PDA

View Full Version : ability to turn off internal amp



zachzchw
03-01-2006, 01:09 AM
Assuming all speakers in your setup will be driven by external amplifiers, any other benefit to having this feature?

bibby
03-01-2006, 01:12 AM
I beleive it adds voltage to your preouts when doing so, correct me if i am wrong.

lubetek
03-01-2006, 02:14 AM
sq

iceteebone
03-01-2006, 11:36 AM
it reduces the heat built up in the deck, and theoretically better sq

twistedtrik
03-01-2006, 11:40 AM
The manual for my X-889 says that doing this increases your output voltage and creates less heat with better SQ as a few stated above. I notice a huge difference when I turn it off and on.

loserpunk
03-01-2006, 12:51 PM
i know some alpines and kenwoods have this feature....any others?

iceteebone
03-01-2006, 12:52 PM
i know some alpines and kenwoods have this feature....any others?


some clarion units

DaGh0st
03-01-2006, 12:54 PM
my jvc deck has it

digital mint
03-01-2006, 01:49 PM
My Alpine 9827 had that feature. Altought i was using it, it was still running hotter than my Pionner 860mp.

ngsm13
03-01-2006, 01:50 PM
Yup, as stated simply... there's less stress on the HU.

nG

Lurius
03-01-2006, 01:55 PM
I know you mentioned kenwood already, but my X789 has the feature too. I think the entire(or at least the majority) of the eXcelon lineup have this feature.

-Lurius

billybrown66
03-01-2006, 02:29 PM
i believe the premier 860 can do it as well.

DemonBoy
03-01-2006, 02:30 PM
My Alpine CDA-9855 has it too.

EDIT: And if I would have read further up I would have seen the blanket "some Alpines" statement. Nice job noob.

loserpunk
03-01-2006, 02:48 PM
i believe the premier 860 can do it as well.

as far as i know it can't.....but if it can wanna tell me how to do it?

....i didn't know any pio units had this feature....some of them (p9...possible p1r) don't have an amp...but i dont 'know any that have an amp and can shut it off....

WRC555
03-01-2006, 02:53 PM
Alpine 7998 is also without internal amp...more other goodies.

zachzchw
03-01-2006, 04:08 PM
as far as i know it can't.....but if it can wanna tell me how to do it?

....i didn't know any pio units had this feature....some of them (p9...possible p1r) don't have an amp...but i dont 'know any that have an amp and can shut it off....


Nope, you cant turn it off on the 860.
Im wondering if it will be an available feature on the new line of Pioneers.....

WRC555
03-02-2006, 04:58 AM
I think it will be.

Ignatowski
03-02-2006, 07:02 AM
I never noticed a **** of difference when I turned mine off,which I did since I run my own amps -

Pl8er
03-02-2006, 07:03 AM
Does anyone know if the Clarion VDX935VD can? I looked in my manual and saw something about line in and line out, but nothing directly saying it.

Thanks,

Justin

adam71
03-02-2006, 01:49 PM
as far as i know it can't.....but if it can wanna tell me how to do it?

....i didn't know any pio units had this feature....some of them (p9...possible p1r) don't have an amp...but i dont 'know any that have an amp and can shut it off....

Yeah, for some reason Pioneer has NOT deemed it necessary to incorporate this feature into their upper end decks.:rolleyes: I like Pioneer decks alot and I have to say "what a bunch of idiots".

zachzchw
03-02-2006, 04:52 PM
I think it will be.

Seen anything to verify this?
I hope youre right.

jujumantb
03-02-2006, 04:58 PM
Just curious, why do amps make heat even when they arent putting out power? I mean, heat is a biproduct of converting DC to AC, more or less, correct? So if it isnt pushing any speakers, it isnt converting that current, right?, why does it still get warm? I know its an easy answer, just never figured it out specifically...

billybrown66
03-02-2006, 07:32 PM
whoops, sorry for the wrong info, good thing i said, "i believe...". i also hope the new pioneer's can do this as well because i'm probably going to be purchasing a 880prs, would like to see if there is actually a difference when the internal amp is off.

mikegett
03-02-2006, 11:32 PM
Yeah, for some reason Pioneer has NOT deemed it necessary to incorporate this feature into their upper end decks.:rolleyes: I like Pioneer decks alot and I have to say "what a bunch of idiots".


I wouldn't go as far as to call the r&d team at Pioneer idiots. It all deepends on the type of preout that they incorporate. Some HU's use the same signal for high and low level outputs. These will benefit from having the internal amp turned off. However, this is one of the poorest quality of low level signals produced. A HU that seperates the low level and high level entirely will result in cleaner preout signals and won't benefit from turning off the internal amp. Without a load on the amp, there will be no heat added. The primary reason that the ultra high end units leave out the internal amp is due to the extra cost in this manor. This is a large factor in Eclipse having such a clean signal to there preouts. With the reduction in cost over the past couple of years, more companies are using the second manor in low and mid range decks.

billybrown66
03-03-2006, 12:49 AM
interesting.