2 more amps than you, i wish the MT's didnt weigh so much, they are to hard to work with

Man I know thats right. I hate moving mine around.

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 01:54 AM
try working with 2 12's that weigh in at 140lbs alone.


I've had 2 9500s before off my xx-colossus, the sound was simply unreal. I only ran them off 2k watts as well, I hope 4 L7s off 3800 gets louder, lol.:crazy:

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 02:08 AM
I put my subs and everythign in, and there is SOOOOO much airspace, lol. I tested it out at level 15 (normally listened to my 9500s at 45/62) gains and everything low and I just about had a heart attack. I have to break them in for 15-20 hours, and they are already loud as hell. Even when you can't visually see them moving, you can feel the bass in your hair, lol. This is gonna be rediculous when I play it full tilt. I wonder if I'll be able to do a hair trick, there is a LOT of airflow around 35hz. The subs are just barely moving.

2LouDFoRThiS
06-27-2006, 02:10 AM
sick ..

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 02:10 AM
But that's it anyways, I'm gonna take them out in the morning, carpet my box, install a speaker terminal in the back, and re-do some wiring.

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 02:13 AM
I might add, I was skeptical about my low extension, but I don't think it freakin matters because I have 400 sq. inches of cone area and 133.5 sq. inches of port area. 45-70hz is just sickening, but it still gets loud as hell around 32-39hz. It's a different type of bass though, the SQ is perfectly fine, but it seems more agressive than my 9500s. Songs hit so hard i feel my lungs vibrate, lol.

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 02:16 AM
Anyways, I have a long day ahead of me. I have never carpetted before, nor do i have a clue how to, so hopefully I don't botch it. I'm nervous about how i"m gonna carpet the baffle. peace everybody (to all 8 of you currently viewing the thread).

bamaboy
06-27-2006, 02:19 AM
thats the way my mt's are, they dont even move but you can feel it pretty good

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 02:21 AM
**** bamaboy, I thought you had 2 18" MTs, not 15s. I just noticed that.

wlmrs
06-27-2006, 02:24 AM
Your box is the $hit.......:handclap: :handclap: :handclap:

What an accomplishment!!!

bamaboy
06-27-2006, 02:26 AM
my backend isnt wide enough between the wheelwells for 2 18s unless i do a funky shaped box

if i could fit 18s without much trouble, i woulda went with a bigger box

im going to keep going up, then to a wall

then to a school bus

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 09:40 AM
**** dude. I had roughly 40" wide to work with 28 inches deep.... and well the height is what it is (25"). I will be putting some steel framing next to my box to hold my battery so I can put the seat back. Would it be better to leave my amp mounted on the back of my steats, or should I mount it on the box?

prochobo
06-27-2006, 10:54 AM
I'd leave it mounted to the seat. I'm OCD about SPL kinda. The more screws in the box, the weaker it becomes.

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 08:09 PM
And here is the final product.... Carpet job is alright, it's my first attempt, but it looks good enough for me.

http://www.comp-hq.com/finbox.jpg
http://www.comp-hq.com/finbox2.jpg
http://www.comp-hq.com/finbox3.jpg

PhatTonyDeMarco
06-27-2006, 08:10 PM
Dont work :crap:

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 08:12 PM
They are comin...

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 08:14 PM
thats disgusting


In a good way?

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 08:15 PM
yes, in a very, very good way


Good Job


Lol, thanks man.:)

SAG3
06-27-2006, 08:18 PM
sick

Chevyaudio
06-27-2006, 08:19 PM
Looks Quiet....j/k Good job on the carpet for your first time.

xpl0it
06-27-2006, 09:58 PM
Ok, well this is the loudest **** i've ever heard... My voltage is consistent when I'm driving, but when I idle my voltage drops some. I'm really pissed my OVERLOAD light blinks whenever there is bass. My voltage is about 14v when driving give or take and my lights don't dim. When I was bumping at a park with the car in park, my amp went into protect. What can I do to get the overload light to stop flashing? My subs sound really good and hit really hard, but I don't want to drive them too far. I still would like to break in my subs before I pound them too hard. It hits really hard, but at the initial point of when it hits, it sounds a little funny (probably my car or something).

juggalomm
06-27-2006, 11:01 PM
AMAZING looking box. im just about done with my first box and it looks like **** compared to yours haha.

PV Audio
06-27-2006, 11:25 PM
xploit, where you at in Indy? I wanna hear this setup. :)

Tkdiceman
06-28-2006, 12:50 AM
**** i can't wait to hear it and bleed out my ears!!!! box looks **** as hell man.

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 02:29 AM
xploit, where you at in Indy? I wanna hear this setup. :)


I'm in carmel.... around 96th street and keystone.

MikeyB
06-28-2006, 02:32 AM
Did you set your gain with a dmm? I wouldnt worry about breakin them in bro, youll be fine. Just becareful and dont draw unwanted attention, the last thing you want to do now is come out to your car and find that youve just been robbed by some ******* that followed you home or some ****.

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 02:33 AM
Ok I called Tuan of Team Toxic Bass about my overload light. He recommends that on a monthly basis I slow charge my Kinetik HC2400 because there is probably not enough amps coming from the battery. The manual on the Gen XX-Colossus states that the overload light indicates clipping of the subwoofers, but they sound clean as a whistle. I have an audiocontrol overdrive line driver but my voltage going to my amp is typically 3-4v RMS is that, should I crank it to 7.5v RMS, and back down more on the amp gains? I'm trying to find out why I would be clipping my subwoofers. My voltage does drop a lot it seems when I'm not driving, but my alt does 170 amps idle and 220 amps max, should I be seeing my voltage drop?

MikeyB
06-28-2006, 02:37 AM
Did you set your gain with a dmm? I wouldnt worry about breakin them in bro, youll be fine. Just becareful and dont draw unwanted attention, the last thing you want to do now is come out to your car and find that youve just been robbed by some ******* that followed you home or some ****.

Leave the linedriver where its at and SET THE GAIN WITH A DMM!

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 02:40 AM
Did you set your gain with a dmm? I wouldnt worry about breakin them in bro, youll be fine. Just becareful and dont draw unwanted attention, the last thing you want to do now is come out to your car and find that youve just been robbed by some ******* that followed you home or some ****.

Yeah I have a viper 791xv installed right now and will most likely get the proximity sensor and glass sensory and backup battery. It's really hard not to get unwanted attention, this thing is nothing less of a pest in my city now. I love listening to it loud, but I hate it when people stare at me, and now EVERYBODY stares at me and I dont' like it. I don't like pissing people off from that. I was playing it loud to and I got out and my hands were shaking, not sure why, but I was nervous about something, probably all the attention. I can't honestly believe how low these things get, my box is tuned high and seems to peak in the 45-60hz range, but the lows (30-38hz) tear my car apart. All of my quarters shot out of my coin holder today when I was with my friend, I thought that was funny. I'm going to invest in some sound deadening, because I'm hearing rattles I've never heard before. I would really like to figure out this overload issue because I'm afraid to drive my system even further when the subs are broken in, but I know there is A LOT more to go. My amplifier isn't even warm to the touch after 20-25 minutes of playing hard. I don't even think my subs move an inch and they get incredibly loud, it just seems like they can be driven a lot harder. I could try setting my gains with a DMM, but I want to be sure I'm not clipping them, I just want it to be loud as hell and not harm anything. I guess that's it for tonight...

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 02:42 AM
Leave the linedriver where its at and SET THE GAIN WITH A DMM!


I hear DMM's aren't that affective. I just need to find an O-scope I guess. Could I just have a faulty overload LED indicator maybe? Hopefully I'm not clipping the subs.

wlmrs
06-28-2006, 02:45 AM
One of the nicest boxes i've seen thus far!

MikeyB
06-28-2006, 02:47 AM
I hear DMM's aren't that affective. I just need to find an O-scope I guess. Could I just have a faulty overload LED indicator maybe? Hopefully I'm not clipping the subs.

Its a hell of a lot closer than settin it by hear bro, an o-scope is the most accurate way but as long as you take it easy on the gain and set it properly you will be fine. If you keep blastin the gain and causing that light to come on your gonna end up frying your amp or clipping your subs to death. Read up the gain setting tutorial and you'll be fine.

MikeyB
06-28-2006, 02:48 AM
BTW whats the coil config on the subs and how do you have them wired to that amp?

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 02:52 AM
Its a hell of a lot closer than settin it by hear bro, an o-scope is the most accurate way but as long as you take it easy on the gain and set it properly you will be fine. If you keep blastin the gain and causing that light to come on your gonna end up frying your amp or clipping your subs to death. Read up the gain setting tutorial and you'll be fine.

My gain is on 1/4 or so right now.. My subs are wiring by each sub having a + and - from voice coils 1 and 2 connected by wire. Then, all +'s are connected and all -'s are connected and from the last subwoofer, a + and - goes to my speaker terminal. The speaker terminal has 1 + and 1 - go to the amps + and - (bridged). So total it's a 2 ohm load since they are all dual 4 ohm.

MikeyB
06-28-2006, 02:57 AM
My gain is on 1/4 or so right now.. My subs are wiring by each sub having a + and - from voice coils 1 and 2 connected by wire. Then, all +'s are connected and all -'s are connected and from the last subwoofer, a + and - goes to my speaker terminal. The speaker terminal has 1 + and 1 - go to the amps + and - (bridged). So total it's a 2 ohm load since they are all dual 4 ohm.

Alright cool thats how it should be, btw its not bridged since thats a mono-block, it doenst matter which set of terminals its wired to, they just put in another set for ease of wiring. But everything is good there, so just read the gain setting tutorial and set your gain with a dmm and youll be fine bro.

MikeyB
06-28-2006, 02:58 AM
FYI, when you do read how to set the gain, the voltage you will be looking for is going to be about ~87 AC volts.

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 02:58 AM
My manual says it's bridging the 2 amps together...

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 02:59 AM
I know the gain setting tutorial like the back of my hand

MikeyB
06-28-2006, 03:00 AM
My manual says it's bridging the 2 amps together...

??? what two amps?

btw im on aim right now

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 03:26 AM
??? what two amps?

btw im on aim right now


My gen xx-colossus has 2 amps built into one chassis.

MikeyB
06-28-2006, 03:32 AM
My gen xx-colossus has 2 amps built into one chassis.

oh snap, i thought you were usin a different amp

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 03:34 AM
Nope, the good ol 42 incher that barely fits in my SUV! lol

jujumantb
06-28-2006, 03:35 AM
dmm?

turn the gain all the way up if you want to get full power out of your amp

Fast1one
06-28-2006, 01:22 PM
dmm?

turn the gain all the way up if you want to get full power out of your ampYou bad :D Trying to make his amp blow up :p:

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 01:23 PM
Yeah... I was just about to go try that too:naughty:

PV Audio
06-28-2006, 05:55 PM
I'm in carmel.... around 96th street and keystone.LOL you shitting me? Like where all the car dealerships and **** are? I'm over there like every day (Tom Wood Subaru is teh ****).

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 07:33 PM
Yeah man, really close to there. I live in Kingswood, it's off grey road in between 106th and 116th. I'm like a couple minutes away. Maybe you could help me with my amplifier issues.

xpl0it
06-28-2006, 07:34 PM
Oh, and my friend's dad, Mr. Peters, works there at that Tom Wood Subaru. I dunno if you know him or not...

PV Audio
06-29-2006, 02:41 PM
Oh, and my friend's dad, Mr. Peters, works there at that Tom Wood Subaru. I dunno if you know him or not...
Unfortunately, I do not. I usually go in and talk to Jeremy. His last name is Ball IIRC.

xpl0it
07-06-2006, 12:53 PM
Ok, I took a couple videos of my system (first and last time). Unfortunately, you can't see really how much damage this does to my car since my digital camera is locked on 15 frames per second, but here it goes...

www.comp-hq.com/system

xpl0it
07-06-2006, 12:54 PM
As of now, I'm starting my frontstage project, and I'm not sure really what I'm going to put up front and in the back, so give me some ideas if you have any. I'm looking to spend 500-750 total on my frontstage.

Rodeo91
07-06-2006, 01:09 PM
Awesome man! Gets me motivated to re-build!

Rodeo91
07-06-2006, 01:25 PM
So was it worth it after all the work? I am thinking of doing a 4 12L7 setup as well.

SBLAZER
07-06-2006, 01:26 PM
looks good, we'll see whos 4 12s is louder ;) there is a marion MECA show this weekend i believe, if u are down, make the trip and ill show u what the L7s suppose to sound like :)

SBLAZER
07-14-2006, 01:09 AM
any update on the setup? vids?

bamaboy
07-14-2006, 01:15 AM
sblazer is your port up or backwards?

9512ds
07-14-2006, 01:18 AM
scott i will probably call yout omorrow to see what you decided to do about the box and about the show on the 29th and set a time to come hear it :cool:

SBLAZER
07-14-2006, 04:27 AM
my port is to the side ;)

xpl0it
07-24-2006, 10:18 PM
any update on the setup? vids?


Not recently since I've gotten my amp to stop going into protect. My rear view mirror is in fact never going back on and something is definitely loose in my roof now. My box's port is still broken about 8 inches down each side and flexes a lot, I'm too lazy to fix it now, I'll probably fix it when I'm home on winter break from IU just before I go to the dominican republic.....ahhh. all I know is this ***** is loud as ****