PDA

View Full Version : Box design programs and rendering



AcidicDreams
03-14-2006, 06:05 PM
What program is used to create box printouts with dimensioning, and possibly 3d rendering? I used to use AutoCad but I forgot how, I can't even figure out how to set a dim....

in anycase I'd just like to use a quick and easy prog because I'm going to have someone do the cutting and assembly work for me on my box so I don't have to but $130 worth of tools...

MikeyB
03-14-2006, 06:08 PM
I have used Sketchup and Autodesk Inventor. Inventor is an awesome program, personally I prefer it over Sketchup.

AcidicDreams
03-14-2006, 06:10 PM
I have used Sketchup and Autodesk Inventor. Inventor is an awesome program, personally I prefer it over Sketchup.

hmm sounds good... I loved autocad (was using it in 1999) but the new ones got me stumped... I'll try inventor

MikeyB
03-14-2006, 06:20 PM
Inventor is amazing compared to CAD!!!! Its unreal, takes a little getting used to though. Basically you have multiple sketches and you can draw out the side of the part, then dimension and alter dimensions in any sketch at any time. Then you can extrude, revolve, shell, theres just tons of stuff to do in this program. Theres even a part library with tons of parts for use when creating working assemblies. Just read through some of the tutorials and you'll figure it out. Its not that hard of a program to use at all. Good luck! ;)

AcidicDreams
03-14-2006, 06:32 PM
argg... I already have autocad 2004 laying around, I make a square, make dimensions but can't figure out how to edit them so it resizes the box... it's sooooo basic too.. argg

MikeyB
03-14-2006, 06:35 PM
Yeah with CAD you can't go back and edit dimensions like in Inventor, you just gotta delete em :crap:

trevor87
03-14-2006, 06:37 PM
From pics ive seen sketchup is awesome and never heard of inventor so if you can get sketchup id use that

AcidicDreams
03-14-2006, 06:37 PM
Yeah with CAD you can't go back and edit dimensions like in Inventor, you just gotta delete em :crap:

huh, I remember doing this, but it was old school cad so it must be inventor that I need... argg...

do you know how to set a legth of a line segment in cad...???

MikeyB
03-14-2006, 06:42 PM
Yeah there a couple different ways to do it, I haven't even messed with CAD in a while lol, but you can use polar and just set the angle in the settings for polar, then type in the value when you are creating a line. The other way is to just punch in the points in the command line, type l or line then the points where you want it at. Polar is much easier, but Inventor is awesome. It is such an amazing program, Sketchup is sweet too, but I prefer the layout of Inventor better. Not to mention the different drawings you can create. I usually make a box or whatever, save it then create a .idw file, then you can just slap in whatever views you want of the part, create some dimensions on it for refrence, print it out and then you have a cut sheet. Lemme hop in Inventor and take some screenshots fo ya! ;)

Bolognablake
03-14-2006, 06:53 PM
Jeebus, Autodesk Inventor is a huge program.

MikeyB
03-14-2006, 06:53 PM
http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/8573/untitled13bf.th.png (http://img130.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled13bf.png)

http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/5408/untitled25fn.th.png (http://img130.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled25fn.png)

http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/5730/untitled39nb.th.png (http://img130.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled39nb.png)

http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/5530/untitled49kw.th.png (http://img130.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled49kw.png)

http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/7051/untitled58ox.th.png (http://img128.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled58ox.png)

http://img128.imageshack.us/img128/6968/untitled62ju.th.png (http://img128.imageshack.us/my.php?image=untitled62ju.png)

AcidicDreams
03-14-2006, 06:54 PM
thanks! Inventor FTW!!!

I **** hard with a pen/paper... it's just a big square sealed but but I want to give this guy a nice set of blueprints so he doesn't f*ck it up

MikeyB
03-14-2006, 06:59 PM
Once you use it for a little while and get familiar with it you can create almost anything in no time. I'm not gonna lie, it is weird to use at first, but once you figure it out, its amazing. SketchUp is nice because it is very easy to learn how to use, but in the end when you are familiar with both, Inventor offers a lot more.

Chevyaudio
03-14-2006, 07:00 PM
http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c393/chevyaudio/Blakesfinalbox.jpg

Thats sketch-up...I like it, Its easy as hell to use. I have not tried inverter though...the only other 3d modeling softwares I have worked on is Rhino, and Autocad.

MikeyB
03-14-2006, 07:05 PM
The two programs are kind of similar in some aspects, but SketchUp is definately easy for someone to use that isn't familiar with it. Inventor is a program created for the Manufaturing and Engineering areas, its more of a professional program. I like it a lot though, but its kind of biast because I plan on going into the Manu/Engineering field.

AcidicDreams
03-14-2006, 07:30 PM
sketchup has a ArcGIS plugin which may come in handy someday, though I'm sure inventor has one too... I'll try both...

Chevyaudio
03-14-2006, 07:34 PM
The two programs are kind of similar in some aspects, but SketchUp is definately easy for someone to use that isn't familiar with it. Inventor is a program created for the Manufaturing and Engineering areas, its more of a professional program. I like it a lot though, but its kind of biast because I plan on going into the Manu/Engineering field.


Im a mech engineering major, Personally I prefer Rhino when im doing a more detailed rendering, I only use sketchup for Speaker boxes

MikeyB
03-14-2006, 07:36 PM
I've never even tried out Rhino, heard of it once or twice. One of these days I will have to get a hold of it and give it a whirl. ;)

AcidicDreams
03-14-2006, 11:24 PM
so I am playing with sketchup... not sure I like it... how do I draw a small square, then tell it what dimensions I want the square to be and have it resize the square to those dimensions...?? It's as useless as a pen and paper if I can set dimensions and have it resize an object.

AcidicDreams
03-15-2006, 03:34 PM
wow, inventor works like I want it too... but do I need to make a new part for each peice of MDF or a new sketch? b/c I can't get sketch 2 to extrude... sketch one worked fine...

AcidicDreams
03-15-2006, 03:49 PM
ok nm, I just make new parts... then add constraints... I'm in the assembly panel now but not sure how I got there :) inventor is what I was looking for

:woot:

EDIT: god I love having 46" of screen real estate 24" + 19" FTW!

Bolognablake
03-15-2006, 05:49 PM
EDIT: god I love having 46" of screen real estate 24" + 19" FTW!

Not exactly sure how that math works out... http://members.shaw.ca/snowjeep/smilies/rotfl2.gif

AcidicDreams
03-15-2006, 06:07 PM
Not exactly sure how that math works out... http://members.shaw.ca/snowjeep/smilies/rotfl2.gif

hehe oops.. I meant 43 total... but both are CRT's so it's actually closer to 40...

Bolognablake
03-15-2006, 06:08 PM
hehe oops.. I meant 43 total... but both are CRT's so it's actually closer to 40...

So post some pics of some e-boxes already!

AcidicDreams
03-15-2006, 06:22 PM
So post some pics of some e-boxes already!

I'm still working on it... I've had 2 tests today and have a 3 hour class in 30 min... I'll prob have it all done tomorrow sometime...

Bolognablake
03-15-2006, 08:14 PM
I'm still working on it... I've had 2 tests today and have a 3 hour class in 30 min... I'll prob have it all done tomorrow sometime...

Night classes sux0rz teh big one. I only made that mistake once. But now I have to be up for work at 3am, so a class that gets out at 9pm is past my bed time. :crap:

AcidicDreams
03-15-2006, 08:19 PM
Night classes sux0rz teh big one. I only made that mistake once. But now I have to be up for work at 3am, so a class that gets out at 9pm is past my bed time. :crap:

this one is early enough... 4-7 once a week

AcidicDreams
03-15-2006, 10:44 PM
woot... box is done.. let me get some nice views with dimensions and I'll post it

AcidicDreams
03-15-2006, 10:58 PM
here is a preview

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f356/AcidicDreams/boxpreview.jpg

bimma85
03-15-2006, 11:01 PM
can I get any of these free? if so where? :)

AcidicDreams
03-15-2006, 11:04 PM
can I get any of these free? if so where? :)

Inventor isn't free, neither is sketchup... but I found inventor WAY more useful (once I figure out how to get a nice printout with dimensions for a box builder).... something in here was free though... can't remember what

AcidicDreams
03-15-2006, 11:52 PM
anyways I'm going to make a new thread and see about my box design... I imagine I'll get flamed for having too much bracing...