PDA

View Full Version : Jensen VM-9311 Unit Help



NightRiderZX2
06-18-2006, 09:26 PM
Hey everyone.
I wish i didn't have to ask for advice to rewire the new unit im getting (because it's replacing everything that was stolen in my car three weeks ago), but I heard about the problems over the years people have had bypassing brake leads to get video to show on their in-dash video systems. The one i had just needed two leads from the head unit connected together instead of to the brake pedal, but this one is more complicated im thinking.

http://i.walmart.com/i/p/00/04/32/58/30/0004325830299_215X215.jpg

Has anyone had experience getting the video to stay on while driving for this unit or similar Jensen Video units? I know there are bypass boxes for Alpine on ebay but was hoping anyone would know of or had experiencing getting this to work for my unit. Thank you!

NightRiderZX2
06-18-2006, 09:29 PM
I just saw the post 3Dflyer had made, so i'm hoping 3Dflyer can help me out. Have you had success in connecting your unit to keep the video constantly on? Thanks man.

rwill2323
09-30-2006, 06:06 PM
All you have to do is add a toggle switch on the groung wire. The ground from the car to the ground on the radio. The radio has to see a sequence of off & on to play constant video.



Hey everyone.
I wish i didn't have to ask for advice to rewire the new unit im getting (because it's replacing everything that was stolen in my car three weeks ago), but I heard about the problems over the years people have had bypassing brake leads to get video to show on their in-dash video systems. The one i had just needed two leads from the head unit connected together instead of to the brake pedal, but this one is more complicated im thinking.

http://i.walmart.com/i/p/00/04/32/58/30/0004325830299_215X215.jpg

Has anyone had experience getting the video to stay on while driving for this unit or similar Jensen Video units? I know there are bypass boxes for Alpine on ebay but was hoping anyone would know of or had experiencing getting this to work for my unit. Thank you!

rwill2323
09-30-2006, 06:09 PM
You hve to put a toggle switch from the ground of the car to the ground on the radio. That radio has to see a sequence of off & on to play constant video.

atoz350
10-03-2006, 03:52 AM
^^ You are right, except that the off, on sequence is timed. When you toggle the e-brake off and on, you have to wait about 2 seconds between switches. If you'd like, do a search on the PAC-TR7 relay used to bypass Alpine units on Ebay. It has the same sequence and can be used for the Jensen if you want an automatic solution.