PDA

View Full Version : Cutting aeroports



Raisedin305
04-07-2006, 11:05 PM
OK I need to know if I am doing this right...

I have 8 aeroports that are 17" Long. I need them at 10.5". Do I just disconnect both ends and cut the center part 6.5"? Let me know ASAP so I can get this done tonight.

PhatTonyDeMarco
04-07-2006, 11:05 PM
Yes. Remove the flare and cut off the excess.

InhumanAcura
04-07-2006, 11:10 PM
if they're 4", yes...if they are 6", you have to acount for the amount to slides into the flare.

edit: ****, i sound like retard here. lol..

Raisedin305
04-07-2006, 11:16 PM
if they're 4", yes...if they are 6", you have to acount for the amount to slides into the flare.
Yep, they're 4".

PhatTonyDeMarco
04-07-2006, 11:17 PM
Yep, they're 4".
When are you going to get a chance to finish this project?

Next time I'm in Miami I would love to hear it :)

Quicker660r
04-07-2006, 11:18 PM
So each flare eqauls 2"?

Raisedin305
04-07-2006, 11:20 PM
When are you going to get a chance to finish this project?

Next time I'm in Miami I would love to hear it :)Hopefully tomorrow. That's why I am rushing everything. I have been working on the box since I got out of school. Had to stop for like 3 hours to get some other things out of the way. Now I am back on it. Im just going to finish cutting the ports and glueing the flares on and call it a day. Then wake up at 7:00 to finish off the box and set everything up for the show on Sunday

Raisedin305
04-07-2006, 11:20 PM
So each flare eqauls 2"?Huh? I am just trimming to length from 17" down to 10.5"

Raisedin305
04-07-2006, 11:23 PM
Im off now to cut them...I'll host pics when im done.

SPL140.2
04-07-2006, 11:26 PM
when i did mine they suggested subtracting 5" from overall length, example

need 2 4" aeros at 10" long subtract 5" from 10" and cut the tube to 5"

egg

Quicker660r
04-07-2006, 11:48 PM
when i did mine they suggested subtracting 5" from overall length, example

need 2 4" aeros at 10" long subtract 5" from 10" and cut the tube to 5"

egg


That's what I'm talking about.

Does the flare eqaul 2" or 2.5"? I read in another post it was 2.5" also!
I need to know because I'm about to cut mine.

If you need it 10.5" then you would cut the tube 5.5".If the flare is 2.5"

Raisedin305
04-07-2006, 11:50 PM
:laugh: Wish I would have read this before I started cutting. Oh well I only cut one tube though and the whole length came out to 13.5 because I cut the center tube only to 10.5 with the flares added it came out to 13.5

Looks Like I need to take 3 more inches off the center tube.:D

SPL140.2
04-07-2006, 11:50 PM
on mine it was 5" total so 2.5" a piece. those were precision 4" aeros

egg

Raisedin305
04-07-2006, 11:52 PM
Also, after I am done cutting I am supposed to glue the flare part that shows outside of the box with glue and the other flare that goes inside the box I glue after I put the front side into the box already?

What im saying is right now I can only glue the side that goes outside of the box, right?

Raisedin305
04-07-2006, 11:52 PM
on mine it was 5" total so 2.5" a piece. those were precision 4" aeros

egg
Same ones I have.

SPL140.2
04-07-2006, 11:56 PM
Also, after I am done cutting I am supposed to glue the flare part that shows outside of the box with glue and the other flare that goes inside the box I glue after I put the front side into the box already?

What im saying is right now I can only glue the side that goes outside of the box, right?
Did you cut the hole the size of the flared end that goes into the box. if so glue them all together and slide it in the hole. OR use duct tape and tape it all together and see if itll go into the hole.

egg

Raisedin305
04-07-2006, 11:59 PM
Did you cut the hole the size of the flared end that goes into the box. if so glue them all together and slide it in the hole. OR use duct tape and tape it all together and see if itll go into the hole.

egg
Nah I am cutting the wholes for the flares tomorrow. I cut the holes the size of the outside of the flare or inside (beginning) of the flare? I was going to do the inside of the flare.

SPL140.2
04-08-2006, 12:04 AM
Nah I am cutting the wholes for the flares tomorrow. I cut the holes the size of the outside of the flare or inside (beginning) of the flare? I was going to do the inside of the flare.
put it where you want it on the box take the end that doesnt have the screw holes it should be the smallest flare and trace around it and cut it out with a jig saw or sabre saw thats what I did. then i bought foam insulation with the sticky end on it for insualting doors windows.... around the hole than mounted the aero. search for test enclosure #1 has pics of it.

egg

Raisedin305
04-08-2006, 12:08 AM
put it where you want it on the box take the end that doesnt have the screw holes it should be the smallest flare and trace around it and cut it out with a jig saw or sabre saw thats what I did. then i bought foam insulation with the sticky end on it for insualting doors windows.... around the hole than mounted the aero. search for test enclosure #1 has pics of it.

eggOK I have PVC glue, I heard that works fine.

SPL140.2
04-08-2006, 12:15 AM
OK I have PVC glue, I heard that works fine.
thatll work :D

Lakota
04-08-2006, 12:50 AM
Wouldn't an aeroport sticky be nice?

Raisedin305
04-08-2006, 01:46 AM
Wouldn't an aeroport sticky be nice?
Yep. Got the job done. Will post pics in my other thread.