PDA

View Full Version : is 1 inch thick mdf to much?



Masadar
06-05-2006, 09:43 PM
Hey peeps well ive got someone who will make me my sub box but i have to supply the supply's so i was wondering. I can get a huge sheet of mdf for only 5 bucks ( i got mad connections at the local hardware store) but the only problem is its 1 inch thick not 3/4 thick is this going to be a problem?? i didnt think it would be and 5 bucks its a mean price so if itll work id REALLY like to know as that sheet of mdf wont be there forever but they are going to hold it for a day or 2 for me so id love any feed back THANKS:crazy:

ss3079
06-05-2006, 09:50 PM
Go for it.

Just ensure the measurements allow for 1" material to be used and not 3/4".

iamamp3pimp
06-05-2006, 09:51 PM
hells yeah, i'd use a 1 inch sheet if i could.

You can never go too thick....in regards to common sense @ reason

revrider1
06-05-2006, 09:51 PM
Do it.

Masadar
06-05-2006, 10:04 PM
Whoa that was quick Thanks alot guys im off to the hardware store.

iamamp3pimp
06-05-2006, 10:25 PM
go go go

take pics

make a log

supraman1379
06-05-2006, 11:56 PM
Go for it. I would much rather have a box built out of something as thick as 1 inch.

Fast1one
06-06-2006, 12:15 AM
I build my enlosures with three inches of solid concrete.....

But seriously within reason you can go as thick as you please....just means less chance of flexing :)

MrSector9
06-06-2006, 12:17 AM
i use 1" mdf makes for a heavy box but it is solid :)

smd4life
06-06-2006, 12:19 AM
wish i could get that kind of hook up:furious:

ssj2xxgotenxx
06-06-2006, 12:28 AM
1" MDF is the shits....

danteBirosel
06-06-2006, 12:57 AM
**** 1" MDF. the only disadvantage of that is, the enclosure will be HEAVY.


the advantage i see is, NO FLEXING FTW!!!!!!!!!