PDA

View Full Version : port area



angryeric116
03-31-2006, 02:14 PM
what happens to sq and spl when port area is increased, but not port length?

Beat_Dominator
03-31-2006, 02:44 PM
If you increase just area your tuning frequency will go up in Hz...quite quickly I might add. This will eventually kill the output of the lowest frequencies.... most would describe a sub with very high tuning as "boomy" or "muddy".

angryeric116
03-31-2006, 03:08 PM
well im looking at moe lesters box plan for 2.5cubes at 32hz
but i dont think i could fit 2 12"s into it what can i do?
it needs to be about 32"w and 16"h and depth dosent really matter

Beat_Dominator
03-31-2006, 03:11 PM
Ask him to design you a box specifically for your application.

springy101
03-31-2006, 03:11 PM
well then calculate the size of that box in ft3 and just take away from one length and add to another until you get around the same size.