PDA

View Full Version : Not loud enough....amp?



Jacobman
03-07-2006, 11:39 AM
I currently have the alpine type-s 6 1/2 coaxial speakers and they are not loud enough for my car, also my deck only puts out 18 rms. So i was thinking of getting a bigger amp for my sub and using the Phoenix gold M25 to power them, it puts out 2x70rms. But the rated wattage for the speakers are 40rms, couldnt i just not turn it up the loudest it could go and be safe. I do plan to get a new component set of speakers that could better use the amp but not yet, can i still use this amp for the speakers if being safe

squeak9798
03-07-2006, 12:47 PM
Yes. You will be fine as long as you use your head. Set the crossover and gain correctly and you will be good to do.

Jacobman
03-07-2006, 12:59 PM
I dont think my deck has a built in crossover, but i will learn to set the bass and gain stuff on my amp before i do this. I mean wont i be able to hear if its starting to distort and then turn the bass down a little, like you said use my head.