PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse owners: how many use the "advanced/pro" mode?



kingsxman
04-01-2006, 10:02 PM
I've got a 8445 and love it. However, I wish the "advanced mode" offered a bit more "full" sound to it. I mainly listen to rock and have found that using the time alignment in the standard mode tends to make the overall front stage "fuller" sounding than what I get in advanced. It tends to be very focused...almost like 70 % of the sound is in a tigher dispersion above my dash in the middle of the car. I'm sure thats what they're going for..but I just wish I could readjust it some so the soundstage is wider.

I do perfer the tighter bass from advanced mode and it sounds like the bass is a bit less easy to locate...but overall I dont use it much.

Has anyone else found this to be the case?

Shinobi
04-01-2006, 11:24 PM
Pro mode all the way you have to tweak ur settings in pro mode but overall its worth it b/c you have alot more options in that mode.

squeak9798
04-01-2006, 11:27 PM
I've got a 8445 and love it. However, I wish the "advanced mode" offered a bit more "full" sound to it. I mainly listen to rock and have found that using the time alignment in the standard mode tends to make the overall front stage "fuller" sounding than what I get in advanced. It tends to be very focused...almost like 70 % of the sound is in a tigher dispersion above my dash in the middle of the car. I'm sure thats what they're going for..but I just wish I could readjust it some so the soundstage is wider.

I do perfer the tighter bass from advanced mode and it sounds like the bass is a bit less easy to locate...but overall I dont use it much.

Has anyone else found this to be the case?

Sounds to be like you are hearing differences in the setting between pro mode and regular.

You're bass shouldn't be "tighter" in pro mode, unless you have something adjusted differently between them.


Anyways...with my 8053 I used Pro Mode.

Speedyd718
04-02-2006, 12:05 AM
always

mikegett
04-02-2006, 11:52 AM
I have the 8455, but I perfer the pro mode as well. The added controls over crossovers make the unit well worth it. I might have a few things to try. You stated that normal feels fuller. You may have a crossover or slope changed that is removing some frequencies. Another thing, the one I am betting on, is that you have circle surround on in normal. If your HU is like the 8455 it can't be used in pro mode. Circle surround is meant to give the illusion of fuller sounding depth from your speakers. I noticed that at low volumes it does a decent job at it.

kingsxman
04-02-2006, 12:47 PM
I have the 8455, but I perfer the pro mode as well. The added controls over crossovers make the unit well worth it. I might have a few things to try. You stated that normal feels fuller. You may have a crossover or slope changed that is removing some frequencies. Another thing, the one I am betting on, is that you have circle surround on in normal. If your HU is like the 8455 it can't be used in pro mode. Circle surround is meant to give the illusion of fuller sounding depth from your speakers. I noticed that at low volumes it does a decent job at it.

Good ideas. I have the xover points set the same on normal and advance. (63/hz). I have experimented with the slopes a bit and that seems to mainly affect the bass. The "fullness" I'm talking about is exactly like you described: surround sound. Actually, on the 8445 its opposite: it can be used in Advanced mode but not normal mode. I have tried using it in advanced mode but the music isnt as crisp as with it off. I did however see that there are some things you can do with CS and True bass that I didnt realize. maybe I'll try tweaking that. But I think your on the right track because that is EXACTLY what it seems like the issue is: surround sound.

I believe everyone here has referred to Pro mode and has a deck other than the 8445. I wonder if there is a big difference between the settings you have in pro mode (8455) vs advanced mode (8445).

pimpedout97x
04-02-2006, 12:51 PM
i have the cd8445, and i dont use the pro mode now, becuase i have crappy pioneer 3 way coax....when my diamond d661s's get here, and i have a set in the kicks and a set in the front doors, ill prally use the pro mode...it distorts my pioneers tho now...so i have it off with the bass on -6 =(

knotslck
04-02-2006, 03:12 PM
i have an 8053. don't use pro mode right now have played around with it a little. all i have is some co-axials up front. so i'll probaly use it when i get some comps. up front. but yeah it is pretty sweet from what i have used.

kingsxman
04-02-2006, 03:21 PM
I have rainbow comps up front. My rears are Type R 2 ways.

Ali G
04-02-2006, 03:38 PM
All I use is Pro Mode.

headless
04-02-2006, 03:41 PM
Pro mode is all i use also. (8454 here though.)

alphakenny1
04-02-2006, 10:43 PM
i also use pro mode. but thats very odd how changing from one mode to the other can change the sound, unless like squeak said you have some sort of different settings between the two.

FoxPro5
04-03-2006, 09:25 AM
When I used the 8445 I believe I ran it in Advanced mode with the CSII on. The CSII, form what I recall gave the music a lot more fuller and defined sound as you have said. I also used it normal with the T/A set to Front, but if you have rear speakers I'm guessing it would sound best with the CSII on. There are also a few settings that you can adjust for the True Bass if I remember correctly. I would also double check that loudness is off....it is the factory default and I think it totally ruins the sound.

On my 8053 I have to used Pro Mode because I'm running active off of it.

kingsxman
04-03-2006, 09:55 AM
John, you are the man! I actually went and spend a bit of time with this yesterday. I always ran CSII off as it sounded just goofy with it on. This time, I turned it on and then went in and changed some other settings: mono to stereo for bass, phase, readjusted EQ. Your right about not being able to set the TA for "front". However, I dont really need it as it sounds good without that adjustment. Long story short....it now is sounding better than normal mode. One of the great things about these Eclipse decks is all the settings you have access to. It's also a pain if you dont spend the time on it.

Where is the loudness control? I dont recall seeing that.

Johnny Drama
04-03-2006, 09:59 AM
Hold the volume button down.

I use pro mode...and wouldnt have it any other way.

kingsxman
04-04-2006, 04:45 PM
Hold the volume button down.

I use pro mode...and wouldnt have it any other way.


I tried holding volume button down...

didnt do anything....

Johnny Drama
04-04-2006, 04:48 PM
Which model eclipse?

alphakenny1
04-04-2006, 04:53 PM
8445

alphakenny1
04-04-2006, 04:54 PM
also actually to get into pro mode i believe you hold down the "sound" button. well at least on my 8455.

kingsxman
04-04-2006, 09:00 PM
also actually to get into pro mode i believe you hold down the "sound" button. well at least on my 8455.

Yep, holding down the "sound" button is how you get into "advanced" mode on the 8445. I was wondering about this "loudness" thing... I dont think the 8445 has it.

alphakenny1
04-04-2006, 09:01 PM
ic sorry about not reading the post. but yes holding down my volume control button will turn on/off the loudness feature.

FoxPro5
04-04-2006, 10:14 PM
Yep, holding down the "sound" button is how you get into "advanced" mode on the 8445. I was wondering about this "loudness" thing... I dont think the 8445 has it.

It's probably not on then Jeff. I know that I've freaked a few times after unhooking the battery and then restaring the deck to find hear my mids rumbling like crazy only to remember that the **** loudness on. In normal mode if you hold down the volume/source button for two seconds it will switch it on and off. I guess you would have to look in the manual to double check that.

Glad you got it working in your favor....and I know what you mean there are so many adjustments on that thing that it gives you a headache some times. :crazy:

Slaugh
04-05-2006, 09:19 AM
i use 3way mode on my alpine... never going back to passive crossover

faulkton
04-05-2006, 10:16 AM
Does the 8454 have CSII and how is it accessed?

Johnny Drama
04-05-2006, 10:19 AM
Does the 8454 have CSII and how is it accessed?

CSII???

FoxPro5
04-05-2006, 04:09 PM
Does the 8454 have CSII and how is it accessed?

No....only on the 05-06's....Circle Surround II w/ True Bass....borderline gimmicky for me but is does enhance the surround feeling of the music if that's what your into....works for kingsxman b/c he is running rears ;)

Hundreth
04-05-2006, 09:28 PM
Yep, holding down the "sound" button is how you get into "advanced" mode on the 8445. I was wondering about this "loudness" thing... I dont think the 8445 has it.

It does have loudness. But you can't turn it on if CSII is also on. Its either one of the other. Turn CSII off and then hold down the volume knob again, it should work.

The owner's manual is your friend. ;)

kingsxman
04-06-2006, 06:50 PM
The owner's manual is your friend. ;)


LOL. I hear ya man. The only problem is I dont have it with me at work!

kingsxman
04-07-2006, 06:52 AM
As usual...Foxpro (and others) are right. Loudness does work in both advanced and normal. I was trying it in advanced when I had the CDII on. No go then.
Took CDII off and loudness does work to turn it on and off.

Foxpro is also right in that I have rear speakers and it makes CSII sound better. It almost brings the stage back too far I think. its odd. John, you'll have to hear it.

thanks again all for your help.