PDA

View Full Version : box building question...



regal8r
02-26-2006, 02:28 PM
do i need to use screws for my box? i seen a while ago on here that if u used glue, that u didnt have to use screws bc the glue was supposedly stonger than the wood itself

SSS 18734
02-26-2006, 02:30 PM
yes, you want to use screws to hold the box together while the glue dries.

regal8r
02-26-2006, 02:31 PM
ok, and what kind of clamps should i get...would a corner clamp be good enough to use?

squeak9798
02-26-2006, 02:33 PM
You don't have to use screws if you are going to clamp the box together while the glue dries.

SSS 18734
02-26-2006, 02:34 PM
theyre convenient, but not necessary. A friend can help you hold the wood steady while you put the screws in.

regal8r
02-26-2006, 02:36 PM
ygpm squeak

redlinese-r
02-26-2006, 03:10 PM
so, using screws is not totally necessary? wouldnt the box blow apart, esp. if it is a sealed enclosure?

HincklNutt
02-26-2006, 04:02 PM
id put a few screw's in if it where to be a sealed enclosure. i usually just glue it together, than pop a bunch of nails through it via my nail gun. and bam. its a done deal.

orion4life
02-26-2006, 04:13 PM
yea you dont have to use screws if you have a good quality glue holding the box togethor. use clamps to hold the wood togethor. i would recomend using screws and glue.