PDA

View Full Version : my plate amp



adio
04-25-2006, 02:15 PM
dear peoples and stuff,
it seems like the auto-on on my amp is gettin less sensitive as time goes on. when i 1st got it, i turned my music up to 6 and it came on it. now, i have to turn it up to 8, sometimes 9, for it to kick on. i emailed brian from rhythmik audio, to see what i can do or maybe he can do. does anybody have any advice for me??

joetama
04-25-2006, 02:48 PM
Don't use it and use a power switcher. The auto ons can be very odd as anything that is auto. My MartinLogan one is odd like that somedays it works fine other days it weirds out, so I just don't use it in auto anymore....

adio
04-25-2006, 03:06 PM
its startin to kinda **** :(

joetama
04-25-2006, 03:10 PM
Where is the gain set on the plate amp?

Darth Audio
04-25-2006, 04:34 PM
I just finally gave up on my dam auto-on! It quit and ain't comin back. I just walk my lazy *** over and turn it on by hand, how freakin' primitive!:crying:

thylantyr
04-25-2006, 05:54 PM
I like the old school way of turning on the audio system.

Giant knife switches {think Frankenstein} mounted on the wall with Tesla coils
for visual effects when throwing the switch.

IamDeMan
04-25-2006, 06:53 PM
I like the old school way of turning on the audio system.

Giant knife switches {think Frankenstein} mounted on the wall with Tesla coils
for visual effects when throwing the switch.
OH **** w3rd bruh!

Project time!

joetama
04-25-2006, 06:53 PM
ZZzzzzzzzZZzZzzZZZZZzzzZZZzzzzZ, you have to make that sound when you turn it on like you are charging something up with bigillions of volts and megathaaradadfakdmcaldkm of current lol.....

adio
04-25-2006, 11:02 PM
Where is the gain set on the plate amp?
the volume is 1/2 way up. i'm hopin i'ma hafta turna it down to 1/4 of the way when i get this tempest set up

joetama
04-26-2006, 12:57 AM
I was just making sure that you didn't have the gain really low. Cause with mine when the gain was low it wouldn't come on.... But thats not it....

adio
04-26-2006, 03:03 AM
i bet brian didn't even write me back........

adio
04-28-2006, 01:19 AM
brian,
it seems like the sensitivity of my 350 watt amp is getting less as the months go on. i have to turn my music up louder and louder for it to automatically kick on. anything i can do about it??

devon



Attached is a photo. If you know how to solder, please replace the resistor with 20k ohms.

-Brian


http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c344/adio412/auto_sen.jpg

where can i get resistors from, especially one that danm small??

adio
04-28-2006, 01:19 AM
look above

thylantyr
04-28-2006, 01:24 AM
You don't really need a small resistor if you have skill in soldering a
standard 1/4 watt resistor, but if you can find 1/8w resistors then maybe
it's easier to install. Radio Shack should carry 20k resistors.

joetama
04-28-2006, 01:51 AM
Radio Crap, of if you decide you need a bunch Mouser....

adio
04-28-2006, 04:15 PM
Radio Crap, of if you decide you need a bunch Mouser....
??

joetama
04-28-2006, 04:40 PM
Mouser Electronics.

http://www.mouser.com/