PDA

View Full Version : Where should I add bracing?



Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 01:17 PM
This box is for 4 15" L7s. CRX style

This is how I have it planned right now...

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 01:17 PM
http://i1.tinypic.com/v8ekw9.jpg

ramos
04-12-2006, 01:20 PM
Do you understand the idea behind bracing ? :)
http://www.bcae1.com/

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 01:26 PM
Do you understand the idea behind bracing ? :)
http://www.bcae1.com/Isn't it there to help prevent the box from flexing?

ramos
04-12-2006, 01:28 PM
Yep, now look at your enclosure and figure out how to tie the largest walls together to stop it :)

tRiGgEr
04-12-2006, 01:29 PM
And with a box that large, more bracing will be needed.

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 01:30 PM
Yep, now look at your enclosure and figure out how to tie the largest walls together to stop it :)OK each brace W is going to be 1.5"...that's not enough?

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 01:32 PM
**** looks like I need to talk to Moe about this. Everybody thinks that those braces aren't enough.

tRiGgEr
04-12-2006, 01:33 PM
OK each brace W is going to be 1.5"...that's not enough?

comprehension and common sense are not your strong points. Do you need it spelled out for you with a color picture like a pre schooler???

danteBirosel
04-12-2006, 01:34 PM
Do you understand the idea behind bracing ? :)
http://www.bcae1.com/


what directory # does that explain in?

Pyro_By_Nature
04-12-2006, 01:34 PM
Because they aren't, you're an idiot.Why do you think these little flimsy pieces of wood slapped in there are going to control any flexing?How do you expect them to control it?

tRiGgEr
04-12-2006, 01:36 PM
what directory # does that explain in?

Class please turn to section 110 of www.bcae1.com

amr952
04-12-2006, 01:39 PM
Class please turn to section 110 of www.bcae1.com

lol I think everyone should just turn to section 1 and read the whole thing.

I did and I learned so much from it.

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 01:43 PM
To everybody bashing me about the bracing...I didn't design those plans. I don't design plans. Until now I had never had to add bracing to any box Ive built. Moe designed me those plans with those bracing

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 01:44 PM
comprehension and common sense are not your strong points. Do you need it spelled out for you with a color picture like a pre schooler???Yes...I was told you cannot put bracing any where because it messes with the tunning.

Pyro_By_Nature
04-12-2006, 01:45 PM
what directory # does that explain in?


110

45auto
04-12-2006, 01:48 PM
Hey, Raisedin305, I sent you a PM concerning the amp, please reply.

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 01:48 PM
Hey, Raisedin305, I sent you a PM concerning the amp, please reply.Replied.

ramos
04-12-2006, 02:37 PM
Let's compare a little

In this picture, the braces are at least twice as wide as the thickness of the wood. Correct ?

http://i1.tinypic.com/v8ekw9.jpg

What happened in the translation to this ?
http://i2.tinypic.com/swdytz.jpg

I understand the bracing in the plans that moe provided you. The bracing configuration will work if constructed properly my man. You could brace it with 10" thick titanium bars if you want. But what good is the strongest bracing in the world if the enclosure it's in isn't up to par. :)

btnhfan
04-12-2006, 03:15 PM
Do threaded steel rods from one side to the other.

2loud4u
04-12-2006, 03:59 PM
Do threaded steel rods from one side to the other.


that is what i did for my 3 cubes at 35hz for my RE MT.

It takes away almost no airspace .

btnhfan
04-12-2006, 04:03 PM
Yup and you cant get anything stronger.

CJL
04-12-2006, 04:05 PM
Do threaded steel rods from one side to the other.

Is there a site that carries them?

2loud4u
04-12-2006, 04:21 PM
you can get them at any building store.
Same place where you get your mdf

like btnhfan said nothing stronger.
Also you dont have to worry about about the displacement of them cause they take up so little it dont affect anything.

just make sure you use silicone to seal each end where it goes through the box.

Only bad thing is that u can see them and some people dont like it.

btnhfan
04-12-2006, 04:21 PM
Home depot sells them.

CJL
04-12-2006, 04:21 PM
do they come in certain sizes

CJL
04-12-2006, 04:24 PM
and does anybody got a nice pic of what they look like

JL12W7INAGS300
04-12-2006, 04:27 PM
a pic of what threaded steel rods look like? **** homie

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 04:28 PM
a pic of what threaded steel rods look like? **** homieSame thing I was thinking:laugh:

CJL
04-12-2006, 04:31 PM
i said that mainly to see what would be on each end of the rod I know what a steel rod looks like ;)

squeak12
04-12-2006, 04:45 PM
http://www.stu-offroad.com/suspension/arm3/cab-1.jpg

http://www.us-strut.com/IMAGE/uth250la.jpg

Id get the 1/2" version or thicker and large washers (fender washers I think) and nuts.

CJL
04-12-2006, 04:47 PM
Does the rod go thru each side(of the wood) or does it stay on the inside?

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 04:51 PM
Back on topic. Make your own thread about threaded steel rods

CJL
04-12-2006, 04:55 PM
Hey raisedin305
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/6643/2074833vx.gif (http://imageshack.us)

khail19
04-12-2006, 04:57 PM
Nevermind.

InhumanAcura
04-12-2006, 05:01 PM
To everybody bashing me about the bracing...I didn't design those plans. I don't design plans. Until now I had never had to add bracing to any box Ive built. Moe designed me those plans with those bracing

if youre attempting to do a #..he probally told you not to do any bracing at all, which is what id advise aswell..all that type of bracing is going to do, is hurt your score...

like bthnfan said, if you feel the need..use some all-thread...but, test before and after.

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 05:03 PM
if youre attempting to do a #..he probally told you not to do any bracing at all, which is what id advise aswell..all that type of bracing is going to do, is hurt your score...

like bthnfan said, if you feel the need..use some all-thread...but, test before and after.Moe actually designed that 3d sketchup that I posted up. He did recommend me to use bracing.

InhumanAcura
04-12-2006, 05:04 PM
try it..

Pop da Hatch
04-12-2006, 05:07 PM
**** you guys are retarded!

http://i2.tinypic.com/v8moer.jpg

There is how you should do it - go all out and get threaded rod. Double up the mdf at the spots where the rod comes out of the box and you can make it sit flush and less chance it will pull through.

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 05:08 PM
try it..I did, and it cracked.


http://i2.tinypic.com/v8mqeo.jpg

Pop da Hatch
04-12-2006, 05:22 PM
http://i2.tinypic.com/v8n38j.jpg

Look at both of the things I posted and If you still dont know how to build ur bracing you need to give me your subs and find a new hobby.

tRiGgEr
04-12-2006, 05:33 PM
Where is the crack? If there was a crack in the wood itself, I would say it was the box construction from looking at that picture.

InhumanAcura
04-12-2006, 05:35 PM
double up the mdf...and i agree it was most-likely the construction..

weve put more in less and never had problems...

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 05:53 PM
double up the mdf...and i agree it was most-likely the construction..

weve put more in less and never had problems...Guess I'll just rebuild using wood glue this time.

tRiGgEr
04-12-2006, 05:55 PM
Guess I'll just rebuild using wood glue this time.

And straight cuts, and proper bracing, and...

Well you get the idea.

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 05:56 PM
And straight cuts, and proper bracing, and...

Well you get the idea.lol yeah

InhumanAcura
04-12-2006, 06:41 PM
if you didnt use glue...thats your problem.

j3bus2k3
04-12-2006, 07:00 PM
:word:

Do it right and the first time and you wouldnt be in this mess....wood glue, threaded rod, straight cuts...

tRiGgEr
04-12-2006, 07:03 PM
I'm glad you're taking all the flames as constructive criticism. :thumbsup:

If you have any questions about the build that are not to "retarded". Feel free to PM me.

Raisedin305
04-12-2006, 07:20 PM
I'm glad you're taking all the flames as constructive criticism. :thumbsup:

If you have any questions about the build that are not to "retarded". Feel free to PM me.
OK thanks.