PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse 8445 sub output



kingsxman
03-19-2006, 09:51 PM
Couple of questions:
1. Is there any way to completely turn the sub off on this deck? I havent found it yet.
2. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong or not...but there doesnt seem to be alot of adjustment on the sub output level (non-fader output). I can go between -6 and +6 and it sometimes doesnt seem to be a huge difference. I've found that there are songs that simply have too much bass and I havent had enough room to lower the level. I've only had to bring it up to +6 on a few older CD's to get the bass up to where it sounds good.

Are most of you running the "truBass" or not? I found that while it makes the bass sound a bit better....it thins out the whole front stage so much that its not worth it to run it.

MegaHurtz
03-20-2006, 06:57 PM
1. No, you cannot turn off the sub out

2. If the non-fader output can not be turned down enough for you, might I suggest attenuating the lowest band on the PEQ? I have the same problem, and that's what I did.

No truBass junk for me

kingsxman
03-20-2006, 11:44 PM
THanks Mega. I'll try bringing down the lowest PEQ virtual "slider". I am finding that what I might have to do is to bring my gains down farther than I might like.
THis is really a great deck with some great TA functions...but it surprisginly is lacking some really basic features like the ability to turn the sub off completely and a freakin' "pause" button for cd/mp3.

pjm2211
03-21-2006, 12:05 AM
i've got the 8455 and I couldn't agree more about not being able to turn the sub all the way off. I'm thinking about getting one of these.

http://store.yahoo.com/mobile-emotions/bacoreforany.html

alphakenny1
03-21-2006, 12:38 AM
i've got the 8455 and I couldn't agree more about not being able to turn the sub all the way off. I'm thinking about getting one of these.

http://store.yahoo.com/mobile-emotions/bacoreforany.html

oh come on i told you how to turn it off. its just a PITA ;) .

kingsxman
03-21-2006, 09:17 AM
PJM, that unit looks like it might be a good idea. It'd be a pain to mount however with RCA's. Something to consider however....

Just such a basic thing that every deck should have.

That and a pause button for the cd/mp3!!!!

zfactor
03-21-2006, 05:12 PM
i agree fully here ... what a dumb thing not to include two of the most basic functions of some sub 300$$ decks on a deck like the cd8455...

unrealii
04-27-2006, 11:57 PM
The sub can be muted.

Use one of your profiles and set the gain to negative infinity on the time alignment.

:idea:

trd_camry
04-28-2006, 10:39 AM
Here's another option.....

I don't have the cd8445..but if u have enough cash..and a Double Din dash..then buy a add on Pioneer DEQ-7600 15-Band Graphic Equalizer ($199-$299)..Its a DSP processor..with also a sub output..in which u can turn if off and on from it. Just hook the sub preout from the deck to the DSP..then the DSP to the amp.

http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_getprod.php/masterid=412940/

I also got one add to my dash..although my deck doesnt need it..but i hate that empty slot under my deck..so i just add for looks. here take a look..
http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f349/seanvangster/graphiceq.jpg

smgreen20
04-30-2006, 10:53 PM
Unfortunitly, lowering the lowest band on the EQ (63 Hz) wont work. The sub out has NO EQing option. Just the front and rear outputs only. I wish Eclipse would have done w/the 8445/8455 what they did w/the 7000 and that's give the sub out at least 1 band of EQing.

matrxx dude
04-30-2006, 11:08 PM
i got the cd 5000 and nothing effects the sub except the non fading output control,and u can reverse phase if u want on the sub,the crossover and eq are useless on this deck for subs,im really dissapointed in this deck,and yea no pause,that sux.but it looks good,and has 8 volt outputs

bigrobrn
04-30-2006, 11:17 PM
I thought I was the only one with those complaints!!

No pause and no sub off!!!

I'm not alone!!! :crying:

smgreen20
04-30-2006, 11:19 PM
Pause is preset 3 on the 8445/8455 no clue about the new ones.

MegaHurtz
05-01-2006, 06:48 PM
^^ correct, however, pause does not work on MP3 CD, only on audio CD