PDA

View Full Version : port size for 2 subs?



bigdub_diesel
03-21-2006, 10:42 PM
i was told on here that it was okay to have 2 subs share the same port as long as the port area was correct. How does the port area change when there are 2 subs as opposed to 1? In case this is at all necessary, i have 2 mtx 5500 12" subs that i will be porting.

j3bus2k3
03-21-2006, 10:45 PM
Well obviously your going to need more port area for a greater number of subs to reduce port noise. The last thing you want his a high pitched scream while your bumpin. I dont know what MTX recommends but I'd say 50in^2 of port area would be adequate.

mobeious
03-21-2006, 11:32 PM
i usually do 10 sq in of port per cube