PDA

View Full Version : are my hu's preouts damaged



Ricky616
03-05-2006, 07:19 PM
i have a pioneer6700mp when ever i hook up the white cable on either preout it made the amp make a grinding noise it only did this after i unhooked my kenwood excelon and hooked it up to a used mtx4244 at first i taught it was the rca's> But then i tryed new rca's and did same thing its like a grinding noise. like how much would it be too fix this hu or how can i solve this issue:furious:

pwnt by pat
03-05-2006, 07:20 PM
Got grammar? Try grounding the RCA's at the head unit and see if that fixes your noise.

You might have the ground trace problem.

Ricky616
03-05-2006, 07:24 PM
Got grammar? Try grounding the RCA's at the head unit and see if that fixes your noise.

You might have the ground trace problem.
oh sorry about the grammer. Also it never did this till i hooked it up to the mtx amp that i bought from someone on ca.com:crap: how do i ground it? but will i still be able to control the sub bass level from my HU

pwnt by pat
03-05-2006, 07:27 PM
You'll still have full control. All you have to do is take some wire and strip a couple of inches from one end. Wrap that long exposed area around the connection point between the rcas of the head unit and cable so you get metal-on-metal contact. Then put some tape over it to keep it in place. Finally, attach the other end of the wire to a ground location. Do this for each channel you have ran.

On a side note, did you try the other amp yet?

Ricky616
03-05-2006, 07:29 PM
i tryed the kenwood excelon amp and it did same thing. Could it have been the mtx amp that damaged my Hu's preout, the dashboard is off so im going to try that but i did the same thing except i only did that to the white input from hu and i didnt attach it to bare metal and it went away but i dont think the sub was working:confused:

pwnt by pat
03-05-2006, 07:34 PM
If you attached a wire at one end and not the other then the wire might as well not be there...

Was the HU on when you unplugged it? If so, you probably blew the ground trace.

Ricky616
03-05-2006, 07:35 PM
If you attached a wire at one end and not the other then the wire might as well not be there...

Was the HU on when you unplugged it? If so, you probably blew the ground trace.
well the first time it was off then it was on and i disconnected only the white fron the mtx because it made that grinding noise. How can i repair the ground trace. This hu didnt have ground noise and its soo nice i really dont have money to buy a new HU at the moment :crap:

Ricky616
03-05-2006, 07:46 PM
any ideas how to fix this i need to know so i can assemble the dashboard back asap someone help me

Ricky616
03-05-2006, 08:09 PM
if the ground trace is blown would grounding the preout still work also it does this on both preouts i think front,sub

PepsiFiend69
03-05-2006, 11:27 PM
i had the ground trace problem with my pioneer, grounded the RCA's, and works becautifully now.

Ricky616
03-05-2006, 11:45 PM
ok so if i ground then it would get fixed ok so im not going to buy a new hu i was planning on selling my Hu to a friend for 100 and then buying anotherpioneer6700mp for 190

Ricky616
03-14-2006, 06:38 PM
problem solved all i had to do was ground it it works great now thanks for the help :D

pwnt by pat
03-14-2006, 07:33 PM
I wish it was that easy for my p860mp :( Too bad 'cause now I have a ural coming