PDA

View Full Version : Viper 791xv starts on its own!



rcantu
03-06-2006, 02:07 AM
hey all, I thought it was my imagination but I just watched my transmitter beep and start the truck. I was 3 ft from the transmitter so I know it was me. My neighbor told me my parking lights were flashing 1 night so it had to be running at that time.

any thoughts?

Justin89T
03-06-2006, 07:09 AM
you put it in timer mode. your car is starting every 3 hours.

turn the ignition on and hit the brake, that will pull the brain out of timer mode

SPLThunder
03-06-2006, 07:20 AM
and read the instructions

Blados
03-06-2006, 07:24 AM
and read the instructions
PWNED!

rcantu
03-06-2006, 07:51 AM
Hey you know I never thought about reading....hummm never dawned on me to try to do my own research and actually start with the documentation I have in hand.

Splthunder...thanks for enlightening me on this.
:rolleyes:


you know I did read instructions but the manuals I have in the box are wrong. It's the correct manual but the wrong info. for example to start the car the manual says to use the Star button. well I use the lock and unlock at the same time! Also to do a double pulse unlock I READ the manual and it stated a certain menu # that would take care of it. Not the case. I downloaded the manual from Directech and guess what? different menu and still didn't work. Got the Bitwriter to take care of that instead.

Also I went to Directed site for the owner's manual. Guess what? doesn't say anything.

So where do you suggest I can get a proper manual so I can read the instructions? I got them direct from the source on paper and from the manufacturer's website.

Any of your helpful and awe inspiring advice is welcome.




and read the instructions

rcantu
03-06-2006, 07:52 AM
hey thanks for your help. I really appreciate it.


you put it in timer mode. your car is starting every 3 hours.

turn the ignition on and hit the brake, that will pull the brain out of timer mode

Blados
03-06-2006, 08:16 AM
Hey you know I never thought about reading....hummm never dawned on me to try to do my own research and actually start with the documentation I have in hand.

Splthunder...thanks for enlightening me on this.
:rolleyes:


you know I did read instructions but the manuals I have in the box are wrong. It's the correct manual but the wrong info. for example to start the car the manual says to use the Star button. well I use the lock and unlock at the same time! Also to do a double pulse unlock I READ the manual and it stated a certain menu # that would take care of it. Not the case. I downloaded the manual from Directech and guess what? different menu and still didn't work. Got the Bitwriter to take care of that instead.

Also I went to Directed site for the owner's manual. Guess what? doesn't say anything.

So where do you suggest I can get a proper manual so I can read the instructions? I got them direct from the source on paper and from the manufacturer's website.

Any of your helpful and awe inspiring advice is welcome.
To start the car you can either use the lock + unlock, or hit the star button twice. I can do it either way with mine. I highly doubt that your manuals are wrong. I suppose it's possible that whoever installed your alarm did something wrong, but if your other features work fine I doubt it.

KaeZoo
03-06-2006, 08:57 AM
Lock + Unlock is timer mode. If it flashes 4 times when you activate the remote start, you're putting it in timer mode. It resets with the ignition key so if you drive it right afterwards it won't start again.

The star button is the remote start activation; it will respond with one flash.

rcantu
03-06-2006, 11:21 AM
thanks guys. appreciate it.

SPLThunder
03-06-2006, 02:28 PM
PWNED!



Why do you have to assume I meant it this way.
I have and install 791xv's. I have read the owners manual and instruction manual and I know it states exactly how to turn the timer mode on. If you had read this manual you would have known about this feature. I just get people asking me questions like this all time at work and really want them to know it does help to read the manual on ALL new technology the buy. Usually after I ask them if the read the manual most people said no or that they just threw it away. I wanted to make sure you hadn't done that.

dantheman8328
03-06-2006, 03:00 PM
what exactly is the purpose of the timer mode? when would you ever use it??

KaeZoo
03-06-2006, 03:34 PM
If you're in a very, very cold location, and the temperature is going to drop below zero overnight, timer mode will start the vehicle and run it every three hours so the engine never gets too cold to start. Not usually an issue in Maryland, but it's a nice feature in Minnesota.

Blunt
03-06-2006, 03:42 PM
If you're in a very, very cold location, and the temperature is going to drop below zero overnight, timer mode will start the vehicle and run it every three hours so the engine never gets too cold to start. Not usually an issue in Maryland, but it's a nice feature in Minnesota.


jsut dont forget to turn the stereo down lol

Justin89T
03-06-2006, 06:25 PM
If you're in a very, very cold location, and the temperature is going to drop below zero overnight, timer mode will start the vehicle and run it every three hours so the engine never gets too cold to start. Not usually an issue in Maryland, but it's a nice feature in Minnesota.


Yeah, I wish there was a way to change that 3 hours... it's been so **** cold in Washington (well has been the past few months) the car is completely cold within about 30 minutes.... every three ehours is pointless :)

Shyne151
03-06-2006, 10:14 PM
LMAO... third time I've saw this(first two customers at work). It's not hard listen to what the installer tells you. Start twice starts. Lock and unlock together = timer mode.

dak0ta_g33k
03-09-2006, 12:39 AM
jsut dont forget to turn the stereo down lol

my stereo wont work with the remote start until the key is in the ignition, turned either to run or acc; no worries there.

i'll add that i need to push the star button three times to get the remote startup. my installer told me remote start was [lock + unlock]

6spdcoupe
03-09-2006, 03:10 AM
my stereo wont work with the remote start until the key is in the ignition, turned either to run or acc; no worries there.

i'll add that i need to push the star button three times to get the remote startup. my installer told me remote start was [lock + unlock]


If your installer told you three times, then He set it that way. Default is two times and its selectable between one,two or three.

SPLThunder
03-10-2006, 12:51 AM
my stereo wont work with the remote start until the key is in the ignition, turned either to run or acc; no worries there.

i'll add that i need to push the star button three times to get the remote startup. my installer told me remote start was [lock + unlock]



You should tell them to hook up the acc wire to the RS.

Personally I start my car and roll down the windows to find it in a full parking lot. :)