PDA

View Full Version : need help deciding on home audio setup



pimpedout97x
05-08-2006, 11:48 PM
ok...im lookin at this amp right here for my room. http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=248-745

700wrms x 2 @ 2 ohm or 1400wrms x 1 @ 4 ohm(bridged)

first off, before i go any further, is that too much power for subs in a room? keep in mind, this is NOT for movies/tv at all. its strictly for rap music only, hooked up to my stereo reciever. i was just really loud bass in my room. so please no one tell me to "just buy a home theater system"

second, if thats just too much power and its like pointless to have it in a room, how much power u think i should have? im doing 2 18" MT's in my car, so you can tell i just like loud bass.

ill see what people post from this, and then ill post the rest of my questions. thanks in advance.

TreyE
05-08-2006, 11:54 PM
http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/8501/i65667594325895cu.gif (http://imageshack.us)

pimpedout97x
05-08-2006, 11:57 PM
trey, please

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v171/pimpedout92x/gtforly.jpg

continue with thread please =)

Scoobydoo
05-09-2006, 12:13 AM
what subs are you gonna run?

if they can handle the power the Europower is a good amp for the price

also if you pricematch parts express at musicians friend they offer free shipping so you can save a few bucks

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Live/Sound/Power/Amps?sku=480696

pimpedout97x
05-09-2006, 12:36 AM
that was the next question lol...what subs do u think i should run? my friend(trey, the moron above with the pickle lol) suggested 2 12" se's sealed...i dont wanna spend TOO much, also dont want stuff like L7's that need bigger boxes to get em going properly...

suggestions please =)

thanks for the link btw...

ballstothewall
05-09-2006, 01:25 AM
What is your preamp and source?

****, dual SE's, thats gonna be stupidly loud I think...

pimpedout97x
05-09-2006, 07:26 AM
preamp and source...im a noOb lol...whats that? my stereo reciever?

TreyE
05-09-2006, 08:08 AM
preamp and source...im a noOb lol...whats that? my stereo reciever?

yea im pretty sure...:spam:

joetama
05-09-2006, 11:53 AM
That's going to be really loud if you run dual SE's. But, I guess you want loud and there is nothing wrong with loud lol.......

What is the rest of your system?

Scoobydoo
05-09-2006, 03:46 PM
your gonna need a sub out on your receiver

amartin_72
05-09-2006, 03:49 PM
I am running a Rockford 1000WRMS at 2ohm on my type-r 12 and it shakes the electrical wires and plumbing in my walls. DONT do a sweep from 100hz to 10, everthing in your house will fall over. I am running mine off of a small bank of gel deep cycle batteries

pimpedout97x
05-09-2006, 03:53 PM
lmao...howd u hook up the car amp in ur house?

and scooby...cant i hook the sub to the amp, and the amp to the reciever? ill get a pic of the back of the reciever and post it later...its an old one but works really good

Scoobydoo
05-09-2006, 04:20 PM
the receiver needs a rca sub output on it home theater components cant use line level like car audio can, you need something with a crossover

then you use a single into dual rca splitter into the amp for right and left, then run the speaker wire to the subs

j3bus2k3
05-09-2006, 04:26 PM
That amp doesnt have RCA inputs....its XLR.

Scoobydoo
05-09-2006, 04:37 PM
That amp doesnt have RCA inputs....its XLR.

oh, lol didnt even look, that makes it even more complicated, maybe they make a rca/xlr adapter?

ballstothewall
05-09-2006, 04:46 PM
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?A=search&ci=4201&kw=4201&Q=&O=NavBar

pimpedout97x
05-09-2006, 05:11 PM
so ill need that cable to hook the amp up? what all will i need besides that?

ballstothewall
05-09-2006, 05:38 PM
Well, since your gonna be running that for a sub amp your going to need a crossover. The cheapest ones ar ethe Behringer CX 2310, also ART and RANE make/made ones that are basically the same as the behringer on ebay for around 50-80 bucks. You HAVE to get a crossover with a SUB OUT on it too.

What is your main amp?? What are your mains??

You might consider getting a ****** plate amp instead of going rack gear, cause once you get the amp, then your needin a crossover, then your gettin a preamp to up the voltage to pro audio levels where the amps are made to run. Then end up doing what I did and just going full rack gear... All because you wanted a **** crossover... hehe

j3bus2k3
05-09-2006, 05:40 PM
Just get the 1000W plate off PE...and run a monster 15" woofer. More than likely your going to be impressed...

joetama
05-09-2006, 05:44 PM
Just get the 1000W plate off PE...and run a monster 15" woofer. More than likely your going to be impressed...

Agree that would prolly be one of the easiest ways to do that....

pimpedout97x
05-09-2006, 05:54 PM
so the dayton hpsa1000 i wont need all that extra crap(cable, xover, etc...?)

what sub would yall run with that amp? tryin to stay under 500 bux kinda for the amp/sub.

brandontw
05-09-2006, 07:02 PM
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=300-808 (http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=295-420)
+
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=295-420
=
:wowflash:

pimpedout97x
05-09-2006, 08:21 PM
sub + sub = wow???? lol wtf

how does that sub sound anyways? is it good?

TreyE
05-09-2006, 09:34 PM
sub + sub = wow???? lol wtf

how does that sub sound anyways? is it good?

it sounds like pffffboooooooommmmmoooohhhhzzzoooouuhh:moon:

pimpedout97x
05-09-2006, 11:12 PM
cant decide between the Dayton Titaic MKIII 15" or a 12/15" 05 type R....help me out!

TreyE
05-09-2006, 11:13 PM
cant decide between the Dayton Titaic MKIII 15" or a 12/15" 05 type R....help me out!

i dont think you meant to put in that 12" for the Type R did you?:eyebrow:

pimpedout97x
05-09-2006, 11:13 PM
indeed i did.

TreyE
05-09-2006, 11:24 PM
indeed i did.

no i dont think you understand...you didnt..oh and what if i looked like that --->:wacky:


PS - Dont say i already do...already thought of that comeback

brandontw
05-10-2006, 05:02 PM
sub + sub = wow???? lol wtf

how does that sub sound anyways? is it good?

OOPS WTF?!?!

It was supposed to be your 1000 watt plate amp.

Ive heard great things about that sub, im sure it would out perform a type R 12 no problem

TreyE
05-10-2006, 10:36 PM
OOPS WTF?!?!

It was supposed to be your 1000 watt plate amp.

Ive heard great things about that sub, im sure it would out perform a type R 12 no problem

what about a type R 15??:eyebrow:

Bolognablake
05-11-2006, 12:14 AM
what about a type R 15??:eyebrow:

The Type R may have a slight edge in output, but the Dayton will destroy it with SQ and low-end.

j3bus2k3
05-11-2006, 12:33 AM
I dont know the real mechanics behind a driver but I would say one thats designed to play in the open environment like a room would have the edge when used like so compares to the type-r, a driver designed to work in the mobile audio area...but then again, I'm no expert. Bottom line though, that dayton 12" High Output woofer with the 1000w plate amp would be my baby in an instant if I had the money right now....

pimpedout97x
05-11-2006, 12:56 AM
im deff doin the amp, prally will end up doing the sub too, i wanna order it tonite so it can get started on its way to my house! =)

Scoobydoo
05-14-2006, 07:46 PM
if you arent using a sub out on a receiver using a plate amp is definately easier, you could use the "tape" out on the receiver as usually that sends the signal through no matter what mode it is in

these subs kick ***, look great and are a great value:

http://yellow.mynethost.com/~bv126368/shop/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=53&osCsid=e17249e9728b37e89e41dbe74446a1d5

dual sub, single enclosure use this amp:

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=300-808

dual sub, two enclosures use two of these:

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=300-752