PDA

View Full Version : Need help connecting a surround sound receiver



Deamonicus
03-10-2006, 02:37 PM
I bought a surround sound reciever and now I don't know how to connect it to my sat receiver. I need to connect a tv, sat receiver, surround sound receiver, and dvd player. Thanks for any help.....

joetama
03-10-2006, 03:50 PM
How are you hooking them up? Analog? Digital (Optical/Coax)?

Video? SVideo? Component?

If you don't know, it would help to know what is on the DVD player, Sat Receiver, TV, and AV Receiver...

Deamonicus
03-10-2006, 05:28 PM
Wow I have know idea what you are talking about. I have only used RCA cables. All components can be connected via rca. I have more options but am comfortable with using rca's but if you think something else is better let me know. My real problem is how the satelite box fits in. :yumyum:

joetama
03-10-2006, 08:18 PM
IF you go about it the most simple way then you will have 3 RCA's from both the sources (DVD and SAT), 2 for audio (L&R) and one for video. The receiver should have labeled channels such as "DVD" or "CABLE/SAT" hook them up to the proper channels simply matching the colors. Black = Audio Left, Red = Audio Right, Yellow = Video. Then to your TV there should be a Video out or "Monitor" Out, hook one RCA from the output of the Receiver to the Input of an Aux channel of the TV. That should be it.

Deamonicus
03-10-2006, 08:48 PM
IF you go about it the most simple way then you will have 3 RCA's from both the sources (DVD and SAT), 2 for audio (L&R) and one for video. The receiver should have labeled channels such as "DVD" or "CABLE/SAT" hook them up to the proper channels simply matching the colors. Black = Audio Left, Red = Audio Right, Yellow = Video. Then to your TV there should be a Video out or "Monitor" Out, hook one RCA from the output of the Receiver to the Input of an Aux channel of the TV. That should be it.

This pretty much what I did. I'll have to check the connection to make sure but right now the receiver is not produing any sound. The sat and dvd both produce a picture on the screen. Thanks for the help....

joetama
03-11-2006, 01:12 AM
Make sure you didn't unhook any of your speaker cables or something like that when you did the hook up.

Deamonicus
03-13-2006, 10:04 AM
I missed one connection!!!!!:yumyum: It was the audio out from the tv to the receiver. If you look at the back panel where all the connections are made it looks like the last audio connection I made would be redundant but for some reason it is neccesary. Thanks guys.....