PDA

View Full Version : Think Kicker's plans are off :-/



hoodkid
05-09-2006, 09:56 PM
http://img184.imageshack.us/my.php?image=kickerbox0zi.jpg

This is one of kicker plans, the port is 14 1/2 long by 3 inches, the tuning should be 37, but when i showed this to someone they caculated a tuning of 41, Is this plan off?:eyebrow:

iamamp3pimp
05-10-2006, 06:27 AM
I show 37.88 until yu take end correction into account.
Kicker is good. your boys program is broken

hoodkid
05-10-2006, 06:47 AM
figured :rolleyes:

vetkilr
05-10-2006, 08:33 AM
I show 37.88 until yu take end correction into account.
Kicker is good. your boys program is broken
How did you come to this conclusion???

What cubes and total port area.

vetkilr
05-10-2006, 08:39 AM
3" wide
13.25 High
14.5 deep
on a 3.25cuft box=40-41hz

Anyone else.

hoodkid
05-10-2006, 03:16 PM
I think he's right too :(

vetkilr
05-10-2006, 03:39 PM
really:rolleyes:

xpl0it
05-10-2006, 03:41 PM
hoodkid, your avatar is aggitating.

tommyk90
05-10-2006, 03:46 PM
I got 41 hz as well, using my spreadsheet program.

TypeRBass
05-10-2006, 03:58 PM
I got 41 hz as well, using my spreadsheet program.
i also got 41hz using my Portacalc.

vetkilr
05-10-2006, 04:00 PM
I got 41 hz as well, using my spreadsheet program.

figured :rolleyes:

really

iamamp3pimp
05-10-2006, 04:20 PM
I used winisd and i got what i said earlier.

tommyk90
05-10-2006, 04:22 PM
I used winisd and i got what i said earlier.

WinISD doesn't calculate sub or port displacement.

vetkilr
05-10-2006, 04:45 PM
WinISD doesn't calculate sub or port displacement.
What do you use Bro.

tommyk90
05-10-2006, 05:26 PM
What do you use Bro.

I use an excel spreadsheet that i made.

iamamp3pimp
05-10-2006, 07:26 PM
I had that spreadsheet.

Youre saying that if i put 3.0 cubic feet into winisd as the box volume.......it is gross, and not net? ar far as the port displacement goes?, and then create a porrt displacement, it is all contained within that 3.0 cubic feet?

tommyk90
05-10-2006, 10:44 PM
I had that spreadsheet.

Youre saying that if i put 3.0 cubic feet into winisd as the box volume.......it is gross, and not net? ar far as the port displacement goes?, and then create a porrt displacement, it is all contained within that 3.0 cubic feet?

winISD calculates the port tuning for a GROSS box, it does NOT factor in the displacement of the port you put into it. Thus, the only time that winISD is accurate with the tuning is if the port is not inside the box (i.e. external ports).


And you don't have my spreadsheet seeing as I made it. :)

iamamp3pimp
05-11-2006, 03:54 AM
winISD calculates the port tuning for a GROSS box, it does NOT factor in the displacement of the port you put into it. Thus, the only time that winISD is accurate with the tuning is if the port is not inside the box (i.e. external ports).


And you don't have my spreadsheet seeing as I made it. :)



i had one...i thought it was yours, but i could be wrong.

so winisd calculates gross volume.......I did not kno that
I thought the ft^3 that you put in the front, was net.

tommyk90
05-11-2006, 12:43 PM
i had one...i thought it was yours, but i could be wrong.

so winisd calculates gross volume.......I did not kno that
I thought the ft^3 that you put in the front, was net.

Well, since i never gave mine out, i don't think it's mine. :)

And nope, winISD does not factor in port or sub displacement. Hence why i used to figure out boxes with a combination of paper and winISD.

hoodkid
05-11-2006, 03:04 PM
Well, since i never gave mine out, i don't think it's mine. :)

And nope, winISD does not factor in port or sub displacement. Hence why i used to figure out boxes with a combination of paper and winISD.

SO are kicker's plans off?

tommyk90
05-11-2006, 03:05 PM
SO are kicker's plans off?

As far as I (and a few other people) can tell, yes.

vetkilr
05-11-2006, 03:12 PM
SO are kicker's plans off?

Heres your Sign:yes:

hoodkid
05-11-2006, 03:17 PM
so the box i build is basically trash, and money wasted, I'm sue'in kicker for this :crap:

vetkilr
05-11-2006, 03:21 PM
Good SPL box

hoodkid
05-11-2006, 03:24 PM
I have no need for a spl box, I dont have plans for any comps or anything, just guess i just wasted $30 dollars

hoodkid
05-11-2006, 03:25 PM
I'm thinkin I should do 2.5 @ 36 or 3.5 @ 36 cant decide though

tommyk90
05-11-2006, 03:35 PM
It didn't necessarily go COMPLETELY to waste. I'd still try it out in your car; once a box is in the car, things may change completely.

Another option would be for you to change the length of the port. I did some calculations, and if you change the port length to 24", then it would drop the tuning down to 35 hz.

hoodkid
05-11-2006, 08:57 PM
My previous box was 2.95 @ 34hz and sounds way better, but making the port longer wouldn't that be almost impossible? I mean trying to get another peice of wood in there and all of that?

tommyk90
05-11-2006, 08:59 PM
My previous box was 2.95 @ 34hz and sounds way better, but making the port longer wouldn't that be almost impossible? I mean trying to get another peice of wood in there and all of that?

It would be difficult, but not impossible.

hoodkid
05-11-2006, 09:10 PM
It would be difficult, but not impossible.

I'll just sell the box locally, and just build another one, I wasn't satisfied enough anyways