PDA

View Full Version : HU sub output



hcoronado
03-19-2006, 05:43 PM
sup people,
I have just finished installing a HU new 500/1 amp and sub.

I am having problems adjusting the sub output because the HU has the following settings 50, 65, 80 and 100hz; then the only other settings that I see are - or + dbs and turn ON and OFF.

So here is the questions i have and it is probably hella dumb on my part but need to know.

when adjusting the gain on the amp which of the following settings should i use at the HU to adjust it correctly?(50,65,80 or 100hz) keep in mind that i have 50hz sine wave recorded at 0dbs to adjust the voltage.

thanks for your help.

squeak9798
03-19-2006, 08:09 PM
Set the frequency as high as it'll go. In your case, 100hz.

You don't want the crossover affecting the level of the signal, and henceforth changing where you have the gain set. So, push the crossover point up and "out of the way"

iceteebone
03-19-2006, 09:07 PM
i usually set my xover at where i want it and then adjust the gain. for a subwoofer you'd probably want either 65 or 80 hz. depending on your front stage. i always leave my sub level on zero

hcoronado
03-19-2006, 11:36 PM
So set up the HU sub output to 100hz and go to town with the voltemeter at the amp.

thanks guys

thugpassion
03-20-2006, 12:18 AM
So set up the HU sub output to 100hz and go to town with the voltemeter at the amp.

thanks guys
deffinately the best way to go!

hcoronado
03-21-2006, 09:24 PM
ok so after adjusting the frequency on the HU to 125hz and adjusted the voltage at the amp I noticed that i had to drop .2 volts. Is this normal?

thanks

iceteebone
03-21-2006, 11:28 PM
ok so after adjusting the frequency on the HU to 125hz and adjusted the voltage at the amp I noticed that i had to drop .2 volts. Is this normal?

thanks


what?