PDA

View Full Version : Does pre-out voltage make a huge difference?

Intercooler
03-03-2006, 11:54 PM
I was talking to a guyat the audio shop that does SPL competitions and has a few trophies to his credit and he said the pre-out voltage on a head unit makes a HUGE difference in overall power. He talked about it like it was steroids or something :D Is this a true statement? I am still learning so I just take it all in and be quite. What head unit holds the title for most pre-out? What Pioneer and Kenwood units has the most pre-outs?

BTW... He said Kenwood HU's are the best for SPL :eyebrow:

alphakenny1
03-03-2006, 11:58 PM
no, it doesn't SQ wise. in a nutshell higher the preout voltage the less your amp has to work (ie lower gain) and hence reduces noise.

azbass
03-04-2006, 12:00 AM
you will have higher head room.

Intercooler
03-04-2006, 12:24 AM
So you can go louder then.

They also talked a decent amount about the Eclipse line and I think on of those had the highest pre-out from what I overheard. I don't know much about Eclipse but are they good?

double_a
03-04-2006, 12:27 AM
Eclipse are GREAT hu's and their higher modles have 8v pre-outs.

alphakenny1
03-04-2006, 12:28 AM
no, you can't get louder because on a 8v preout HU, if you barely turn up the gain and immediately you might send a clipped signal. thats what happened when i was setting the gains on my sub amp, my HU clipped at 77/80, went to amp to turn up the gain, it almost clipped as i just turned the gain knob. it just enables your amp to not work as hard.

and yes eclipse basically has the highest preouts, 8v. Eclipse are awesome HUs.

Intercooler
03-04-2006, 12:45 AM
This guy had a Kenwood with 5V's. I think my Pioneer is only 2V so am I leaving something on the table by not have 5V + or is it something I won't really see or hear?

flakko
03-04-2006, 12:48 AM
goin from 4v (panasonic) to 5v (kenwood) i heard a HUGE difference.... had to turn my gains down a lot after hookin up the new HU.

Jdizzle