PDA

View Full Version : Box build Question, port



imaspaceguy90
05-05-2006, 10:09 PM
Hey guys, im going to be gettin a 12" Team rockford sub, i was tlaking to tony, who has turned out to be one of the coolest guys i kno, and he said that an 6" aireo port would be good for the space i have. I have around 3cuft to make the box, woudl u suggest doing an aeroport for muh box or is there anotehr porting feture that i would be better off with, i would prolly tune to low to mid 30's.

Beat_Dominator
05-05-2006, 10:11 PM
2 4" ports would be plenty. If you have constrained dimensions, a slot port might be the way to go.

imaspaceguy90
05-05-2006, 10:13 PM
I have a slot port right now, its pretty good, ive never used aeroports, so im wonderin if there may be an advatage with aeros.

Beat_Dominator
05-05-2006, 10:15 PM
Not much of an advantage. Technically speaking, there should be less friction between the walls of the port and the air in it with an aero, but it's really not a factor.

imaspaceguy90
05-05-2006, 10:19 PM
How would u tune an aero box tho? i kno it dpeends on the length of the port, so where is this equation to figure out the length it needs to be?

Beat_Dominator
05-05-2006, 10:22 PM
the Diy sub page has it.... (search DIY subwoofer on google). It's a combination of port area, length, and tuneing freq.... and some other junk like the density of air.

imaspaceguy90
05-05-2006, 10:29 PM
OK, thanx man!