PDA

View Full Version : Polyfil



02GrandCherokee
04-11-2006, 04:27 PM
I have a box that is about 2.2 ft cubed and I would like to fill it with polyfil to make it seem like its around 1.75 ft cubed. First of all how much of a difference will this make to my sub its in a sealed enclosure and do you just put it in the box or do you glue or hold it down some way? Thanks

FoxPro5
04-11-2006, 04:32 PM
I have a box that is about 2.2 ft cubed and I would like to fill it with polyfil to make it seem like its around 1.75 ft cubed. First of all how much of a difference will this make to my sub its in a sealed enclosure and do you just put it in the box or do you glue or hold it down some way? Thanks

Polyfill will make your box sound bigger than it really is. You need to put something in your box to take up more airspace so that the net effect is a smaller internal volume.

02GrandCherokee
04-11-2006, 04:33 PM
What would you suggest I put in there?

Black_Jesus
04-11-2006, 04:34 PM
wood

Black_Jesus
04-11-2006, 04:34 PM
double post ftl

Black_Jesus
04-11-2006, 04:34 PM
triple post ftl

Darth Audio
04-11-2006, 04:34 PM
You use polyfil to make the sub react as if it were in a larger enclosure not to take up space. If you need to take up room you can put blocks of wood or something inside the enclosure, I would use it to make bracing inside the enclosure.

According to what your subs specs are putting it into a smaller enclosure will do different things, but generally you increase power handling at the expense of low end response in a smaller enclosure.

02GrandCherokee
04-11-2006, 04:37 PM
right now i have a mtx 7515-44 and the box is about 2.2 and the rec. is 1.75 so if i do this how much low end will I loose?

FoxPro5
04-11-2006, 04:39 PM
right now i have a mtx 7515-44 and the box is about 2.2 and the rec. is 1.75 so if i do this how much low end will I loose?

Here you go sir: http://web.archive.org/web/20020808224043/integra.cyberglobe.net/caraudio/resources/fiberfill/

ramos
04-11-2006, 04:40 PM
Drop some mdf scraps in there and see. You can always lay them in the bottom of the enclosure temporarily. Find the sound your after, and then permanently install them :)