PDA

View Full Version : aero: internal vs. external



terry6405
04-03-2006, 03:56 AM
ive decided i want to use 4 aero ports for the box im gonna build for my sx15. but i was wondering if i should put them inside, or outside the box. obviously ill get better flow if they are external, but then i have to have a smaller box so i can fit the ports in my trunk

i figured that i can get a box in there that is about 4.6 cu ft with the ports inside

i dont know for sure what i would get if i did them externally but im pretty sure it would be less than 4 cu ft net, unless i had an L shaped box, but i dont know how that would work out

what do you think would be better

im planning to tune beween 36-40hz

i want it as loud as possible

lebomb
04-03-2006, 09:16 AM
Personally, I think the ports on the outside look like total ****. :eyebrow:

But that is just my humble opinion. :p:

terry6405
04-03-2006, 09:57 AM
yea its kinda tacky, and it will make it hard when the time comes to move the box, thats another reason why im debating about it


i think i might be leaning toward internal, unless someone really sparks the argument about it

terry6405
04-03-2006, 10:06 AM
if i do go internal, i plan to do a box more or less exactly like the dual 12" one with 4 - 4" ports, only my SX will be on top

look here
http://www.thecaraudiobox.com/installs/

its the 5th box down, should be very similar

i also want the ports pointing into the cab when the backseat is down, this will also keep my amps cooler when my backseat is up because they are mounted on the back of it. is that a good idea?

Johnny Drama
04-03-2006, 11:55 AM
Ports on outside=louder, but that comes at a price. If you make the box smaller to have room for the aeros outside the port lenth will be longer. If you have tons of room do it outside. If you dont, do it inside.

tRiGgEr
04-03-2006, 11:58 AM
If you're not doing comps inside. Comps outside.

MrSector9
04-03-2006, 12:06 PM
depends to me if you can kinda hide the outside ones.

Come out of the box, 90 angle, run along theback of the box

like this mad asscccciii
________________
|____box________|
|______________

Pop da Hatch
04-03-2006, 02:00 PM
If you're not doing comps inside. Comps outside.

ding ding ding.

terry6405
04-03-2006, 03:15 PM
well, as you can see from my sig, i have coaxals, and that will not change anytime soon

internal it is for me

i really dont have a shitton of room anyway, probly take a few weeks to get it done, but ill post pics

Lakota
04-04-2006, 01:06 AM
Maybe I'm crazy, but I like the look of the ports on the outside. Or maybe I'm just a function>fashion kind of guy?

terry6405
04-04-2006, 02:07 PM
ok im goin internal, but i dont know how i wanna set up the ports

heres some ideas i had, it is the top view, sub will have to fire up to get this big of a box

dem are 31" x 30" x 14"(H)

i numbered them so you could say what number you like

im debating between 1 and 4, but 2 would work really good because it would blow the air directly onto my amps, but the other options make it easy to clear the mounting depth

i think #1 would be cool because air would be goin everywhere:crazy:

terry6405
04-04-2006, 02:18 PM
sorry, thats as big as i could get it

the numbering is

1 2

3 4

3and4 have 4 ports, they are just stacked

terry6405
04-05-2006, 12:12 AM
any other tips to make the box really good? i dont want to ever have to replace it

terry6405
04-05-2006, 09:52 AM
bump