PDA

View Full Version : What Subs should i use in this beast??



kotec123
04-20-2006, 09:52 PM
i have a JVC HX-GD8 "mini" shelf system......its got 2 8 " side firing subwoofers and the ones it comes with just dont put out that much bass. It's a ported enclosure....... The sub amp is rated at

"195w per channel min. RMS driven into 6 ohms at 63 HZ with no more then 10% total harmonic distortion" (str8 from manual)

i need a sub that would preform at its max with this given amp and its gotta be 8" obviously.....not lookin to spend more then 200 bucks
thanks in advance

Eldorado
04-20-2006, 09:55 PM
Some tang bands 8's
they are cheap and they bump

kotec123
04-20-2006, 09:57 PM
can i find 6 ohm tang bands?....was thinkin CVR 8 but i dont think they make 6 ohm versions

Eldorado
04-20-2006, 10:00 PM
http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?webpage_id=3&SO=2&&DID=7&CATID=49&ObjectGroup_ID=489
There are a couple 6/8ohm subs on there

kotec123
04-20-2006, 10:02 PM
which one is best?

kotec123
04-20-2006, 10:03 PM
or i could try to see if my amp will run two 4 ohm subs....but im not sure if that wud work too well

Eldorado
04-20-2006, 10:07 PM
which one is best?
The tangbands get the most praise.
They are 4ohm though
But you could always run 2 Isobaric ;)

kotec123
04-20-2006, 10:11 PM
isobaric? where can i find those ....kickers?

Eldorado
04-20-2006, 10:17 PM
Isobaric is an installation.
Like ported,sealed,bandpass
http://www.caraudiohelp.com/custom_car_audio_boxes/custom_car_audio_boxes.htm
all the way on the bottom

kotec123
04-20-2006, 10:21 PM
naa im using the enclosures they are in now...dont have room for extra enclosures or else id just get a 15" ava and get a behringer and give it about 1000 watts.....

the current enclosure is ported with one aero port each
2.5 inch aeros more or less 1 foot long

Eldorado
04-20-2006, 10:25 PM
Dude, you dont need another enclosure...thats why i told you to go isobaric ;)

ballstothewall
04-20-2006, 10:28 PM
Isobaric is a type of loading, your thinking of Solobaric


The main advtantage of Isobaric loading is to use drivers that would require a really big cabinet to be used in a cabinet of half the volume. If you are using isobaric loading in a two way or less, then the bass driver will have to operate at a high enough frequency that the rear driver will be interfering with operation. You need to low pass the rear driver at a low frequency (for a three way, front and rear driver can be low passed at the same low frequency.)

*edit* to slow w/ the posting...

ballstothewall
04-20-2006, 10:28 PM
naa im using the enclosures they are in now...dont have room for extra enclosures or else id just get a 15" ava and get a behringer and give it about 1000 watts.....

the current enclosure is ported with one aero port each
2.5 inch aeros more or less 1 foot long

Take it from someone who bought the biggest baddest Behringer, you DON'T NEED all that power...

kotec123
04-20-2006, 10:29 PM
yea loook up my system and u wull see y its impossible without another enclosure

kotec123
04-20-2006, 10:31 PM
so i would be runnin 4 subs in all??? sumone show me exactly what would be goin on

Eldorado
04-20-2006, 10:32 PM
Yes
The subs will be facing each other.
Doesnt get any eaiser than that

kotec123
04-20-2006, 10:36 PM
how would they mount.....they need to both be screwed into the same holes.....................so 4 subs total???

kotec123
04-20-2006, 10:43 PM
from the silence ...^^ yea told ya it cant be done...any other suggestions

ngsm13
04-20-2006, 10:47 PM
from the silence ...^^ yea told ya it cant be done...any other suggestions

You're a dummy...

nG

kotec123
04-20-2006, 11:01 PM
You're a dummy...

nG

well lets see.....2 woofers firing in a enclosure made for 1, without altering it in any way......ON TOP of the fact that the T/s from the replacement woofers arnt even CLOSE to the stock ones....yea whose the dummy... obviously its possible but would be worse then it is now for twice the price :)

Eldorado
04-20-2006, 11:02 PM
Id have to say you.

kotec123
04-20-2006, 11:03 PM
why run isboaric given: 1) a fixed crosover point in relation to the mids that is going to change with the different impedance 2) a fixed enclosure size that isobaricly is going to cause the system to be extremely underdamped 3) a fixed power amount that the amplifier load may not even be able to drive depending on impedance

yea umm dummy =you

Eldorado
04-20-2006, 11:07 PM
Says the one who had no clue what isobaric was...

kotec123
04-20-2006, 11:12 PM
Says the one who had no clue what isobaric was...


yea lol ok :eyebrow: ....... any suggestions on 8 inch subs?

iagrdshaka
04-20-2006, 11:15 PM
Says the one who had no clue what isobaric was...

isnt isobaric some kind of subwoofer? ;)

bahahahahahahahahahaha

kotec123
04-20-2006, 11:17 PM
why run isboaric given: 1) a fixed crosover point in relation to the mids that is going to change with the different impedance 2) a fixed enclosure size that isobaricly is going to cause the system to be extremely underdamped 3) a fixed power amount that the amplifier load may not even be able to drive depending on impedance

yea umm dummy =you


yea this again.......
why run iso??
i know what u meant by isobarically running the subs.....but since i asked for sub suggestions i was curious as to what were isobarics.....because i was expecting sub suggestions.....
but yea y run iso?....no reason...my point exactly and my point proven

Eldorado
04-20-2006, 11:37 PM
Im done with you
Thank you, dont come again

ngsm13
04-21-2006, 12:10 AM
You ARE a gay.

nG

kotec123
04-21-2006, 01:25 AM
lol yea i know...maybe i shud try cvr?