PDA

View Full Version : Ran out of Outputs!!!



Showrides
03-04-2006, 12:05 AM
I am trying to hook up my new surround sound system with my sub. The problem is i don't know where to go from here. My tv has 2 left and 2 right speaker outputs. I hooked these 4 outputs to my recievers 4 inputs. My reciever also has a Center speaker, and subwoofer input. The problem is my tv doesn't have a center speaker or subwoofer output!!! What do i do?

Thanks.

PV Audio
03-04-2006, 12:07 AM
IIRC, the receiver should use low level inputs to connect to the TV. The center channel and the subwoofer are just plugged straight into the receiver.

Showrides
03-04-2006, 12:20 AM
IIRC, the receiver should use low level inputs to connect to the TV. The center channel and the subwoofer are just plugged straight into the receiver.

First let me say what i did to hook it up. I had the tv outputs hook up into the 6 channel jack inputs on the reciever. Is that the right thing to do? I am sorry but I don't understand what you want me to do. What is iirc? Since i have a seperate amp for the sub I thought i had to have an output going from the reciever into the input for the sub. Sorry for making you explain more, but I am just such a noob to home audio.

ballstothewall
03-04-2006, 01:06 AM
Well, I can try to explain it, bear with me here.

From the TV you take the output audio which is going to be a female RCA jack, using a RCA cable you will go to probably a TV Input on your receiver (it'll be labeled). Just match up the corresponding labels on the TV to your receiver

To hook up your sub to your receiver, If you only have one RCA jack for your sub out, get a "Y" adapter and run RCA cables to the Behringer then run speaker wire to your sub.

TV----->corresponding Inputs on the Receiver--------->RCA SUB OUT to the Behringer----->Wire up the sub and pound away

Make sure to check the manual on the behringer and set up the switches in the back so you have it set on brideged (if your running a single sub setup, which I think you are) and have the lowcut filters OFF and set the crossover over on your receiver around 60-80hz.

Off topic
I jus tlooked at my manual for my amp, and its in about 5 different lanugages, but not one of them is english.... Might be part of the reason I got it cheaper.... hmm

Showrides
03-04-2006, 01:07 AM
I just took pictures to help you guys out.

Picture 1 tv, picture 2 reciever.

http://myspace-909.vo.llnwd.net/00542/90/99/542759909_m.jpg

picture 2.

http://myspace-465.vo.llnwd.net/00542/56/40/542760465_m.jpg

ballstothewall
03-04-2006, 01:08 AM
**** forgot something there.

You will have to get and RCA to XLR MALE adapter cable so you can hook up the amp, since there are no RCA inputs on it.

ballstothewall
03-04-2006, 01:08 AM
mind making thos pics a little bigger for us please?

Showrides
03-04-2006, 01:12 AM
sorry about that let me blow them up.

Yeah i found out that $15 mono rca cable i bought was useless for hooking up to the behringer amp. I will need a different cable to do that. I will look into the one you suggested. I hope it is the correct one.

Showrides
03-04-2006, 01:13 AM
http://myspace-909.vo.llnwd.net/00542/90/99/542759909_l.jpg

http://myspace-465.vo.llnwd.net/00542/56/40/542760465_l.jpg

Showrides
03-04-2006, 01:19 AM
hold up one seciond...I am getting pictures without wires in the way.

Showrides
03-04-2006, 01:21 AM
http://myspace-435.vo.llnwd.net/00542/53/49/542789435_l.jpg

http://myspace-792.vo.llnwd.net/00542/29/79/542789792_l.jpg

Showrides
03-04-2006, 01:57 AM
Well i unplugged 1 set of RCA cables and plugged the other into video 1. It works great with only 1 set of RCA cables. Thanks for the help with that.

Now, to hook up the sub. This is what i plan to do and correct me if i am wrong. I have another set of rca outputs. I will take one of them since i think i only need one and convert the rca cable to something that will plug into 1 of the 1 inputs in my amp. then all i got to do is wire the sub. Let me know if that sounds good. Also, will it sound better if i used both inputs on the amp instead of just 1?

ngsm13
03-04-2006, 02:10 AM
LMAO...

All you use is the right side audio output to the receiver...

Then the 6CH input is for a DVD player that has the decoding... ;)

You want to use the Subwoofer one labeled PRE-OUT to hook up to you subwoofer amp ;).

nG

Showrides
03-04-2006, 07:55 AM
LMAO...

All you use is the right side audio output to the receiver...



Right now I have the right and left from one set of outputs running to the video 2 inputs i believe on the reciever. I will then run a cable from the recievers sub output and connect it to my amp input. I hope that will work.

ballstothewall
03-04-2006, 11:05 AM
RCA to XLR Cables

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?A=search&ci=4201&kw=4201&Q=&O=NavBar

Showrides
03-04-2006, 04:49 PM
RCA to XLR Cables

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?A=search&ci=4201&kw=4201&Q=&O=NavBar

I went with the other type of input that it came with. I am running my dayton mono rca cable to the 1/4 inch plug that goes into my amp. As soon as I am done with this box I will hook it all up to see if it works.

I have to say...Both the amp and the sub looks Amazing!!! Can't wait to get it up and take pictures either later tonight or tomorrow. I will even get some videos for you guys.

Thanks for all the help and I will keep you all updated on my progress.

ballstothewall
03-04-2006, 05:08 PM
Sweet, pics are a must.


Now if I just had my crossover to get MY sub up and running :wallbash:

Showrides
03-05-2006, 08:27 PM
Sweet, pics are a must.


Now if I just had my crossover to get MY sub up and running :wallbash:

I am still having trouble attaching the sub. Is a reciever supposed to have a built in crossover for the sub? Or do i need to go and buy one seperate?

Also, in general do high frequencies hurt subs? Or does it just sound bad?