PDA

View Full Version : Areoport Box Builders...



DaGh0st
03-05-2006, 07:52 PM
i have a few qustions on box building with areoports.
1. How do you Find port displacement?
2. Would you count port displacement if you had them outside the box?
3. would 5 4in or 2 6in be better for 2 15" SX's?
4. If the calculator says 31in in length for the port is that 31 divided by the number of areoports?
Thanks

SPL140.2
03-05-2006, 08:23 PM
i have a few qustions on box building with areoports.
1. How do you Find port displacement?
2. Would you count port displacement if you had them outside the box?
3. would 5 4in or 2 6in be better for 2 15" SX's?
4. If the calculator says 31in in length for the port is that 31 divided by the number of areoports?
Thanks

If you put 5 4" aeroports in the calculator and it came up with 31" long, each aeroport will have to be that long ;) Id go with 2 6" aeroports instead 5-4" ones. I went with 2-4" aeroports because it was cheaper than the 1-6". Plus some say they gain with the 6" and some say they lose, so its pretty much up in the air.

DaGh0st
03-06-2006, 10:34 AM
any more help?

nVRuckus
03-06-2006, 10:42 AM
if its outside the box you dont need displacement because there is none. im not exactly sure on calculating the area of a round port myself :(

SPL140.2
03-06-2006, 12:50 PM
if its outside the box you dont need displacement because there is none. im not exactly sure on calculating the area of a round port myself :(

This may help

www.memphiscaraudio.com/LiveImages/114/27/DocumentURL.pdf%23search='port%2520displacement%25 20of%2520round%2520port'

DaGh0st
03-06-2006, 05:21 PM
link didnt work for me

MikeyB
03-06-2006, 05:23 PM
You calculate the port displacement by multiplying the surface area by the length of the port.

3onDubs
03-06-2006, 05:23 PM
link didnt work for me

Take off the slash at the end

InhumanAcura
03-06-2006, 05:23 PM
are you trying to do a good #, or are you putting together a daily system?

tRiGgEr
03-06-2006, 05:27 PM
i have a few qustions on box building with areoports.
1. How do you Find port displacement?
2. Would you count port displacement if you had them outside the box?
3. would 5 4in or 2 6in be better for 2 15" SX's?
4. If the calculator says 31in in length for the port is that 31 divided by the number of areoports?
Thanks

1. Radius^2 x PI x Length = Displacment
2. No.
3. 5 4in ports would give more port surface area (better). But 3 each driver is ideal.
4. 31" for each port.

3onDubs
03-06-2006, 05:27 PM
You calculate the port displacement by multiplying the surface area by the length of the port.

Wouldn't the surface area be the area of the circle opening.?

IF that's right, then the displacement of a 4" port that is 12" long would be (pie symbol) x 48.

tRiGgEr
03-06-2006, 05:28 PM
Wouldn't the surface area be the area of the circle opening.?

IF that's right, then the displacement of a 4" port that is 12" long would be (pie symbol) x 48.

Basic High School math.

To find the surface area of a circle you multiply the Radius by itself (R^2) then multiply that figure by Pi(3.14).

3onDubs
03-06-2006, 05:32 PM
Basic High School math.

To find the surface area of a circle you multiply the Radius by itself (R^2) then multiply that figure by Pi(3.14).

So then the answer would be yes. I was inquiring as to whether "surface area" was refering to the surface area of the cylinder, or the circle opening.

tRiGgEr
03-06-2006, 05:37 PM
So then the answer would be yes. I was inquiring as to whether "surface area" was refering to the surface area of the cylinder, or the circle opening.

No.

Your equation for finding the displacment was incorrect. a 4" port 12" long would displace 0.09ft^3.

You do not multiply the Diameter by the length. You first find the surface area using the equation I supplied, then multiply that by the length.

DaGh0st
03-06-2006, 05:37 PM
are you trying to do a good #, or are you putting together a daily system?
both it will be in a daily driver but i want to put a nice number up for local comps.
Last year 1st place was 149.x

3onDubs
03-06-2006, 05:44 PM
No.

Your equation for finding the displacment was incorrect. a 4" port 12" long would displace 0.09ft^3.

You do not multiply the Diameter by the length. You first find the surface area using the equation I supplied, then multiply that by the length.

PI r squared....isn't the radius 2", so the area is 4 PI...times the length, which is 12", giving us 48 PI. Is that wrong?

InhumanAcura
03-06-2006, 05:47 PM
both it will be in a daily driver but i want to put a nice number up for local comps.
Last year 1st place was 149.x

Go with the 6" aero's....keep them as far from the sub as possible...

what kind of vehicle and what are your max dims? sry if this has been posted :blush:

if this is an suv, you wanna buy a box for 2 15"s and 2 6" aeros for cheap?

MikeyB
03-06-2006, 05:49 PM
PI r squared....isn't the radius 2", so the area is 4 PI...times the length, which is 12", giving us 48 PI. Is that wrong?

Thats right, the displacement would then be .09

DaGh0st
03-06-2006, 05:51 PM
96 taurus not to sure of MAX demsions but its right around H15D28L30 but i also have to save some room for my amps and a 2nd batt

DaGh0st
03-06-2006, 05:52 PM
my current box is 3.6 cubic foot but i know i can get 4-4.5 useing external areoports

InhumanAcura
03-06-2006, 05:52 PM
96 taurus not to sure of MAX demsions but its right around H15D28L30 but i also have to save some room for my amps and a 2nd batt

can you do 15.5"s tall and ~38"s deep (including room for the aeroports to have clearance)

DaGh0st
03-06-2006, 05:56 PM
should be able to can the areaports stick throught the back seat in comps?(fold down)

InhumanAcura
03-06-2006, 06:09 PM
should be able to can the areaports stick throught the back seat in comps?(fold down)

just not past the line where the seat would be, i suppose...

id fire them back or to the side before i fired em forward tho..

DaGh0st
03-06-2006, 06:12 PM
i might be able to point the ports to the side (half in the box half out the box ok?)

InhumanAcura
03-06-2006, 06:15 PM
i might be able to point the ports to the side (half in the box half out the box ok?)

eh, if you have to...id try to keep them external if youre going for #'s...and internal daily.

DaGh0st
03-06-2006, 06:16 PM
Thank you Sir + rep

InhumanAcura
03-06-2006, 06:33 PM
n/p :)