PDA

View Full Version : need a receiver and plate amp!



springy101
06-19-2006, 04:43 AM
well, i just bought adio's 15" tempest, and i want to make a little 2.1 system in my room. already have some old tower speakers that work fine and i want to build a box for the tempest, just need a plate amp and a receiver, any suggestions? also i might look into doing 5.1 later on.

springy101
06-19-2006, 05:26 AM
cmon, there has to be someone on at 2 in the morning that like home audio!

Crown_amps
06-19-2006, 05:38 AM
lawl get a parts express plate amp they OWN

easy to set up

good power

great price

they dont get hot....imo they get a lil warm but only all **** day on 3/4's volume LOL very good amp for the price

well ,made lil amps good features etc and so on

my 240 watt rms @ 4 ohms amp gives the alpine all the power she needs but i dunno how much power does the tempest draw and what ohm are you gonna run it at?

Crown_amps
06-19-2006, 05:39 AM
someone i forgot who told me to stay away from the white ''slash'' amps on the parts express page [ plate amp section]

the money i spent for my ht amp was the best money i spent ht wise

why go 5.1 when you can get a 2.1 and wire it in so you get 8.1 like me ;p

doesnt hurt the amp if you wire it right fyi

springy101
06-19-2006, 05:48 AM
someone i forgot who told me to stay away from the white ''slash'' amps on the parts express page [ plate amp section]

the money i spent for my ht amp was the best money i spent ht wise

why go 5.1 when you can get a 2.1 and wire it in so you get 8.1 like me ;p

doesnt hurt the amp if you wire it right fyi
oh, i think your talking about bash amps, actually i was just looking at those lol. and if you wire 2.1 to 8.1 im pretty sure you lose surround sound, the same reason why you dont run your front speakers off of a mono amp.

adio
06-19-2006, 10:16 AM
be like me and buy you're amp from rythmik audio

OR

you can get a proamp like an ep2500 or something along those lines and then put the tempest in a smaller box than what i have or put it in a sealed box. the only thing about the sealed box is, i think you would want/need a linkwitz transformer on the amp, so a modification might be needed

joetama
06-19-2006, 11:24 AM
I would say go PE plate amp, and if you really really really didn't want to go with the Behringer. But I would do the plate amp.

Receiver wise, same suggestions I always do. Yamaha RX-V series or Rotel.

springy101
06-19-2006, 01:49 PM
well im pretty much set on my box, 7 ft3 tuned to 18 hz, but should i go with a 250 or 500 watt plate amp?

Crown_amps
06-19-2006, 02:20 PM
well im pretty much set on my box, 7 ft3 tuned to 18 hz, but should i go with a 250 or 500 watt plate amp?

500 it will give you head room for a upgrade

springy101
06-19-2006, 02:30 PM
500 it will give you head room for a upgrade
im not sure if i will ever need to upgrade though, i dont think ill ever get rid of that tempest, it was the first sub i ever really wanted, and searching for it on google sent me to this site for the first time. so me and this sub have some good history goin ;)

springy101
06-19-2006, 02:37 PM
Someones sellin a 250w plate amp in the classifieds.
sweet

edit: where at, cant find it

j3bus2k3
06-19-2006, 05:08 PM
I've got a receiver I used for a small 2.1 setup for my computer...Its a Kenwood VR716.

PV Audio
06-20-2006, 12:52 PM
As already said, the PE amps own. I have four of them, and only one of them has died (my fault though, I gave it a 1 ohm load to see if it could take it. it couldn't :crap: ).

BTW Adio (offtopic), the box isn't 8 cubes, it's less than that :)

adio
06-20-2006, 01:24 PM
As already said, the PE amps own. I have four of them, and only one of them has died (my fault though, I gave it a 1 ohm load to see if it could take it. it couldn't :crap: ).

BTW Adio (offtopic), the box isn't 8 cubes, it's less than that :)
oh shiit, what is it?

joebangaa
06-20-2006, 02:29 PM
i have the 300W version BASH plate amp... PM me if you're interested...

PV Audio
06-20-2006, 03:45 PM
oh shiit, what is it?
Around 7.25 ish, that's what you asked me for lol. 8.5 cubes would have been retarded huge.

adio
06-20-2006, 04:16 PM
Around 7.25 ish, that's what you asked me for lol. 8.5 cubes would have been retarded huge.
oof!! ok, well, it's strill tuned to 18Hz, right??

PV Audio
06-20-2006, 08:24 PM
Nope, sorry :crap:

18.17hz :)

adio
06-21-2006, 09:28 AM
Nope, sorry :crap:

18.17hz :)
i'ma kill you:furious:

PV Audio
06-21-2006, 12:25 PM
I know :emb:

adio
06-21-2006, 10:50 PM
ahahhaahahahaha, dave you fuqin professional snappist!!! hahaahahahhaha

springy101
06-22-2006, 02:04 AM
i would be able to hook up a plate amp to this right? im thinking i might pick this up.

http://cgi.ebay.com/YAMAHA-RX-V670-DOLBY-AV-SURROUND-RECEIVER-NR_W0QQitemZ9744916857QQihZ008QQcategoryZ39801QQrd Z1QQcmdZViewItem

springy101
06-22-2006, 02:31 AM
bump should i get this one and can i hook a plate amp up to it?

springy101
06-22-2006, 03:29 AM
bump

springy101
06-22-2006, 04:42 AM
well i just bought

adio
06-22-2006, 10:42 AM
well i just bought
yes, you can hook up a plate amp to it. as longas the receiver has a 'sub out' out the back ( which are all 5.1 receivers!!) you can do it. congrats

PV Audio
06-22-2006, 11:47 AM
^^^ Aw contrare (FRENCH FTL)


Not all receivers have them, not even alledged 5.1. I have proof of that sitting on the floor. It's an Insignia 6.1 receiver, but has no sub-out.

adio
06-22-2006, 12:28 PM
i cant wait for my reciever ^_^
should be there tommorow:)