PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a box, and im going for only Sound Quality!



ArrizX
06-08-2006, 01:33 AM
Okay, first off, this is what im working with.

Two Alpine Type R's (read some other threads, and they just want it loud). I know that these subs are loud as hell, and I dont want the whole car to shake, so because they are loud, im just going to go for SQ.

Mercedes Benz 190E, 1991.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c98/Arrizxx130/1cd2b923.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c98/Arrizxx130/e511399d.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c98/Arrizxx130/9736b04a.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c98/Arrizxx130/a9f22111.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c98/Arrizxx130/f441587f.jpg



So, thats what im working with. And I listen to rap, and all that.

This is what I DO NOT want it to look like..

http://www.caraudio.com/gallery/1/9/5/0/0/both.jpg


I would like it to look something along these lines.. (Only with two subs in it obiously).
actually much rather have it look like one of the bottom two.

http://www.caraudio.com/gallery/2/3/5/6/7/30-Pronto.JPG


http://www.caraudio.com/gallery/1/6/3/6/0/DVC00002.JPG

Hahaha, now thats perfect, I mean the subs I want and all. Now, I would like to do that, because, well thats looks pretty **** cool.... but then again, I really like how this is laied out.

http://www.caraudio.com/gallery/2/4/6/9/8/IMG_0029.JPG

Now, I have heard that people charge to draw up plans for this, so I dont expect anyone to do that.

If someone would just be kind enough to show me what kind of box from here..

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=137804


Remember, rap, and loud but no distortion with all quality, because they are already loud!



Edit-
Another thing to think about is dynamat, or a form of it. How much, if any will I need? Because like I said, I dont want the trunk to shake too much. I mean it can, but I dont want to hear, or even anyone out side to hear a really loud rattle. That gives off a bad image, I think.

Ingleside
06-08-2006, 01:51 AM
if you want to use a plan from that link the box you'll get is going to look like the one in your first example photo.

do you plan on doing everything yourself?

ArrizX
06-08-2006, 01:56 AM
Great.... Well, I dont want it too look like that, so what would I have to do to make it look like one of the other ones...?

Ugg, maybe someone will be nice, and just give me a rough outline, (computer made not phyiscally drawn unless you want too). Or ill take one of those boxes, and ill make a wall or something, just to make it look a bit better. Oh well, just looking for any ideas at all. only request is to make it look nice.

Ingleside
06-08-2006, 02:19 AM
it looks like you want something along the lines of a custom or semi custom job.

typically for a job like that the installer needs to look at the car and make measurements to create custom panels or pieces. it's going to be difficult for someone on the interent to build you something thats made for your car along the lines of what you like (from the thoes photos).

ArrizX
06-08-2006, 02:37 AM
Ill be doing this myself. Im just wondering.. how. I mean im a handy man. So I can build almost anything. Just for it to sound good, thats what im wondering. I can make it look good, but If I dont know how to make the box (to make it sound good) then I cant make it look good. You know what i mean?

yne721
06-08-2006, 02:40 AM
strictly from what i've read on here you're not going to get too much sq with those subs, but it's all subjective anyway

flakko
06-08-2006, 02:43 AM
word choose different subs if you want sq....a single or pair of RL-P's would do you goood real good

what amp you gonna shhh shhs ahhh pushit! with? push it real good!

ArrizX
06-08-2006, 02:53 PM
Err... I mean I dont want them to sound perfect. Its just that im going to try and get the best with what I have. I know those are loud and I like that, and i beleive that I can maintain a bit of SQ with them.

PatFitz9
06-08-2006, 03:03 PM
if you are a handy man, what are you asking? you know what you like, so just build it. if you are going for SQ, build a nice sealed box and fit an amp rack to it. those racks usually aren't part of the box, so just build what you think looks good. i would start with Alpines recommened box size.

ArrizX
06-08-2006, 04:21 PM
Well, as soon as I know how to build the box. Ill do it. I mean okay, sealed got it. Then ill need dimentions and such... Thats what confuses me so badly

ssj2xxgotenxx
06-08-2006, 08:51 PM
strictly from what i've read on here you're not going to get too much sq with those subs, but it's all subjective anyway

For SQ.... JL Audio w6v2 FTW.

PatFitz9
06-08-2006, 09:47 PM
Length x Width x Height... look at alpines website for some size requirements, and design it yourself. it's more fun that way.

DarkFox
06-08-2006, 10:49 PM
all in inches...
Length X with X hight / 1728 = cubic feet

ArrizX
06-08-2006, 11:52 PM
lol thats what im not understanding, the cubic feet thing, any chance i could get something in inches? (yeah im an idiot at times)

also what about walls and such in the boxes, because i know im not just building a box.

yne721
06-09-2006, 10:48 PM
lol thats what im not understanding, the cubic feet thing, any chance i could get something in inches? (yeah im an idiot at times)

also what about walls and such in the boxes, because i know im not just building a box.

there are no walls in a sealed box. (with the exception of maybe bracing?)
it's just six sides.

once you figure out your dimensions, make sure when you make the cuts, you add an extra 1.5'', because for 3/4'' wood, you'd need to account for the thickness of the wood. if that makes sense.

ArrizX
06-10-2006, 02:13 AM
Well its more like an airway.

Like...
http://img23.imageshack.us/my.php?image=32cubes28hz5075sqin6qb.png

http://img30.imageshack.us/my.php?image=32cubes28hz435sqin9pz.png

http://img10.imageshack.us/my.php?image=4cubes32hz65sqin0uu.png

Well the are just the ports I guess? Meh, just getting used to how the bastards are built. Because when said ports, I thought it literally ment a hole in the side. But I guess not, lol :p:

springy101
06-10-2006, 02:24 AM
first off, what size subs are they? unless i missed it i dont think you posted that. if you have 2 12"s i would say 2 cubes each getting 600-800 watts each.

ArrizX
06-10-2006, 02:39 AM
I didnt? ****, im more of an idiot then I knew. Lol

Two Type R 12''. Not sure how much ill be pushing into it. But at least enough to get full potential. I think about 600 Watts a sub.

springy101
06-10-2006, 05:50 PM
1.5-2ft3 each sealed getting 600 watts would be good then

ArrizX
06-11-2006, 12:28 PM
Hmm, thanks :)

Although, I think im going to go sealed. Because, I dont want my car to rattle like none other. I mean I want loud, and I want bump, but yeah.. no shaking. At least not so much that my back window is flexing, and that the center mirror is about to fall off. Although, its really cool when that does shake a bit :cool:

ALthough, what about putting this in a bandpass?