PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading amp for Z6?



Pimpprotege69
06-14-2006, 05:56 PM
I currently have a JL 300/4 bridged running to my Z6 components. Do you think this is enough power for them? It's about 150 rms I assume to the mid and tweeter.

Anyone have any suggestion as to which amp would match up nicely with the Z6's?

Beat_Dominator
06-14-2006, 05:58 PM
You'll want at least 200 per side on them. I have the older Rally Components and they want more then the 150 I'm givin' em.

alphakenny1
06-14-2006, 06:17 PM
budget?

i would want to throw massive power to those.

Pimpprotege69
06-14-2006, 07:01 PM
Budget around 300, I suppose.

chadillac3
06-14-2006, 10:29 PM
The 300/4 is more than enough power, no matter what people say, for that set.

AllStar1500bd
06-14-2006, 11:53 PM
The 300/4 is more than enough power, no matter what people say, for that set.Wrong.

kthxbye.

chadillac3
06-15-2006, 10:19 AM
I've owned the set. It's not hard to bottom out the mid. It's a good set, don't get me wrong, but people are flat out WRONG to say it "needs" 300 watts per side.

Just because I have 270 posts on here doesn't mean I haven't been around for quite some time. I'd hate for this guy to waste his money on a different amp.

Pimpprotege69
06-15-2006, 11:56 AM
I mean its defintley loud enough, but was wondering if it is indeed the correct amount to let them perform to the best.

chadillac3
06-15-2006, 12:03 PM
The 300/4 will do more like 180-200 per side when bridged. If you're satisified with the volume, you are GOOD TO GO.

alphakenny1
06-15-2006, 01:56 PM
I mean its defintley loud enough, but was wondering if it is indeed the correct amount to let them perform to the best.

hey, if you are happy then thats what matters. i think you don't need to upgrade if you are already happy.

T3mpest
06-15-2006, 08:21 PM
If they are getting loud enough for you then your fine. Your giving them enough power as is that they won't suddenly "wake up" around 250 watts or anything. They'll get louder, but odds are your rarely going to use that extra power. Heck, I'd mess with the install before I'd get a bigger amp, even then only if you feel you have a problem. Id wager most of the people that are telling you to throw 300 watts on them have never heard them with less, or even heard them at all. This is a trendy forum, with Z6's it's a "gotta" throw 300+ at them" stereotype.

Pimpprotege69
06-16-2006, 11:07 PM
Yep, I'm good to go then. Thanks for the help.

Decipha
06-29-2006, 01:21 PM
i only have about 300 i throw at my z6s as well and i fell they can take alot more, also if your woofer is bottoming out you may want to make sure its sealed good, i can throw 300+ at mine and it doesn't no where near bottom out