05-01-2006, 06:57 PM
Im a newb and had no idea how indepth audio goes. My setup right now is

1 DA D610D4
PA VX900D @ 2ohm load
1 Farad Cap
Kenwood DDX-7017
Pioneer 6x8 - Not amped.

Im pushing about 650W rms

I recently had a custom box made for my lightning. Its a single 10" downfiring box. What is the easiest way to determing the freq the box is tuned for?

SVTLightning01
05-01-2006, 07:56 PM
Using an online calc, i determined the box to be 1.87 cu. ft. Now my question is, after i determine how long/wide the port is, how does it affect internal volume of the box? DO i subtract it from total box volume?

watts
05-01-2006, 08:09 PM
You need to add the the volume that the driver occupies (magnet structure and cone assembly) and volume of the port (You need to include the wall thickness of the port.) to the 1.87 ft^3. This will give you your total box volume.

SVTLightning01
05-01-2006, 08:16 PM
Its looking like my box is way to big for the sub im using. DA recommends 1.25 cu. ft. Doesnt look like im anywhere close. How much of an affect will the extra space have on sound?

watts
05-01-2006, 08:21 PM
You might be able to turn it to your advantage depending on how far off you are. You may be able to extend the port and extend the low frequency response. If you are building something you want hit super low and hard for around town you may be able to make what is called a extended bass shelf alignment but I am not entirely sure you have gone wrong. where can I find the specs for your drivers. who makes them and what model are they.

Where did the 1.87 ft^3 come from? The total volume shold be Total Box Volume=1.25ft^3+(Cone & Magnet Structure)ft^3+(Port Volume)ft^3

You should use 1.25ft^3 for the volume in your port calcs.

Check with the manufacture for the cone and magnet structure volume.

SVTLightning01
05-01-2006, 08:38 PM
www.diamondaudio.com i have a d610d4 (10" DVC 4 ohm)

Edited for wrong url.

SVTLightning01
05-01-2006, 08:47 PM