PDA

View Full Version : Pro Audio Amplifiers ( 1000W+)



Eldorado
06-05-2006, 05:57 AM
*EDIT* Thats 1000W, not 100W
I might be putting my TC 1.5HP 18 inside my house and id like to know what pro audio amplifiers you guys think are good quality and cheap.
Sofar ive looked at behringer EP2500, yamaha P2500S, Nady XA1600,American Audio VLP-1500,samson SX1200 for possible candidates
Id like to keep it in the $300 range. Crown doesnt really have any $300 ish 1kw amps.

boister77
06-05-2006, 06:07 AM
look into the qsc rmx series. we run them at my work and they are very reliable. i would recommend the crown i-tech's but they are way out of your budget.

Eldorado
06-05-2006, 06:25 AM
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/QSC-RMX-850-Power-Amp?sku=481563
this is about the only one thats in my price range and its 830W

thylantyr
06-05-2006, 11:57 AM
One amp, one woofer? What is the woofer impedance?

Do you fear buying used proamps? if not, check ebay, lots of stuff if you
aren't in a hurry.

If you plan to drive 4 ohm bridged, then RMX1850HD is probably the best
bang for buck, fine one used.

If you plan to drive 8 ohm bridged, the EP2500 might give you the best
bang for buck in this situation... because

EP2500 is RMX2450 clone with smaller transformer which gives less power at lowest
rated impedance.

RMX1850HD = RMX2450 but has lower power supply rail voltage, hence lower
power rating and it won't go into thermal protect as quick, hence the HD {heavy duty}
moniker {Lewinsky}.

Beat_Dominator
06-05-2006, 12:39 PM
QSC, Crown, Hafler ($$$), Carver.... Ebay has some real deals on em.

Eldorado
06-05-2006, 08:02 PM
One amp, one woofer? What is the woofer impedance?

Do you fear buying used proamps? if not, check ebay, lots of stuff if you
aren't in a hurry.

If you plan to drive 4 ohm bridged, then RMX1850HD is probably the best
bang for buck, fine one used.

If you plan to drive 8 ohm bridged, the EP2500 might give you the best
bang for buck in this situation... because

EP2500 is RMX2450 clone with smaller transformer which gives less power at lowest
rated impedance.

RMX1850HD = RMX2450 but has lower power supply rail voltage, hence lower
power rating and it won't go into thermal protect as quick, hence the HD {heavy duty}
moniker {Lewinsky}.
TC 1.5HP 18, only comes one way :p: ( dual 2)
I checked ebay, didnt find a whole lot.
or im either looking wrong

adio
06-06-2006, 09:33 AM
sorry to thread jack el,
but hey fellas, you know that piece that you can add onto amps that power subs in sealed boxes?? i forget the name of them but they help lower the f3 of the sealed boxes. my question is how low do they go?? in other words, i heard ppl say you can add this to the amp to drop the tuning down to such-n-such Hz ( usally 20Hz) but can you go deeper than that??

Beat_Dominator
06-06-2006, 12:20 PM
It's not possible to lower the f3 of a box through the amplifier. You can extend the response with an eq....

thylantyr
06-06-2006, 01:03 PM
sorry to thread jack el,
but hey fellas, you know that piece that you can add onto amps that power subs in sealed boxes?? i forget the name of them but they help lower the f3 of the sealed boxes. my question is how low do they go?? in other words, i heard ppl say you can add this to the amp to drop the tuning down to such-n-such Hz ( usally 20Hz) but can you go deeper than that??

Linkwitz Transform?

Fancy EQ.

When you EQ, you will push more excursion and draw more power. There is
drawbacks.

I'd rather just make a ported box if your woofer of choice allows.

thylantyr
06-06-2006, 01:09 PM
TC 1.5HP 18, only comes one way :p: ( dual 2)
I checked ebay, didnt find a whole lot.
or im either looking wrong

1 ohm or 4 ohm.

Aside from plate amps, if proamp, you do 4 ohm wiring and run the proamp
in bridged mode. That would be sweet.

Ebay keyword searching

EP2500

I see many listed. Cheapest, buy it now for $255

QSC RMX

RMX2450 buy it now $425 {used}
.. a few more

RMX1850HD - buy it now for $379 <--- good snag
http://cgi.ebay.com/QSC-RMX-1850HD-Power-Amplifier_W0QQitemZ7420093703QQcategoryZ23787QQrdZ 1QQcmdZViewItem


If your budget is higher, more choices.

joetama
06-06-2006, 01:40 PM
Check out http://www.soundbroker.com. (http://www.soundbroker.com)

There are usually pro audio companies trying to off some old but good used equipment. Sometimes you can find some really good deals on stuff...

adio
06-06-2006, 01:50 PM
Linkwitz Transform?

Fancy EQ.

When you EQ, you will push more excursion and draw more power. There is
drawbacks.

I'd rather just make a ported box if your woofer of choice allows.
there we go :) bought it up cause i want to know how deep these can extend the frequency of your sub. plus, with a ep2500 or something along those lines, i think that would be enough power for a sealed, no?

adio
06-06-2006, 01:51 PM
1 ohm or 4 ohm.

Aside from plate amps, if proamp, you do 4 ohm wiring and run the proamp
in bridged mode. That would be sweet.

Ebay keyword searching

EP2500

I see many listed. Cheapest, buy it now for $255

QSC RMX

RMX2450 buy it now $425 {used}
.. a few more

RMX1850HD - buy it now for $379 <--- good snag
http://cgi.ebay.com/QSC-RMX-1850HD-Power-Amplifier_W0QQitemZ7420093703QQcategoryZ23787QQrdZ 1QQcmdZViewItem


If your budget is higher, more choices.
thy, can u hook these up to a regular 5.1 receiver? do you just hook it up to the 'sub out' on the back of your receiver?

Beat_Dominator
06-06-2006, 02:21 PM
You need a receiver with a pre-out that's full range. Sub outs rarely have the option of full range audio..... but if you wanted to just hook up a pro-audio amp AS a sub amp it would work well.

adio
06-06-2006, 02:32 PM
You need a receiver with a pre-out that's full range. Sub outs rarely have the option of full range audio..... but if you wanted to just hook up a pro-audio amp AS a sub amp it would work well.
really?? just hook it u like u would a plate amp?

Beat_Dominator
06-06-2006, 02:42 PM
Exactly :p:

ballstothewall
06-06-2006, 03:41 PM
really?? just hook it u like u would a plate amp?

The only issues you have then is that you have no filters on the pro audio gear. The behringer has a 50hz and a 10hz low pass filter built in, and thats it.

Beat_Dominator
06-06-2006, 03:46 PM
His receiver should have a sub-out x-over built in.

ballstothewall
06-06-2006, 03:48 PM
His receiver should have a sub-out x-over built in.

Ahhh ok.

Your also gonna need some of these.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=NavBar&A=search&Q=&ci=4201

Eldorado
06-06-2006, 07:52 PM
1 ohm or 4 ohm.

Aside from plate amps, if proamp, you do 4 ohm wiring and run the proamp
in bridged mode. That would be sweet.

Ebay keyword searching

EP2500

I see many listed. Cheapest, buy it now for $255

QSC RMX

RMX2450 buy it now $425 {used}
.. a few more

RMX1850HD - buy it now for $379 <--- good snag
http://cgi.ebay.com/QSC-RMX-1850HD-Power-Amplifier_W0QQitemZ7420093703QQcategoryZ23787QQrdZ 1QQcmdZViewItem


If your budget is higher, more choices.
Prob get the behringer then.
Im cheap :p:

Eldorado
06-06-2006, 07:53 PM
Ahhh ok.

Your also gonna need some of these.
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=NavBar&A=search&Q=&ci=4201
Yep
I was wondering how much better those are vs the 1/4" phono plugs

Beat_Dominator
06-08-2006, 12:47 AM
1/4" are ok but the sockets get dirty easier.

Eldorado
06-08-2006, 12:52 AM
dirty sockets ?

Beat_Dominator
06-08-2006, 12:55 AM
:word:

ngsm13
06-08-2006, 01:14 AM
I recommend you NOT be a n00bx. ;)

nG

joetama
06-08-2006, 03:20 AM
I have been dealing with pro-audio gear my entire life, most of which is tour gear getting moved from one venue to another including "paging" gear used at motor sport events(NASCAR, Motocross, Tractor Pulls, Dirt Track Races, etc), festivals and the like. Some of these places are the dirtiest places on earth and I have YET to deal with a 1/4 inch that got so "dirty" it caused any sort of problem....

It's a myth. The only gain you get with XLR is that it is balanced. Which some 1/4 is actually balanced. The only real problem is if you have RCA outs on your source and you are adapting to XLR with out a true impedance transformer or isolation transformer. But this being said you can adapt a million times and not have an issue, but it’s still not balanced correctly which can cause; you guessed it, ground loops…..
BZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

thylantyr
06-08-2006, 12:11 PM
The silly reason I like XLR over 1/4" is.

1. Looks cool.

2. contact pins are surround by the housing, the 1/4" plug the contact pins are exposed and people will get their greasy fingers on them.

3. what if some dork took that 1/4" plug and tried to insert it into a hole with electricity, you can damage the unit.

/ha

Beat_Dominator
06-08-2006, 12:22 PM
I have been dealing with pro-audio gear my entire life, most of which is tour gear getting moved from one venue to another including "paging" gear used at motor sport events(NASCAR, Motocross, Tractor Pulls, Dirt Track Races, etc), festivals and the like. Some of these places are the dirtiest places on earth and I have YET to deal with a 1/4 inch that got so "dirty" it caused any sort of problem....

It's a myth. The only gain you get with XLR is that it is balanced. Which some 1/4 is actually balanced. The only real problem is if you have RCA outs on your source and you are adapting to XLR with out a true impedance transformer or isolation transformer. But this being said you can adapt a million times and not have an issue, but it’s still not balanced correctly which can cause; you guessed it, ground loops…..
BZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ


A few times I've inserted a TRS into it's housing and gotten horrible noise. Solution: pump it in and out like a ween0r and it works.

joetama
06-09-2006, 06:26 AM
A few times I've inserted a TRS into it's housing and gotten horrible noise. Solution: pump it in and out like a ween0r and it works.

But the "dirt" or connection noise only occurs when you take the plug in and out if you always leave it in there then you will never (i use this word with caution) have an issue...

I can think of a lot better reasons to use XLR than the "dirt" from the connection....

Beat_Dominator
06-09-2006, 12:23 PM
Well yes but dirt is crappy.