PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse AVN6600.... Is it worth the wait???



Jrunr
04-19-2006, 09:02 AM
I am in the process of getting my system set-up in my 05 LE, and I was wondering if the differences between the AVN5500 and the AVN6600 are significant enough that it would be worth the wait for the AVN6600 (whose release date keeps being pushed back further and further.)

What do you guys think? I really do not need the dual zone DVD, but is that the only real diferrence?

Thanks!

Jason

aadadams
04-19-2006, 12:35 PM
Bump!! Because, interested minds want to know.

mikegett
04-19-2006, 04:56 PM
The 6600 has a few more features that make it worth looking into. It incorporates two dvd drives versus one dvd and one cd. The 6600 has a better dsp allowing 7 bands of PEQ's with crossovers. The 5500 has no crossovers and only Graphic EQ's. The 6600 will have full ipod control, while the 5500 will be limited to sirius control over the ipod.

Spooby
04-19-2006, 05:05 PM
The AVN-6600 is also a 6.5" widescreen, and has the ability to accept the eclipse TV tuner.

aadadams
04-19-2006, 06:05 PM
Will the units play MP3-DVDs?

hzsogood
04-19-2006, 08:59 PM
all eclipse avns play mp3, and dvd... I'm wondering the same question as well .. But the extra features that cant be looked passed are imo ...


1)Circle surround 2 .. ( for movies )

2)mp3 and wma

3)7 band peq

4)24 bit DAC <------ :)

5)ipod ready

6)TV tuner ready...

O yea.. Dual dvd drive ... ;)

Those are i believe the differences between the two... For me its worth the wait and guessing the extra 300 bones :)

hzsogood
04-19-2006, 09:00 PM
The AVN-6600 is also a 6.5" widescreen, and has the ability to accept the eclipse TV tuner.


All three double dins are 6.5 " screens , the avn 7000 flip up is 7"

ndnbolla
04-19-2006, 09:11 PM
Ever consider the Pioneer Avic-Z1?

If you don't want to wait, they you might want to look into this unit.

aadadams
04-19-2006, 09:16 PM
I considered it, but I don't think the extra 0.5 inches of screen is worth the price difference. Are there other advantages to the Z1 over the AVN6600?

hzsogood
04-19-2006, 10:40 PM
they both have there advantages .. the avic looks sweet too

Jrunr
04-20-2006, 07:23 AM
I am going to wait. I talked to Eclipse yeasterday, and the TECH rep told me that if I am doind a whole high-end system, I would DEFINITELY notice a nice diferrence in sound quality.

I guess I am waiting...

carchrism5
04-20-2006, 07:51 AM
one thing you forgot to mention is the price, i work at an eclipse authorized retailer and we are guessing they are going to cost a pretty penny, because the 5495's are over 2000 bux, so you may want to try to find what the price is going to be too

Jrunr
04-20-2006, 08:10 AM
I know that Crutchfield already has them listed at $1999

carchrism5
04-20-2006, 08:18 AM
oh ok, nevermind then, forgive me, i am mildly retarded

Jrunr
04-20-2006, 10:02 AM
lol. not really. Critchfield is DEFINITELY not the final say on retail prices...

Jrunr
04-20-2006, 07:25 PM
***release Date: May 21, 2006***

hzsogood
04-20-2006, 09:47 PM
thanks for the release now i have a chance to save up ;) .. $1999. das alot of dinero tho:eyebrow: decisions decisions

ndnbolla
04-21-2006, 05:06 PM
I considered it, but I don't think the extra 0.5 inches of screen is worth the price difference. Are there other advantages to the Z1 over the AVN6600?

If you look around, their are authorized and reliable dealers all around selling well below the Z1 MSRP.

But the 6600 looks like its going to be promising too. That new street view looks pretty nice.

hzsogood
04-21-2006, 05:29 PM
the 6600 is still catching my eye.. I was looking at a temp deck, and a **** nice one ( premier 880 prs ) for about 2-3 months, but im just wondering if its just worth the wait of about months .. saving 500 bux and just go with out a system til july.. And get the 6600 then:crap: .. ****, i wish that 880 was'nt so nice, it would make this alot easier, on wheni would get the 6600

slick316
04-21-2006, 06:34 PM
The 6600 does retail at $1999, so its $250 less than a Z1, but the Z1 does do a couple things the 6600 doesn't.
The 6600 has a 7 band parametric EQ, the Z1 only a 3 band. Both have XOVER's built in, and some sort of time alignment (nothing extensive, more like a listening position selector). The 6600 has three 5 volt pre outs, Z1 only has 2 volts. Both do Full iPod control. 6600 does Sirius, Z1 does XM and Sirius.
This is where the Z1 takes off over the 6600. Z1 has bluetooth built in for cell phone use, voice recognition for NAVI and audio (say next track and it goes to next track, something like that), and a hard drive built in for ripping music.
The 6600 has, in my opinion, a better audio section, the DAC's and features are better than the Z1, but the Z1 has more modern convenience features. In my opinion, the Z1 would sweet if paired with a nice external EQ, but then the price goes up.
The 6600 is definately a nice looking unit, and not bad for the price, its worth looking at atleast (Z1 is out, there should be some people popping up on the forums in the next couple weeks with opinions).

ndnbolla
04-21-2006, 07:59 PM
... Z1 is out, there should be some people popping up on the forums in the next couple weeks with opinions).

Like me. ;)

hzsogood
04-21-2006, 07:59 PM
I hopefully will be one posting about it.. just got off the phone with eclipse a little bit ago and there shipping in 3 days so, there ready to go with a retail of 2200 so there gonna run from 1900-2000 bux... there really pushing the dual dvd drive but if you dont have rear monitors it's kind of pointless , and the only thing i like about the 6600 is the DAC , WMA and the ipod full screen display.. SO now its a tossup , but the more i think about it , it is still only 300 bux more than the basically striped down 5500

Jrunr
04-22-2006, 10:45 AM
I am having mine installed TODAY so I will post pics ASAP!!!

hzsogood
04-22-2006, 10:46 AM
U lucky a**hole... How much u get it for

slick316
04-22-2006, 04:40 PM
Yes, post pics, I want to see some pics of this thing. Some impressions would be nice also.

hzsogood
04-22-2006, 04:43 PM
See pics as in u've never seen it b4 or u just want to see this lucky a**holes :p:

slick316
04-22-2006, 05:45 PM
I wanna see some real world pics of this lucky a**holes, lol :)

hzsogood
04-22-2006, 05:54 PM
I could get it now , if we actually had it here but then id have like 200 bux for the next 2 weeks and i m in a wedding next weekend in minneapolis... Im in Duluth 2 hrs away.. So i better just play it smart and not jump to anything and maybe in 2 weeks it will actually be ordered.. And now im hearing that i have to customize a kit because the avn DD's aparently dont fit in my DD opening .. I think my opening is a lil bigger, so i can see this is a pain in the *** waiting to happen:crap:

Lizardking
04-22-2006, 06:31 PM
I smell B.S. since Eclipse don't even have them yet!

hzsogood
04-22-2006, 06:34 PM
when i talked to eclipse yesterday they said some were shipped already , and The majority will see them starting monday and through the week,

neil.schneider
04-22-2006, 06:39 PM
Hi,

Newbie here. I think I want the 6600 as well. I would be very interested in any comments. Does the nav have to be calibrated.

hzsogood
04-22-2006, 06:55 PM
install the avn6600... put in the navi map disc .. wait a few seconds ... Then drive

neil.schneider
04-22-2006, 10:04 PM
install the avn6600... put in the navi map disc .. wait a few seconds ... Then drive


Thanks for the info. I just bought the garmin Nuvi 350 for Nav and MP3 playback but the nuvi doesn't support playlist like the ipod so I want a unit that does ipod direct control. When/if someone gets the 6600, could you post a pic of the ipod screen and comment on it's ease of use and speed.

I currently have the eclipse 8445. The sound is the best but the ergonomics ****. I listened to the Clarion755 and the pioneeravic2 and they don't sound as good as the eclipse. I want to stay with them if possible but I want a touch screen. i hope the 6600 turns ot to sound great.

slick316
04-22-2006, 10:49 PM
^^^
I just bought a TomTom Go 910 and it has full iPod control, the cable costs $20. Something to consider if you like portable units like the Nuvi 350.
The 910 also does bluetooth hands free out of the box, loving mine so far.

slick316
04-22-2006, 10:53 PM
BTW, I found out from my eclipse rep, the AVN5500, 6600 and 7000 will function correctly WITHOUT connecting the speed wire to the vehicles VSS. They did that so older cars that don't have VSS can still use the AVN units.

hzsogood
04-22-2006, 11:04 PM
How much is the ipod module for the avn's

slick316
04-22-2006, 11:08 PM
$100

hzsogood
04-22-2006, 11:10 PM
Not to bad, there s ur 60 gig HD right there

slick316
04-22-2006, 11:23 PM
Remember, your 60GB HD cost money to:

AVN+iPod Adapter+iPod=$$$$$

Well worth the purchase in my opinion though, anything that has FULL iPod control is good, if it doesn't say full control, I'd stay away.

hzsogood
04-22-2006, 11:34 PM
True on the i pod tho 400 +100 (adapter) , but its not like it was just for the car either .. This is how eclipse made the 6600 a step above the 5495 and imo the 7000 .. Other than the phone # search and ultima graphics, which are pretty dang cool:)

neil.schneider
04-23-2006, 09:41 AM
So does anyone have one in yet? If so what about some pics of the ipod screen please.

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 10:17 AM
Just checking on this, because i dont have an ipod yet, but for the reg. ipod with the 30/60 gig and video, im assuming you can also watch the video and see your pix on the screen as well??

slick316
04-23-2006, 10:51 AM
^^^
No, I'm positive you can only get audio from the iPod, no video.

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 12:07 PM
I got mine installed yesterday and it sounded AWESOME!!!! HOWEVER, I parked the car last noght, and when I got in this morning, I have NO SOUND at all coming from this unit. It plays the DVD I have in it, but I get no sound. It tunes in the radio stations, but I gt no sound. It acknowledges my disk changer, but wont read the disks that are in it, and it wont read my Sirius radio hook up. WHAT DO I DO??? Please help!!!

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 12:10 PM
So do you have pictures and a review... I used to have the avn5495 and it stank SQ wise...

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 12:36 PM
I got mine installed yesterday and it sounded AWESOME!!!! HOWEVER, I parked the car last noght, and when I got in this morning, I have NO SOUND at all coming from this unit. It plays the DVD I have in it, but I get no sound. It tunes in the radio stations, but I gt no sound. It acknowledges my disk changer, but wont read the disks that are in it, and it wont read my Sirius radio hook up. WHAT DO I DO??? Please help!!!


It sounds like the remote lead is not turning on your amps... Check that your amps are powering up..

neil.schneider
04-23-2006, 12:39 PM
I got mine installed yesterday and it sounded AWESOME!!!! HOWEVER, I parked the car last noght, and when I got in this morning, I have NO SOUND at all coming from this unit. It plays the DVD I have in it, but I get no sound. It tunes in the radio stations, but I gt no sound. It acknowledges my disk changer, but wont read the disks that are in it, and it wont read my Sirius radio hook up. WHAT DO I DO??? Please help!!!


Fuse, amps... I don't know. Wow that *****. Call the installer asap!:crap:

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 12:39 PM
Well, here are a couple of bad pics so you all know that I am telling the truth, but I am very upset about the fact that I can not get any sound out of the deck. Please help!

http://www.caraudio.com/gallery/2/6/9/6/1/Eclipse002.jpg
http://www.caraudio.com/gallery/2/6/9/6/1/Eclipse008.jpg
http://www.caraudio.com/gallery/2/6/9/6/1/Eclipse010.jpg

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 12:43 PM
I almost bet the remote turn on is not turning on the amps.... Check that they are powering up when you turn on the AVN

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 12:52 PM
The light is on, on the amp, and i do get the "beep" when switching from DVD to Fm, etc... but I am getting a "hiss" like you do from a stereo that is turned up but sending no music to the speakers. and that is a constant level sound, it does not fluctuate when i turn the volume up or down. Also, I dont know why it wont read my disc changer. it all worked last night, i drove around for a good 45min just rockin out to the great sounding set-up...

UGH!!! FRUSTRATION!!!

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 01:03 PM
Measure that you are getting the correct voltage to your amps turn on terminal from the headunit. If that is good you could measure voltage at the preouts. I would also check the HU ground. The noise makes me think ground or preout problem.

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 01:09 PM
You don't have the mute on right? Sorry had to ask!! LOL I remember Eclipse having the SVC contol on all sources... Is that turned down?

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 01:15 PM
I have played with the mute button. it is off. the amps are getting signal. Like I said, what is meesing with my head on this one is, I can still hear the beeps when i switch sources, and it will not read my disck changer or sirius radio.

Last night, at about 1130, I parked the truck and it all worked perfectly! I went inside, and went to bed. Came out this morning at 7, and this is what is going on. I cant figure it out!

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 01:22 PM
It sounds like a defective headunit....but you're going to have to get in there and verify connections and check fuses.. Take the dash apart and get in there. I have a 05 4Runner so I know how easy it is to take apart the dash....

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 01:26 PM
Do you have any pics of your install?

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 01:33 PM
It sounds like a defective headunit....but you're going to have to get in there and verify connections and check fuses.. Take the dash apart and get in there. I have a 05 4Runner so I know how easy it is to take apart the dash....


To be honest, I am not really that sure as to what i would be looking for. There is som much going on inside this unit...

The navigation still works. Those little demons must have got into my car last night and jinxed it!!

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 01:45 PM
If your not famliar, then I would take it back to the dealer tomorrow...

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 01:47 PM
Do you have any pics of your install?


Nope, sure don't! I never got around to taking any...LOL...my ride is the Sport Edition. I'm a member over at T4R as well. I've seen your post over there.

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 01:53 PM
I got it installed at a local shop, (great custom work) but I think I am going to take it to Cicuit city right now to have them check it out (since they are eclipse dealers) Only option I have at the moment...

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 02:19 PM
Good idea! Watch them closely though....CC installers are a joke!

neil.schneider
04-23-2006, 02:27 PM
Where did you buy the unit? This is a scary story. If you had bought it off an internet guy you would be in more trouble than you are now. At least you can call and go to the installer on Mon. I was thinking of buying one on the internet but reading this gives me pause.

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 03:51 PM
I never been impressed with reliablity with the AVN series...........not to mention the poor SQ.

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 03:57 PM
whats wrong with the SQ, the 6600 and 7000 seem to have great processing / eq's

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 04:01 PM
I can't speak on the 7000 but the AVN's I've seen and owned **** *** compared to the single din units. No sound adjustments that are worth a darn. Video and Nav has always been first with those units and SQ was second.....Even Eclipse admitted this to me when I had my AVN5495. The AVN series units are designed for people wanting to upgrade their OEM more so then those looking for a kick butt sound system..

Eclipse told me, "if you are looking for SQ then the AVN's wouldn't be a choice for you". "Look into our single din headunits or the AV8533".

slick316
04-23-2006, 04:05 PM
Well, the 6600 and 7000 are new, and while the 6600 seems to have a great audio section, it hasn't been proven yet. The previous and cheaper AVN models didn't have any notible audio features, they just plain stank, even with 5v pre outs. The 7000 does have some great features audio wise, but the price, WOW. I have actually used the 7000, and while it was nice, the price didn't warrant the purchase, its too expensive.

Hopefully the 6600 is all that its cracked up to be, but I'll stick to my DRZ9255 for audio, and TomTom Go 910 for nav.

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 04:07 PM
Is is mostly affect the eg and tuning part of it or what?? As long as it did'nt ruin the sound of the sub there s ways to make it sound good imo.. I say that because ( off topic ) when i had my pioneer 9400 and switched to my eclipse 8443 it seems like the eclipse was cleaner but i lost i little of the bass output ( fullness) if that makes sense :crap:

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 04:08 PM
Well, the 6600 and 7000 are new, and while the 6600 seems to have a great audio section, it hasn't been proven yet. The previous and cheaper AVN models didn't have any notible audio features, they just plain stank, even with 5v pre outs. The 7000 does have some great features audio wise, but the price, WOW. I have actually used the 7000, and while it was nice, the price didn't warrant the purchase, its too expensive.

Hopefully the 6600 is all that its cracked up to be, but I'll stick to my DRZ9255 for audio, and TomTom Go 910 for nav.


Is'nt the avn7000 2.2 volt preout??

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 04:10 PM
SQ has always been the last thought on Audio/Video/Nav units or Audio/Video units in general...IMO

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 04:11 PM
Is'nt the avn7000 2.2 volt preout??


Yes, unless you add the DCU105 processor then its 5v.

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 04:15 PM
I wish there was a test and try ;) .. Kinda sux to buy or not even be able to hear a $2,000 HU b4 you buy and completly not enjoy it or like the sound

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 04:16 PM
I wish there was a test and try ;) .. Kinda sux to buy or not even be able to hear a $2,000 HU b4 you buy and completly not enjoy it or like the sound



That is what I like about Crutchfield....buy it, try it, don't like it send it back!!!:)

slick316
04-23-2006, 04:19 PM
^^
I had the DCU105. Couldn't get the two to work together correctly. They had/have some issues with those two products.

The options where there, 4 way XOVER with 12db/24db cuts, 7 band parametric EQ (1 band dedicated to the sub out), time alignment, auto EQ/time alignment using supplied mic and ei serve, support for 3 way front setup or for a 5.1 setup.

Its a pretty complex system, but again, the price of the 7000 alone wasn't justified in my opinion, the unit only comes alive with the DCU105 ($500 retail).

BTW, you didn't hear it from me, but if Eclipse sales don't increase in the US this year and next, there might not be any Eclipse sold in the US in 2008 (Fujitsu Ten is not happy about the sales here, thats why they went into Circuit City and Crutchfield).

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 04:21 PM
Wouldn't hurt my feelings....LOL...

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 04:22 PM
Wow , good info if its completly true.. Eclipse is great quality stuff , would hate to see them go

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 04:23 PM
But then againt there s many other quality companies out there i ve always been pleased with eclipse tho, .. Everyone has the likes and opinions ;)

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 04:25 PM
Eclipse used to be IMO a good brand.... From the dealers I've spoken with they have had a lot of quality issues the last couple years. I wouldn't be running a Eclipse deck now if I could find something that was a SQ unit with Sirius controls...

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 04:27 PM
I'm currently waiting on the Zapco headunit...but I know it won't have Sirius capability.

slick316
04-23-2006, 04:27 PM
If you ever wander over the Eclipse Japan website, you will see that we are getting the shaft here in the US as far as AVN units are concerned. They have like 6-7 DD units and the software being displayed is amazing. Full color images of buildings and such, its crazy. Bring stuff like that over here and see an increase in business.

BTW, you didn't hear it from me again, but expect some really cool AVN and video units at CES, from what I was told, there should be some "industry firsts" introduced, whatever that means.

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 04:29 PM
If they can make a TRUE SQ audio/video units it would be a huge hit in the states..

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 04:32 PM
If you ever wander over the Eclipse Japan website, you will see that we are getting the shaft here in the US as far as AVN units are concerned. They have like 6-7 DD units and the software being displayed is amazing. Full color images of buildings and such, its crazy. Bring stuff like that over here and see an increase in business.

BTW, you didn't hear it from me again, but expect some really cool AVN and video units at CES, from what I was told, there should be some "industry firsts" introduced, whatever that means.
...

As in from eclipse or in gereral

slick316
04-23-2006, 04:35 PM
^^^
From Eclipse. I don't doubt we will be seeing some cool stuff at CES, but from what I heard about Eclipse pulling out of the US market and such, I am sure that they will try to release something worth while to boost sales.

Check out this from Fujitsu Ten Japan:

http://www.fujitsu-ten.co.jp/eclipse/navi/avn8805hd/index.html

Check out how insane the software is.

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 04:35 PM
Anyone for tha matter..... It would be slick to see the DRZ updated to include video in a double din package with a few more goodies add in...

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 04:38 PM
^^^
From Eclipse. I don't doubt we will be seeing some cool stuff at CES, but from what I heard about Eclipse pulling out of the US market and such, I am sure that they will try to release something worth while to boost sales.

Check out this from Fujitsu Ten Japan:

http://www.fujitsu-ten.co.jp/eclipse/navi/avn8805hd/index.html

Check out how insane the software is.


I remember seeing that navi from japan, they are so far ahead it's not even funny.. That is some cool s*** there .. Now all your doing is gonna want to make me bounce back to the premier 880prs thread, if eclipse has something coming out next year

slick316
04-23-2006, 04:58 PM
^^^
Just take what I said as a rumor, and be happy with your unit. Next year is next year. Even if something new is shown at CES, it will probably be out at this time next year, thats a FULL year to wait. You can get good use out of your unit in that time, sell it, and then get the new unit.

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 05:29 PM
^^^
Just take what I said as a rumor, and be happy with your unit. Next year is next year. Even if something new is shown at CES, it will probably be out at this time next year, thats a FULL year to wait. You can get good use out of your unit in that time, sell it, and then get the new unit.


Or i could but the 880 save money, put my entire setup in my new car dyno, alt big 3 .. then next year when everything s done ... drop the 2000 on the year newer navi ..
I have most of it except the dampning and components..

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 05:32 PM
HA. Check this out, I took it to CC, and the installer, pulled the radio. Well, my installed left live wires just danging behind the h/u... !!! You believe that ****? Not only were they "loose wires" but they had been stripped!!! they were just grounding out all over the place! I am going to have a serious talk with these guys tomorrow!

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 05:37 PM
:nutskick: ur installer owned u

Lizardking
04-23-2006, 05:42 PM
True that.....I would make them replace the headunit with new...

neil.schneider
04-23-2006, 06:13 PM
I can't speak on the 7000 but the AVN's I've seen and owned **** *** compared to the single din units. No sound adjustments that are worth a darn. Video and Nav has always been first with those units and SQ was second.....Even Eclipse admitted this to me when I had my AVN5495. The AVN series units are designed for people wanting to upgrade their OEM more so then those looking for a kick butt sound system..

Eclipse told me, "if you are looking for SQ then the AVN's wouldn't be a choice for you". "Look into our single din headunits or the AV8533".

I agree. Eclipse said that the avn are not as good sounding as the single din units. Infact the cd 7000 does not sound as good as the 5000, according to them. I believe it. They put the money in the screen and nav.

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 09:47 PM
yea. I am missing the nice little conveniences like a subwoofer control... Would be really really nice to have...

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 09:50 PM
What are you not liking about the 6600 as say compared to a nice single din like a 8445 or something

slick316
04-23-2006, 09:55 PM
Is there not a sub level control in the section that has crossover stuff? Thats where the sub level control was on the AVN7000.

And yes, I agree, its a nice convenience thats missing.

hzsogood
04-23-2006, 10:01 PM
There has to be a non fad/ sub control of some sort on that HU .. It's not that short on tuning:eyebrow:

neil.schneider
04-23-2006, 10:10 PM
Jrunr,
What are you gonna do?

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 10:53 PM
what do you mean? i got it to work. I just need to take it back to the nstaller and micro-manage his *** while he re-installs the deck and I make sure that he seals up all loose connections.

neil.schneider
04-23-2006, 11:05 PM
what do you mean? i got it to work. I just need to take it back to the nstaller and micro-manage his *** while he re-installs the deck and I make sure that he seals up all loose connections.


I am sorry, I missed that you got it going again. Are you gonna hook it to an Ipod? If so could you give some feedback or maybe pics? So do you anticipate being happy with the unit? What did you have before and how does it compare SQ wise? Thanks,
Neil

Jrunr
04-23-2006, 11:15 PM
I have the Ipod adapter, but it was not installed yet. They will have to do that too! I will give you feed back when installed.

Before the AVN6600 was installed, I had everything running off the stock deck to the amps. This sounds so much cleaner, especially at loud volumes... :D

pjm2211
04-23-2006, 11:17 PM
I hate not having sub control.

Jrunr
04-24-2006, 10:10 PM
I agrre COMPLETELY to that. What can I add that will gove me such control, and not lose the advantage of the 5V pre-out?

adam71
04-24-2006, 10:16 PM
I am going to wait. I talked to Eclipse yeasterday, and the TECH rep told me that if I am doind a whole high-end system, I would DEFINITELY notice a nice diferrence in sound quality.

I guess I am waiting...

Of course Eclipse is going to tell you that. Why wouldn't they? They want you to wait for the highest price unit they have so they can get more of your money. I'm not saying the 6600 isn't a nice piece but ECLIPSE is going to say whatever you want to hear to get you to spend more money on their equipment.

Jrunr
04-24-2006, 11:41 PM
I agree COMPLETELY to that. What can I add that will gove me such control, and not lose the advantage of the 5V pre-out?

Anyone know of anything I can use?

slick316
04-24-2006, 11:52 PM
If you want sub level control, add a JL Audio RBC-1 remote bass knob to your 500/1, its $40 or so retail I think. That would probably be the quickest/easiest way to do it.

jimmyjames1700
04-25-2006, 08:46 AM
Anyone know of anything I can use?


Dude, you have subwoofer output/phase/level/crossover control on your 6600. You hit the info button, then touch setting, then touch next, then touch woofer. You can access everything from there.

You would have to be crazy to think that a $1,999 deck with three 5v preouts would not have sub control :crazy:

Jrunr
04-25-2006, 09:37 AM
Dude, It is like 5 screems away, and it is very subtle. I can not actually turn tre sub off if I want, and turning it up does not seem very effective. The "woofer" control does not seem to do much in my system.

neil.schneider
04-25-2006, 11:06 AM
Did you get the ipod working yet? I bought the tomtom 910 to interface the ipod to my 8445 but don't want to open it if I am gonna end up with the 6600.

jimmyjames1700
04-25-2006, 01:35 PM
Dude, It is like 5 screems away, and it is very subtle. I can not actually turn tre sub off if I want, and turning it up does not seem very effective. The "woofer" control does not seem to do much in my system.

Everyone's entitled to their own opinions I guess. :rolleyes:

I would suggest adjusting your gain so it is effective. We've installed several AVN5495 & AVN5435 and I can tell you that I sure have been able to hear more than just a subtle difference when adjusting the sub level. It would be hard to believe that the AVN6600 would be any different.

Jrunr
04-25-2006, 05:24 PM
Then something must nt be set-up correctly. I am going to have the installer pull the sub, and check where he has the crossover set on the sub amp... maybe it is near the 68hz that the AVN6600 boosts the bass... Would that effect it?

You are much moe knowledgable than I am here, so please keep posting your tips and tricks to ge tthe most out of this unit! Thanks!

Jason

azngotskills
04-29-2006, 07:45 PM
Is the Eclipse AVN6600 even out yet??? I have been looking and cant find any place that has them in stock. The Eclipse website even says "on sale soon". Can someone please inform me :)

neil.schneider
04-30-2006, 11:08 AM
Is the Eclipse AVN6600 even out yet??? I have been looking and cant find any place that has them in stock. The Eclipse website even says "on sale soon". Can someone please inform me :)


Check ebay, I have seen it there.