PDA

View Full Version : Port - 3?



Phlipbak
03-15-2006, 11:04 PM
Is a 3" port any worse than 4" if theyr tuned to 35 hz? I was gona do 4" but 3" will help thing fit better, i dun wann lose output or sq, will this affect that?

matt_martin87
03-15-2006, 11:12 PM
It depends.

How much port area is recommended?

The smaller the area, the shorter the length of the port will be. And obviously, the bigger the area, the longer the port will be.

Typically, you get less port noise with a bigger area, but there shouldn't be a major difference if built right.

nVRuckus
03-16-2006, 08:36 AM
3" port is more likely to have port noise than a 4" so it really needs more of a flare. Also more port area allows you to use more power ;)

dbornotdb
03-16-2006, 09:31 AM
Is a 3" port any worse than 4" if theyr tuned to 35 hz? I was gona do 4" but 3" will help thing fit better, i dun wann lose output or sq, will this affect that?



It really helps to know what subs the ports would be coupled with.

If it was an 8 or 10" sub, then doing it 3" will probally be just fine. Anything bigger could create noises and big group delays in box performance.