PDA

View Full Version : Alpine CDA-9856: How do I know what remote control I need?



SubaruFlamingo
02-27-2006, 09:05 PM
I looked through the manual and I couldn't find the model of remote control that the unit can use, and it definetly says "Remote Control ready" on the box. Anyone know? Looking on on ebay I see a whole bunch of different alpine models, I dont know if there is a universal one or if they all work with each other, but I just want something cheap.

alphakenny1
02-27-2006, 09:11 PM
odd, the HU should come with a remote.

SubaruFlamingo
02-27-2006, 09:21 PM
I dont have it yet, but I dont think it does. On their website it says "RC ready", as opposed to the 9857 which shows the "remote control included" icon.

Ingleside
02-27-2006, 09:30 PM
no, they don't come with remotes.
i'm pretty sure the RUE-4202 will work with your headunit.

dbubble
02-28-2006, 01:00 AM
if it doesnt come with one in the box I dont think you can use one. I bought a 9845 brand new and it didnt come with a remote. I tried to use my friends alpine remote and it didnt work. The base models dont come with or use remotes. You might wanna go a few models up and get the HU that has the remote

Ingleside
02-28-2006, 01:03 AM
you can use a wireless remote starting with the 9852

SubaruFlamingo
02-28-2006, 01:34 PM
9852
http://www.alpine-usa.com/en/products/product.php?model=CDE-9852
Not remote control ready according to website

9856 - ready
http://www.alpine-usa.com/en/products/product.php?model=CDA-9856
http://www.alpine-usa.com/images/products/icons/Remote_Ready_icon_pre.gif

Well I guess I can ask the audio shop to just test a few (including the RUE-4202, thanks fellow subie owner!)

Ingleside
02-28-2006, 02:11 PM
no prob. the RUE-4202 is Alpine's standard remote that came with decks last year and still work for this year's decks. they shouldn't be more than $20 to $25.
http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/products/2005/500/l500CDA9851-r.jpeg
btw, the 9852 is wireless ready but alpine doesn't give it the logo on thier website. if you go to features under general it says it's wireless ready.

clean 06 btw

ModedLS
05-01-2006, 02:41 AM
im currently using a remote from a 9857. works fine.

linuxidiot
08-03-2006, 11:18 AM
I also have the 9856 and in the manual it mentions the RUE-4190, however for the most part I find on the internet the RUE-4202 mentioned. Does anyone know if the 4190 which I know is the multimedia remote works on the 9856 and if it will let you do searches without having to click that key to the left of the rotary encoder?