PDA

View Full Version : Should I brace My box?



Another Device
04-19-2006, 02:16 AM
So I'm going to build this box for my XXX which will be running off an ED 9.1:
http://img101.imagevenue.com/img.php?loc=loc177&image=28149_boxpic.jpg
Would bracing be necessary?

Jordantyler
04-19-2006, 02:18 AM
i would brace

ssj2xxgotenxx
04-19-2006, 02:19 AM
LOL you're my evil twin =D

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=152770&highlight=prebuild

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=153318

check yourself before you wreck yourself

AIM's ---> ssj2xxgotenxx I can help you alot since we have identical systems.

Another Device
04-19-2006, 02:34 AM
Almost. I actually paid Moe Lester for these plans before he put them in that thread :furious: No matter. Have you listened to your XXX in that box yet? I have mine in a 1cu.ft sealed box right now and I think it hits **** hard in that.

j3bus2k3
04-19-2006, 02:50 AM
triangles in the corners and you should be good sir...

ssj2xxgotenxx
04-19-2006, 02:50 AM
Sounds amazing. couldn't be happier with my investment. The box took alot of work to build though... luckily I did it over springbreak.

AlpineUser
04-19-2006, 08:04 AM
pics now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Another Device
04-19-2006, 02:18 PM
I'll get pics of mine up eventually, although its nothing special to look at now.

Another Device
04-21-2006, 09:34 AM
Alright, so I have these door hinges that I took from work:
http://img42.imagevenue.com/img.php?loc=loc77&image=26548_brace.jpg
They are solid galvanized steel. Could I use these to brace my box?

psych0ticnemes1
04-21-2006, 09:40 AM
good for what? thats not bracing... lol

yes it is... maybe not in the corners, but if you put triangle pieces in the middle of the top and sides, bottum and sides, etc. it works well

_DjScrew_
04-21-2006, 09:44 AM
yes it is... maybe not in the corners, but if you put triangle pieces in the middle of the top and sides, bottum and sides, etc. it works well
so if i cut like a 1 x 1 chunk of mdf out and made it a triangle and glued a couple around the box it would be a strong brace?

Lakota
04-21-2006, 03:22 PM
Threaded rod ftw.

PowerNaudio
04-22-2006, 08:19 PM
i dont see how corners flexes. the middle of the panel is what flexes on an enclosure.
some thing like this would keep your enclosure frome flexing some.
http://x11.putfile.com/4/11119203959-thumb.jpg (http://putfile.com/pic.php?pic=4/11119203959.jpg&s=x11)