PDA

View Full Version : Getting aeroports to stay without screws...



Raisedin305
04-28-2006, 09:13 PM
What kind of glue do you need to use in order to get this stuff to stay in place??!!:crap: I have tried wood glue, pvc cement, contact cement and none can get the job done...any suggestions??

PhatTonyDeMarco
04-28-2006, 09:14 PM
Liquid Nails?

You could Bondo them in, or fiberglass, that would hold rather well.

Raisedin305
04-28-2006, 09:16 PM
Liquid Nails?

You could Bondo them in, or fiberglass, that would hold rather well.Haven't tried liquid nails yet...ima try that in about 30mins

PhatTonyDeMarco
04-28-2006, 09:17 PM
Haven't tried liquid nails yet...ima try them in about 30mins

Any pics of the current box? Curious to see how its turning out for ya...

Raisedin305
04-28-2006, 09:17 PM
Any pics of the current box? Curious to see how its turning out for ya...Nah none yet. Ill get some in a little

Johnny Drama
04-28-2006, 09:21 PM
Big black (ock

mazdakid
04-28-2006, 10:46 PM
why cant you just use screws?

InhumanAcura
04-28-2006, 10:52 PM
we used ca glue..but our aerports werent the ghetto versions, lol j/k but seriously, lol..

Raisedin305
04-28-2006, 11:15 PM
we used ca glue..but our aerports werent the ghetto versions, lol j/k but seriously, lol..:laugh: I got mine off of mark from team phat hertz.

Raisedin305
04-28-2006, 11:16 PM
why cant you just use screws?It came with no screw holes and it's meant to be glued on not screwed. I think it wouldn't hold because the flare isn't wide enough for a screw.

InhumanAcura
04-28-2006, 11:19 PM
:laugh: I got mine off of mark from team phat hertz.

i know ;)

edit : meh, might as well help..you could use a screw with a large flat head..just drill the pilot holes right up against the "aeroport"... screw em down and use the head of the screws to hold the flange in place.

davidfre21
04-28-2006, 11:20 PM
try a screw with a washer to catch the edge of the port flare...

But yea like what matt said ours werent ghetto, there was atleast a flange on it

Raisedin305
04-28-2006, 11:21 PM
i know ;)

edit : meh, might as well help..you could use a screw with a large flat head..just drill the pilot holes right up against the "aeroport":laugh: Ive noticed a lot of people dislike him and/or the way he works.

Raisedin305
04-28-2006, 11:21 PM
try a screw with a washer to catch the edge of the port flare...

But yea like what matt said ours werent ghetto, there was atleast a flange on it
I tried using liquid nail like phatony, suggested and it worked good.

davidfre21
04-28-2006, 11:26 PM
I tried using liquid nail like phatony, suggested and it worked good.
now its not gonna come out in one piece :)

InhumanAcura
04-28-2006, 11:27 PM
:laugh: Ive noticed a lot of people dislike him and/or the way he works.

if anyone else made them, theyde be cool...but they ****, so..:D

saywhat?
04-28-2006, 11:28 PM
wasted money ftw!

tommyk90
04-28-2006, 11:32 PM
i know ;)

edit : meh, might as well help..you could use a screw with a large flat head..just drill the pilot holes right up against the "aeroport"... screw em down and use the head of the screws to hold the flange in place.

x2. Thats the way they are designed to be mounted, though you could use some really hard curing glue (like the mentioned ca glue, or possibly gorilla glue, just be careful of the expansion).

http://members.aol.com/JCWJuggalo6/system/03.jpg

Just find some screwheads like those (i believe he got those at home depot). Set the port in, mark some holes right on the outer edge of the port (on the MDF), then predrill some holes. That seems to be the easiest (and strongest) way to mount them.

I'm not the kind of person to pay an extra $20 for a port just to get a little flange that really isn't all that necessary. :)

InhumanAcura
04-28-2006, 11:35 PM
the real aeroports look to have a much larger flare to me..they dont have a mounting flare, but they have some pieces of plastic coming off the back that make it really easy.

tommyk90
04-28-2006, 11:47 PM
the real aeroports look to have a much larger flare to me..they dont have a mounting flare, but they have some pieces of plastic coming off the back that make it really easy.

Do you know what the overall diameter of the other 6" ports is?

I'm curious myself. :)

davidfre21
04-28-2006, 11:49 PM
I'm not the kind of person to pay an extra $20 for a port just to get a little flange that really isn't all that necessary. :)
so mark is selling these for $30 each?

And the $20 extra is worth it when u are able to adjust the length freely to have it meet any tuning needs :) , plus the big flange is cool:cool:

davidfre21
04-28-2006, 11:51 PM
Do you know what the overall diameter of the other 6" ports is?

I'm curious myself. :)
its was either right around 8 or right around 9, i cant remember what we set the router to for countersinkin it :crap:

tommyk90
04-28-2006, 11:52 PM
so mark is selling these for $30 each?

And the $20 extra is worth it when u are able to adjust the length freely to have it meet any tuning needs :) , plus the big flange is cool:cool:

They can either be 1-piece or 3-piece with couplers. ;)


its was either right around 8 or right around 9, i cant remember what we set the router to for countersinkin it :crap:

The TCAB ones are 9" overall, with a 8.25" cutout (and a 3/8" roundover)

davidfre21
04-28-2006, 11:55 PM
3-piece with couplers. ;)
Touche, so they are $30 each though?

Hmm maybe ill end up with one of these if i cant talk matt out of one of his...

tommyk90
04-28-2006, 11:57 PM
Touche, so they are $30 each though?

Hmm maybe ill end up with one of these if i cant talk matt out of one of his...

$30+shipping i believe, but don't quote me on that. You'd have to send mark an IM or email.

http://www.thecaraudiobox.com/graphics/portpics/6portcd.jpg

davidfre21
04-29-2006, 12:00 AM
$30+shipping i believe, but don't quote me on that. You'd have to send mark an IM or email.

You said $20 less than what the ports we had sell for :( ... May have to send him an IM later on if i cant get matts.

Any look into the futur for a flange to be on them?

tommyk90
04-29-2006, 12:03 AM
You said $20 less than what the ports we had sell for :( ... May have to send him an IM later on if i cant get matts.

Any look into the futur for a flange to be on them?

It's been very difficult to make a flat mounting flange on it without ripping the PVC, so we pretty much gave up on that for now. There really hasn't been a need for the flange though, since the right combo of screws and hole cutouts have been working very good.

Once we get more into it, maybe we'll create a mold and form the entire flare from scratch. :)

I was under the impression that the other 6" ports were like $52 shipped....

Johnny Drama
04-29-2006, 12:04 AM
the aeros are a 9" cut out

Raisedin305
04-29-2006, 12:52 AM
Mine are 9" in diameter (from mark).

TypeRBass
04-29-2006, 11:03 AM
x2. Thats the way they are designed to be mounted, though you could use some really hard curing glue (like the mentioned ca glue, or possibly gorilla glue, just be careful of the expansion).

http://members.aol.com/JCWJuggalo6/system/03.jpg

Just find some screwheads like those (i believe he got those at home depot). Set the port in, mark some holes right on the outer edge of the port (on the MDF), then predrill some holes. That seems to be the easiest (and strongest) way to mount them.

I'm not the kind of person to pay an extra $20 for a port just to get a little flange that really isn't all that necessary. :)

awww how cute its a picture of my box :) but yep 3 piece flares ftw.

Raisedin305
04-29-2006, 11:05 AM
$30+shipping i believe, but don't quote me on that. You'd have to send mark an IM or email.

http://www.thecaraudiobox.com/graphics/portpics/6portcd.jpg Ehhh I got my four 6" ports for $200.00

joeldirt
04-29-2006, 11:08 AM
Liquid Nails?

You could Bondo them in, or fiberglass, that would hold rather well.


Yeah Liquid Nails works well... Also you can use bondo and resin mixed together to get a really rockhard strong epoxy.. you can reinforce it with strands of fiberglass too. I always build a ring that goes arround the aero-port inside the box to give it more glueing surface and reduce vibration.

PowerNaudio
04-29-2006, 01:55 PM
i have had very good luck with gorilla glue when it comes to plastics, pvc and plexy.