PDA

View Full Version : can i bridge my hu?



Bboy_jon
04-10-2006, 01:33 AM
ok i have a pasasonic c7301u, now i have 2 jl audio tr650 cxi's. I have a profile ap1200 running two re 8's

i have a 91 toyota mr2, and well i dont have space for a new amp (i do but itll be a hassle and im struggling for cash)

so ya the stock rear speakers, are 2 inches....lol and i can fit 4 inch speakers in there but my subs are in there so they really serve no purpose

so my question, can i take the rear speaker wires and bridge them with the front speaker wires?

front left + with the rear left -

front right + with the rear right -

can i do that?

thanks

i read another post and alot of you said no, but anyone have experience with my hu?

Ctminime
04-10-2006, 01:35 AM
uhh.. i dont think so..... but also never really thot about that... would be crazy if u could.... i think that might couse ohmage issue with ure deck might shorten life too.. i wouldnt try it unless u wanna risk blowing up a HU

jujumantb
04-10-2006, 01:37 AM
no

revrider1
04-10-2006, 01:37 AM
I have never done it, but I would think it would cause the HU to run hot. ;)

MrSector9
04-10-2006, 01:40 AM
http://www.bcae1.com

it is explained in the bridging section i think

bri487
04-10-2006, 02:06 AM
not if you want to keep it.

loserpunk
04-10-2006, 02:07 AM
i know a decent amount of h/u's you actually can bridge the 2 rear channels together....but w/ limitations on imp....i think 6 or 4 ohms in the lowest you can go, check with your owner's manual if you can it should say

Bboy_jon
04-10-2006, 02:11 AM
it doesnt say, someone told me that since i have a feature that can change the rear speakers into a substitution subwoofer, i can do this?

zachzchw
04-10-2006, 06:28 PM
it doesnt say, someone told me that since i have a feature that can change the rear speakers into a substitution subwoofer, i can do this?


Really, you shouldnt do it.
At the very least, ask the manufacturer what they think about it.

tRiGgEr
04-10-2006, 06:30 PM
I ran my Kenwood @ 2ohms on the front channels.

You can do it. But run the risk of blowing the internal amp. So it is not recommended. You also void any warranty from the manufacturer.