PDA

View Full Version : Ridiculous port lengths



Bolognablake
03-21-2006, 11:27 AM
How do you guys deal with really long port lengths?

I'm doing a 3^ft box tuned to 28 hz. My plan was to use on 4x12.5" port, but after some searching, that seems to be too little port area. But that's also what the manufacture recommends. I also read that you could use PVC elbows to get some more length out of it, but that seems a bit ghetto.

I wouldn't mind using a 6" aero-port, but that puts me at 29". 2 4"ports puts me at 26.75". What would you do?

Also, I don't have anything against slotted boxes, I'm just not competent enough to design one myself yet.

This is for one of the eBaytastic overstock Image Dynamic 15" subs.

Chevyaudio
03-21-2006, 11:33 AM
http://img23.imageshack.us/my.php?image=32cubes28hz5075sqin6qb.png

There is 3.2 at 28Hz...Courtesey of Moe Lesters Box Plans Thread

After sub displacement you will be right at 3 cubes.

Bolognablake
03-21-2006, 11:44 AM
I saw that, but I didn't know how much that would change the tuning.

Chevyaudio
03-21-2006, 12:08 PM
Is there any particular reason you want to tune that low?

DFW40
03-21-2006, 12:23 PM
I usually tune around there as well but he could easily go up to 32hz without causing too much of a hump in the freq resp.

Bolognablake
03-21-2006, 12:24 PM
Is there any particular reason you want to tune that low?

I'm leaning alot more towards SQ and it's what's recommended by the manufacture.

I think I may just build the box from moe lester's design.