PDA

View Full Version : port with fiberglass? *pics*



.::DuD3::.
03-07-2006, 05:18 PM
i'm about to fiberglass my hatch, and just by guestimating, it looks as if i have about 1.25cuft of space. i was thinking of trying to port it for my 10" re se, but would this be a good idea? i have it sealed at about .80cuft right now, but i'd like to try it ported and see how it sounds. i have no experience with ports, and am not sure how to do it, but heres a few pics
http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/1607/trunkpic0mv.jpg
http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/7789/trunkpic21ec.jpg
http://img307.imageshack.us/img307/9752/im0024342up.jpg

bjfish11
03-07-2006, 05:21 PM
precision ports ftw

CBFryman2
03-07-2006, 05:39 PM
what you need to design your port is a program that takes gross enclsoure volume and calculates a port for it.

MikeyB
03-07-2006, 05:41 PM
If it was me I would build the box first, and then fill it up with packing peanuts to calculate the volume of the enclosure. From there you could port it using a precision port, they have em at partsexpress.com

IamDeMan
03-07-2006, 05:48 PM
If it was me I would build the box first, and then fill it up with packing peanuts to calculate the volume of the enclosure. From there you could port it using a precision port, they have em at partsexpress.com
X2 not to mention it looks like more than 1.25 from the pic. 4" precision post FTW.

.::DuD3::.
03-07-2006, 05:54 PM
i've read alot on slot ports, but not so much on ports like this. would my best option be to buy 2 precision ports (http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=268-352) and use this calculator to split the length into 2 seperate ports? (http://www.psp-inc.com/psp-inc.com/public_html/..%5Ccgi-bin%5Cport_length_calculator.cgi)

bjfish11
03-07-2006, 05:56 PM
if you calcualte with that calculator just type in 2 ports, and the length you get out is the length of EACH port. And yes, those are the ports to use.

.::DuD3::.
03-07-2006, 06:06 PM
what would be the best to tune it to, re's website recommends 32hz.

bjfish11
03-07-2006, 06:08 PM
id say that sounds like a pretty good place. Good luck with the build.

.::DuD3::.
03-07-2006, 06:10 PM
thanks alot :) i'll post pics when i'm finished

Ctminime
03-07-2006, 06:21 PM
please do....

jujumantb
03-07-2006, 06:25 PM
again, the hardest part is finding the correct volume of the box, make sure you have a way to do that, like noted, packing peanuts work well, or anything that is like it... sand and water are the best for accuracy, but they can get messy.

maldecido33
03-07-2006, 06:27 PM
i'd use sand to measure volume. works the best with FG enclosure. if you don't have the $$ or extra sand, use water. just make sure any wood has a GOOD, solid layer of resin over it.

or you can use packing peanuts :-)

IamDeMan
03-07-2006, 06:45 PM
i've read alot on slot ports, but not so much on ports like this. would my best option be to buy 2 precision ports (http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=268-352) and use this calculator to split the length into 2 seperate ports? (http://www.psp-inc.com/psp-inc.com/public_html/..%5Ccgi-bin%5Cport_length_calculator.cgi)
If you think you only have 1.25 cuft then you are going to have big trouble using 2 precision ports to get 32hz. I think a 10" would be fine with 1. I used only 1 on my 12" Brahma and it's fine. 2 would of course be optimal and I do get a little noise at 20hz test tone, but on music it is fine.

.::DuD3::.
03-07-2006, 06:49 PM
If you think you only have 1.25 cuft then you are going to have big trouble using 2 precision ports to get 32hz. I think a 10" would be fine with 1. I used only 1 on my 12" Brahma and it's fine. 2 would of course be optimal and I do get a little noise at 20hz test tone, but on music it is fine.
yeah after playing around with the calculator, if i did it correctly, i found that a 3" port tuned at 32hz would have a lenght of about 13.5" which would fit perfectly.

.::DuD3::.
03-07-2006, 06:53 PM
i'd use sand to measure volume. works the best with FG enclosure. if you don't have the $$ or extra sand, use water. just make sure any wood has a GOOD, solid layer of resin over it.

or you can use packing peanuts :-)
i have a 1^3ft box laying around, so i thought i'd use packing peanuts. i think it should be about 1.25^3ft just because my old box sat in the exact place without the little indention by the panel. i was guessing that'd add about a 1/4 of a cuft.