PDA

View Full Version : My Box Design



JimBo930
05-04-2006, 12:55 AM
I tried to build this box to spec. It is for a 10" Type R
I had trouble with the port thou and i dont know if the one i designed will work, the dimensions of the box are Width 22.5, Height 11", Depth 13". The port the manuel said to make was 11"{Height}, 1"{Width}, By 22"{Length}
I had to change the port values because of the height of my box and where i wanted to place the port.

http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j120/JimBo930/TestFront.jpg
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j120/JimBo930/Inside3.jpg
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j120/JimBo930/Measurments.jpg

Input would be very helpful

dalucifer
05-04-2006, 12:59 AM
port seems weird, thats just me tho..

JimBo930
05-04-2006, 01:01 AM
I agree, what how should i tackle this problem?

Bolognablake
05-04-2006, 10:18 AM
Have you thought about using a single 4" areoport, and changing the box design a little bit?

Pop da Hatch
05-04-2006, 10:31 AM
Run the port from bottom piece to top piece - really no reason to have it set up like you do. otherwise use one 6" aero.

JimBo930
05-04-2006, 03:00 PM
well the alpine specs said that the vent should be 11" X 1", and the tallest port i could fit was 9.5, so i thought if i had the same amount of area the port would perform the same, i went 5.5" X 2". I havent thought about aero ports. What do you guys think i should do?

djman37
05-04-2006, 03:06 PM
well the alpine specs said that the vent should be 11" X 1", and the tallest port i could fit was 9.5, so i thought if i had the same amount of area the port would perform the same, i went 5.5" X 2". I havent thought about aero ports. What do you guys think i should do?

6" AERO's are expensive and too big for 1 10" driver.
the hole for the flare and the driver hole would be almost the same size! 8.78" for aeros.
11x1 sounds small, but i'm no judge for a 10" driver.
maybe plug your specs in here http://www.accelerator-pedal.com/ported-box.asp and see what ya get.

Pop da Hatch
05-04-2006, 05:08 PM
well the alpine specs said that the vent should be 11" X 1", and the tallest port i could fit was 9.5, so i thought if i had the same amount of area the port would perform the same, i went 5.5" X 2". I havent thought about aero ports. What do you guys think i should do?

well man **** like **** it haha:crazy:

But yeah you dont need to make it 5.5 x 2 run the port from the top to the bottom then just calculate the total area that the "specs" call for.

vorgath
05-04-2006, 07:34 PM
Kewlness, now what software did you use for that ?

Is this box going to go right in on the very bottom of the well ? You're not going to follow the lines of the trunk ? (Which is a ***** to do, follow these lines, phew **** lol)

PhatTonyDeMarco
05-04-2006, 07:38 PM
Make the port 9.5" tall x 2.25" wide and keep the 13" length.

vetkilr
05-04-2006, 07:45 PM
Box is only 1 cuft or so after the sub/port displacement is taken out.

It will sound like a POS in this box.

My 2 10 Type r's didnt sound that great in a 1.25cuft box sealed each so I would guess you need 1.75 to 2.0cuft for a single 10 ported,and around 20-30sqin of port for a nice soundin setup.
Im not a type R expert and there are more guys here that have used them but I didnt like mine and I heard they like air.
Hope this helps some.

prochobo
05-04-2006, 08:17 PM
I say use 1 4" aero.

JimBo930
05-04-2006, 10:47 PM
Modified Box Design, Check it.
http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j120/JimBo930/NewNewBoxDesign.jpg
Net Volume - 1.22 Ft Cubed
Tuned to - 36 Hz
Port now goes to the top of the box

And ya Vorgath its going to go to the bottom of the well, *fingers crossed*
also i used Google Sketchup, free download baby :D

djman37
05-04-2006, 11:12 PM
google bought sketchup? whoda thunk?

design looks more *traditional*.


edited.

JimBo930
05-04-2006, 11:22 PM
what do you mean?

djman37
05-04-2006, 11:31 PM
what do you mean?
i didn't know google was involved with sketchup.

JimBo930
05-04-2006, 11:38 PM
no i meant what do you mean by the box looks fimiliar, did you make one like it in the past?

djman37
05-05-2006, 09:48 AM
no i meant what do you mean by the box looks fimiliar, did you make one like it in the past?

no, i mean it looks more like what everyone else does.

vorgath
05-05-2006, 07:39 PM
1.22 cubic foot, hmmm you might be able to fit it into the well yes, but not the very very bottom of it, my box's 0.75 and it takes up almost that space right now.

Waow, 1.22 cubic foot, that's small for a 10. **** *lol* mine requires 1.75 cubic foot when I'll make the ported box.

JimBo930
05-05-2006, 11:42 PM
thats net thou, the specs for the type r is like 1 F cubed, and im at 1.22 so it should be all good
if need be i can make it bigger.

vorgath
05-06-2006, 12:01 AM
That's pretty darn awesome, kewlness.

I'm thinking of building the box as big as I can fit in, and if it's too big on the inside (on paper that is), I'll just add more bracing and use a big port or two

JimBo930
05-06-2006, 02:48 AM
sounds good, my box should be done by monday, i will post pics

vorgath
05-06-2006, 06:31 PM
Oh I'll be waiting to see the pics, thats for sure. Anytime someone posts pic of a box made for 3rdGen, I'm ready to see it, because of the way our trunks are.